We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, quiet garden area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
Ranked #122 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We (family of 4 with 2 boys aged 5 and 7) stayed before (4 nights) and after (1 night) our cruise. Location was central, close to everything we wanted to see, quiet in the evenings, and had a nice garden area.

Our first room (2301) was in the garden building, quiet, colorful interior, and bright hallways. Second room (1304) was in the main building - quiet, colorful interior, larger than the first, but black hallways. Beds were hard. We had a welcome letter, chocolates, 4 bottles of water and slippers for the second stay (booked through Expedia), but not the first (booked through Central Reservations on one of the hotel websites).

Bathrooms are starting to show their age, and shower walls over the bathtub tend to drip onto the floors. In-rooms amenities had shower gel and shampoo, hand soap, tissues, comb, shoe shine and shoe horn. Rooms were cleaned regularly, but not spotless. We couldn't get the whirlpool tub working in the second room.

Staff were helpful, as we arrived early both stays. They store luggage if rooms aren't ready, or if you depart after check-out time.

Bunk beds for the boys - worked well, as we set up the ladder as a guard rail. This was explained to us on our second stay.

Free WiFi, ask for a code. The laptop provided in the room is handy, but connection was slower than what we are used to.

Safe is large enough for laptops, and closes with a visa/debit card without extra charges.

Breakfast - available at the hotel. We were offered half price if we purchased for all 4 mornings. Would have been expensive at regular price (adults 16€, children 10€). Did our own the last morning. Cafes offer cheaper, simpler fare, or buy groceries at small supermercats or Carrefour market on La Rambla 5 minutes away.

Overall, a pleasant stay, and would book again, but more 3 stars than 4.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnitaQE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

774 - 780 of 1,789 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed here one night -centrally located, very clean, nice decor and reasonably priced.
We were able to walk to La Boqueria, Las Ramblas and the historic district. Would come again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattyb927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank LucilleML
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed for a night here after cruising for 12 nights....staff where very helpful and accomodating as we were very early. Our room wasn't ready of course, but we put our bags in their storage area and off we went. We got our Hop On/Off tickets from them which was much quicker than doing it up at the bus.

Our room was ready by the time we got back....What a nice surprise. The room was bigger than I expected and the bathroom/shower was huge. Very contempory. Our room faced the courtyard area and was very quiet.

The hotel was very clean and neat...the furnishings were contempory and suited the decor. From the front you don't expect much when you walk in but it is deceivingly big....there's a courtyard behind the reception area with tables and chairs and also goes upto a higher area above the courtyard...shrubs and plants make it a very comfortable area to sit and relax.

I would definately stay here again...the location is perfect...central to everything really....not far from the Mariner, La Rambla just a couple of steps (a bit more than a couple, but very close) away....lots of cafes and bars close by as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kezzaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We liked the Petit Palace Boqueria. We rented two rooms, a single for grand-father and a family room for the mom, dad and two teens. When they entered the room they were totally impressed. GF's room was spacious as well and right next door. The staff at the desk is friendly and accommodating.

We arrived on a Friday morning and the hotel placed our luggage in a secure room so we could begin our tour of the city. What ended up important to us was that this hotel is "steps" from the La Boqueria market which is a place not to miss if you are a foodie or just admire how the Europeans deliver the best of produce, meats, cheese and seafood to the public. Since we were there at lunch time we purchased up a couple of French bread loafs that were freshly baked and three cheeses. We took those back to the hotel and sat in the courtyard and devoured it all! It was wonderful, a great treat for the teen girls and the rest of us. Oh yes, we did a bottle of wine as well.

This hotel is steps from the La Ramblas -- specifically maybe 100 yards. And one of the restaurants serving meals alfresco on the boulevard was actually pretty good and reasonable in price. We had dinner for the five of us on one of our two nights stay. We enjoyed our stay at the Petit Palace Boqueria. It was not inexpensive, but the service and positive experience was there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dnl_in_illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

a great location for a hotel, just off la ramblas within easy reach of many iconic sites in the city and accessible on foot. very busy and quite pricey for the accommodation because of the fabulous location. adequate, albeit small rooms with no frills accommodation. comfortable and clean so recommended if a central locations is required. we enjoyed our weekend, especially as the weather was fantastic!

Room Tip: larger rooms available were best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collegepond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We just stayed here 4 days ago for three nights and to say it was a very comfortable, nicely done and safe place to stay. location is just 50ft walking from ramblas. So you could be in the heart of tourist attraction in just one minute from the hotel. port de vell was a five minute walk and the beach was about 10 minutes walk so everything was just central and a walking distance. if you are visiting barcelona and looking for a central and a nice place come here without hesitation.

The only thing which is missing in the petit hotel chains which according to me was very important was the tea/coffee maker which they should conside and try to implement it as soon as they can. otherwise this place was every penny worth.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mahajanNeeraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Petit Palace Barcelona
Petit Palace Barcelona
#258 of 517 in Barcelona
763 reviews
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#91 of 517 in Barcelona
1,088 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#102 of 517 in Barcelona
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#222 of 517 in Barcelona
1,694 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#162 of 517 in Barcelona
1,013 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Avinyo
Catalonia Avinyo
#128 of 517 in Barcelona
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Boqueria Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Boqueria Garden

Address: C/ La Boqueria 10, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Petit Palace Opera Garden Ramblas)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $138 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Boqueria Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petit Palace Boquería Garden Hotel is a hotel in Boquería quarter of Barcelona with a unique accommodation offer for families and executives and with exclusive services such as iPads, Wi-Fi, cots, bicycles and accommodation for pets, everything for free. The new Petit Palace Boquería Garden Hotel, which is the result of the union of the Petit Palace Opera Garden Hotel and the Petit Palace Boquería Hotel, is a hotel with garden in Ramblas of Barcelona, a hundred-year nook protected for its special value, and with an outdoor terrace perfect for living special moments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Petit Palace Boqueria Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Opera Garden Ramblas Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing