We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient; excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #56 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This is a good base of operations for touring Barcelona. The staff were very helpful in recommending restaurants, offering advice, etc. There are a number of good restaurants in the area: Spanish, Italian, tapas. We did not eat in the hotel, as it seemed a little on the high side.

Accommodations seemed sparse, room a bit small, but typical for modern European look.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingAnnFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,173 - 1,179 of 2,090 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

Definitely a good choice in Barcelona. Hotel design is pleasant while not unique. Service is very good while discrete and breakfast is good while relatively simple. The beds are comfortable and the swimming pool very pleasant. Finally, the price is right – We also stayed at the W during our visit in Barcelona – while a very different type of hotel, I would say that Barcelona Catedral rates much higher on the value-for-the-money ranking!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick of Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This reasonably priced hotel has an excellent location within steps of the Cathedral and Gothic Quarter and with easy walks to La Rambla and to the Picasso Museum. The rooms are furnished in a modern style which we liked and are of adequate size. We were there for three nights, Thursday through Saturday, in April, in a room one flight up overlooking a side street. The room was very quiet except for some minor noise on Saturday night. The front desk staff, especially Oriol, Pedro, Soraya, and Natalia, were very friendly and helpful with directions, suggestions, and flight confirmation issues. We did not take the hotel breakfast which seemed a bit pricey, preferring to try different cafes nearby. All in all, this hotel was a very pleasant surprise and we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick41677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Very good Hotel, easy to go to from the airport bij bus (A1) and then 10 min. walk. Very good beds, clean etc. Location is perfect for visiting Barcelona. Minor point for us: the price for the breakfast: 18,50 p.p. is much to high. For 2 persons you can enjoy /have a very good brackfast at the square near the hotel for € 10 - 12,= ! The water of the swimingpool is not warmed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Hans E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Just got back from a week in Barcelona and we loved this hotel! We were perfectly situated to explore Barri Gotic and the surrounding areas. The hotel is on a nice quiet side street right across from the Cathedral. It's within easy walking distance of La Rambla, Plaza de Catalunya and the subway. And we loved exploring the narrow, winding streets of the old town, with all its restaurants, museums and shops. The hotel itself is very nice, with very modern rooms and bathrooms. Wifi was a little iffy at times but the hotel has 3 computers downstairs for guest use. Staff were very friendly and helpful. My only complaint is about the pricey breakfast - my partner and I don't eat enough in the morning to justify 18 euros per person! It would have been nice to have more affordable options. But there are many cute places to have cafe con leche with churros in the surrounding area. Overall we loved Barri Gotic and loved Hotel Barcelona Catedral. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisabee39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We recently spent a long weekend in Barecelona and were fortunate to get a double room in this very nice hotel in the middle of the Gothic quarter. The rooms, service and breakfast are all of a high quality. In addition, the hotel offered: 1) a complimentary one-hour tour of the city on Sunday morning; 2) complimentary use of hotel-owned bicycles; 3) luggage storage after our arrival and before our departure. The only minor point of criticism was Sunday morning: it was a very busy weekend; and the hotel was completely full. This, in turn, made for crowded conditions at breakfast, with a harried and stressed breakfast crew, a ten-minute waiting period and a compromised selection at the buffet. Breakfast on Monday morning was much more calm and orderly, so the hotel staff had gotten a grip on the situation and delivered with usual excellent service. We would definitely stay there again on a future trip to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarnungus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This hotel is well situated and an easy walk to anywhere you want to be including the beach so I would highly recommend it due to the location. The room is nice enough with a comfortable bed and windows that open out to the courtyard. It was a little loud due to the music coming from the hotel's outdoor bar area, even with the windows closed but not loud enough to cause a problem. The staff is friendly. My only complaint would be about the internet but that is a common issue in Europe.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJBK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 515 in Barcelona
1,386 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#73 of 515 in Barcelona
2,057 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#75 of 515 in Barcelona
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#15 of 515 in Barcelona
1,137 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#20 of 515 in Barcelona
2,329 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#13 of 515 in Barcelona
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#48 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $105 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing