We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,109)
Filter reviews
2,109 results
Traveller rating
842
780
277
128
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
842
780
277
128
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bunk beds las ramblas family room great location top bunk gothic quarter liceu metro station boqueria market side street la boqueria placa reial free internet central location short break buffet breakfast booked this hotel wonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
632 - 637 of 2,109 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2015

We could not believe the value for money at this place!! The only reason i would not stay again is if the room was located as below, but as long as that was sorted out, will be back in a heartbeat! Also and they are not orphans in this regard, I would have breakfast out on the streets as its better value and quality, but otherwise this is a sensational accomodation for all other reasons without a doubt!!! The laptop in the room was novel; handy and a great touch; clean good space to relax in (expect in early morning hours); spacious enough for us. Trendy modern and funky feel throughout the place. The location is simply spot-on for the area and especially to get out of the old city on the metro via the Liceu stop just a few hundred yards away; eating and coffee all close by, some beautiful old city sights with a 500m circle and within a 1k circle there's even more stuff to see by walking. Brilliant!

Room tip: Avoid lower-level rooms overlooking Carrer Quintana if at all possible.
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Stefano Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc M, General Manager at Petit Palace Boqueria Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2015

Dear Stefano Z,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality, facilities and location reached your expectations. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Francesc M
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2015

This hotel is not cheap. It is however, inferior in both quality and quantity. Too many things in the room were broken, from the bath tub to the basin. No air conditioning as it is "not in service due to season change". As a result, the room remained hot at 25C all night long even with the window open. Worse yet, there was no air circulation as it was also shut down together with the air conditioning. The room was thus stuffy and unbearable. Eventually, we managed to bought electric fans from the staff. Their willingness to provide us with fans was about the only "good thing" I could say about this hotel.

Moreover, although situated at the center of the city, the hotel is located in an alley. No taxi, tour bus, or air port shuttle bus, small or large, can enter into the alley. Patrons had to walk to the hotel with their luggage. As mentioned, no tour bus could come to the hotel to pick up us. We had to walked 20 minutes to another hotel to catch any tour bus.

I will not recommend this hotel to anyone and will never stay there again. It was booked for us by Flight Center.



By the way, this is supposed to be an expensive four star hotel. Yet we felt like we wer staying in a cheap hostel.

Room tip: Just avoid this hotel. There are so many better but much cheaper hotels in the city
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrLiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc M, General Manager at Petit Palace Boqueria Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2015

Dear Dr Liu,

I would like to express my regret and offer my apologies for the fact that our Hotel did not meet your expectations due to the air conditioning; since November is a complicated month when it’s time to change from ac to heating. It has been an odd November, and a few days have been warmer than we expected. We failed at explaining you how to work the fan, which is never switched off. Regarding the bathtub, we will immediately review what's wrong with the control.
About the location, we understand that you rather stay in newer part of town with access to buses and shuttles; our hotel is in the Gothic Quarter s.XIV, and does not offer width enough for such services. However, taxis can manage to pick you up at the door.
Your comments are valuable and will help us with our continuing effort to improve the quality of the services to our guests.

Yours sincerely

Francesc M
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2015

The good: You cannot beat the location of this hotel, right off La Rambla in the Gothic Quarter. It is close to La Boqueria (the market), a great place to visit and eat. Close to the hotel are hundreds of restaurants, bars and shops. It is within walking distance of many of the big attractions, and it is right off a main tram line.

The bed in our room was wonderfully comfortable. The staff is friendly, efficient and helpful, and the room was well designed.

The room has free wi-fi and a wired connection for those who like the security of carrying around their own router.

The not-so-good:
The climate control in the room is seasonally set to A/C or heat, but not both. We stayed in early November, so it was set to heat. However, with the outside temperature being in the high 60s Fahrenheit and the sun shining, the room was quite warm, and the windows needed to be open all day and night. Which is OK, except the lounge in the courtyard was quite loud until closing, and it was tough to sleep if one wasn't keeping party hours. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to business travelers (at least, for this time of the year) for this reason.

The room has a "high-tech" shower, it was like a 1960s vision of what the shower of the future should look like. It was a small stall with both overhead water and side jets that could be used by someone who needed to sit on a small built-in seat in the stall. It had a radio, too! I liked it, my wife hated it.

Like most European hotels, one had to keep a room key in a slot to have power in the room, Removing the key in this room cut power to the desk, which killed the wireless router we had and the chargers. So, we always kept a key in the slot, regardless of whether we were in our out. Unfortunately, the room maid would take the key card away with her after she cleaned the room... so we constantly had to have new keys made.

The breakfast was OK, it seemed it was a bit overwhelmed by the number of guests. The usual spread had scrambled and boiled eggs, breakfast meats, mushrooms or potatoes, cold cuts, smoked salmon, cream cheese, uninspiring breads, pastries and some fruit. The hot drink machine was complicated. There were 4 juices, including my favorite, pineapple!

Room tip: If you need to keep the windows open, see if you can get a room that doesn't face the courtyard.
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hermansylvester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2015 via mobile

Ok.. so the location is ideal for a visit. The staff were nice and it was clean...but that's where it ends..

Average temp in Barcelona in November is 23°C so why would you have a heating/cooling system that does one or the other. So they'd turned off the aircon and only made the heating available... so 6 uncomfortable barely slept nights. . Yea.. I opened the window.. oooh but the rooms overlook the bar that plays loud music till 00:00.. and of course the smoke bellows up into the room like a chimney....

TV opposite the bed has the brightest clock.. evidence shows previous guests tried to black it out... it took a pair of jeans tightly hung over it to do a partial job.. oh and no tea or coffee facilities in the room... mini bar and fridge but it's in the cupboard generating the heat of a small radiator.. surprised it hasn't caused a fire yet..

So if you want a stay where you can't sleep before midnight.. or boil in bed and be smoked like a kipper crack on. . Otherwise the choices are.. ear plugs... face masks (borrow off the japanese) and the eye patch (off the plane) paracetamol for the smoke endured headaches....

OR stay somewhere else..

Can't wait to get home for some sleep

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank DanielR1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc M, General Manager at Petit Palace Boqueria Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2015

Dear Mr Daniel R,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re glad that you enjoyed the area and found the staff nice. I would like to express my regret and offer my apologies for the fact that our Hotel did not meet your expectations. We are terribly sorry we didn’t find out earlier you were getting such terrible sleep. November is a complicated month when it’s time to change from ac to heating. We have rooms at the other side of the garden far from the bar that, if you change your mind and decide to give us another opportunity, may suit you better, since no smoke or noise would disturb you if you open the window, plus a few apartments that have individual ac units. We have to apologize also for failing at letting you know that we do have kettles available under request.
Your comments are valuable and will help us with our continuing effort to improve the quality of the services to our guests.
Yours sincerely

Francesc M
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2015 via mobile

I travelled to this. Hotel. With my son for a 3 day city break. The location is brilliant, everything there on your doorstep. Comfortable beds, clean bathroom. Breakfast was disappointing. Not much choice, cold and food ran out.

However apart from that very good.

Date of stay: November 2015
Thank jerry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iria B, Front Office Manager at Petit Palace Boqueria Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2015

Dear Jerry,

We are happy to know that your stay with us was great and you enjoyed the hotel.
All Petit Palace hotels have an excellent location in the heart of the city center.
Thank you again for your comments, we changed all mattress recently so it is very good to know that you appreciate that beds are comfortables. We have high standards of cleanliness in the hotel.
Sorry for any inconvenience regarding the breakfast, we are updating changes to the buffet and I regret that there was not much variety and not in the right standard, it has perhaps been a blip due to high volume of work. We always invite customers to ask the staff for everything they need or if there is something is not of your convenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Iria Barreiro García,

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews