We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,109)
Filter reviews
2,109 results
Traveller rating
842
780
277
128
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
842
780
277
128
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bunk beds las ramblas family room great location top bunk gothic quarter liceu metro station boqueria market side street la boqueria placa reial free internet central location short break buffet breakfast booked this hotel wonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 2,109 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2017

The good ... This hotel is in a convenient location with beautiful terraced gardens. Rooms are large, some can accommodate 6 people with innovative placement of beds and bunk beds. In contrast to the 19th century exterior facade, the fixtures in the bathrooms are ultra modern. Every room has a different decor, but the large California king bed stays consistently comfortable. Price is fair, but can change daily, according to demand. It is owned by a company in the U.K, but cheaper to book through agencies such as Booking.com, Hotels.com, etc.

The not so good ... no one responds to questions asked when booking online. For travelers unfamiliar with Barcelona, it may be difficult to find. Like many hotels and small businesses, the entrance is from an alley-like thoroughfare which cars are not allowed to enter. You and your luggage will be dropped off on the curbside, if you can't handle your luggage, you will need to go into the hotel to get the bellboy to come out with a cart. If the bellboy is not around, you will have to take the cart and move the .
luggage yourself. The reception desk staff is not very fluent in English, nor was anyone very friendly. They were quite slow in processing guests check-ins and check-outs. One time, one piece of our luggage was separated from the rest, it took them such a long time to locate it that the taxi driver charged us an extra 10€ for waiting.

Also, be aware there is a tree with a low branch in the terrace. I did not see the sign taped above it and walked right into it and hit my head hard. (see photo)

Overall, the place is fine for staying, it would have been nice if the service matched it.

Room tip: Larger units on first floor. Large units are on the first floor.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc M, General Manager at Petit Palace Boqueria Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2017

Dear teakitty,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review Petit Palace Boqueria Garden on TripAdvisor.

Receiving feedback is so terribly important to us and I am happy that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, our terraced Romantic garden from the 19th century, family rooms, beds and bathrooms. We would like to clarify that Petit Palace does not belong to a UK group, but 100% Spanish. Also, you can always get a better deal booking directly on our web page and questions will be asked immediately if you contact us directly instead of through on-line agencies. Regarding our staff, we normally get very positive feedback from our customers, but obviously, something didn’t work out as usual in your case. We can only hope you give us another opportunity so we can provide you with memorial customer service not only in English, but in a large amount of languages. On the other hand, the branch from the 200-year-old magnolia tree you mention has a sign to prevent accidents, since it cannot be pruned due to Citi Hall legislation because it’s protected. Shall you decide to return, please contact me directly and I will take care of your reservation personally.

Warm Regards,

Francesc Muncunill
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2017

20 meters from Rambla, very close to Liceu metro station, the hotel is excellently situated. The reception people were very nice and helpful. Breakfast is very good. Our room, a quadruple, was a bit outdated, not in the way that is was not modern, but some of the furniture was over used. I did not like the pillows.

The price was fair and our stay was enjoyable, probably we're going to come back.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oaie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iria B, Director de Recepción at Petit Palace Boqueria Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017

Dear Oaie2000,

We thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here in Petit Palace Boqueria Garden.
It´s such a pleasure to learn that the location, staff and breakfast contributed to making your stay that little bit more special.

I am disappointed to hear that the room didn’t fulfil your expectations.
As for the rooms, our petit palace have different types of rooms, please contact us directly to offer you a room according to your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Iria Barreiro Garcia
Front Office Manager
boqueriagarden@petitpalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend with friends . The hotel is in a brilliant location just 50 yards from La Ramblas . The hotel is modern inside and beautifully clean . The staff are friendly and helpful . As you step out of the hotel there are bars cafes shops straight in front of you . We stayed room only as there are so many places to eat on your doorstep . Would return here without a doubt .

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank helenpJ8084IO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iria B, Director de Recepción at Petit Palace Boqueria Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017

Dear helenpJ8084IO,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay with us at Petit Palace.

We are all delighted that you had a positive experience and thank you for your kind comments .

We look forward to welcoming you back at Petit Palace again in the near future.

Yours sincerelly,

Iria Barreiro Garcia
Front Office Manager
boqueriagarden@petitpalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2017 via mobile

Just returned from 2 nights staying at the petit palace and it was perfect! We were on a hen do with 6 girls in total staying in an apartment! The room was big enough,large enough bathroom just perfect!

There's a shop right outside which was perfect for drinks and snacks! The Irish bar was disappointing seemed nice but girls by the door made us feel unwelcome so just left!

The location is perfect! The staff very friendly couldn't do more for you! Would definitely return and recommend to all my friends and family! Thank you so much for making our stay so enjoyable!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Andonietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc M, General Manager at Petit Palace Boqueria Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2017

Dear Andonietta,

We would like to thank you for your kind review based on your recent stay with your friends. We are very happy to see that your room, location and service met your expectations. We very much appreciate that you recommend us! We hope to see you again in Boqueria Garden in a not too distant future. Thank you for staying with us.

Warm Regards

Francesc Muncunill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2017

We had a really good stay here. Family of 4 with 2 teenage boys in a superior quad room. The boys had bunk beds. All beds had super comfy mattresses, nice pillows and duvets. Free safe in room and a fridge were useful.
Continental breakfast was fantastic. Loads of meats, cheese, fruit, bread, cereals, pastries etc. A few hot options of eggs, mushrooms and Spanish sausages. Decent Nespresso coffee, fruit juices and smoothies. We did not leave hungry.
I did pop to the bar one evening but it was empty - I guess with some many other places around the Rambla, why would you stay in?
The area is very busy though and our room overlooked a busy and noisy side street. If you don't mind street noise it's OK, otherwise you might want ear plugs.
Limited UK TV but fast WiFi. You're off the Rambla in Barcelona though so I imagine not much time spent in the room for this to matter.
Our air con didn't work but I suspect it was just turned off for the winter.
Overall the central location (right next to the Metro), quality of room and food, and English speaking staff made this a great place to stay.

Room tip: Avoid rooms overlooking really busy bars and restaurants. The Rambla is busy until the (late!) early hours!
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FelthamBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc M, General Manager at Petit Palace Boqueria Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2017

Dear FelthamBoy,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with your family! It is great to see that you liked our beds, room, breeakfast, location and services. If you decide to visit us again, we do have quieter rooms facing the garden that might suit better your needs. Please let me know if you do, I will take care personaly of your reservation. We hope to see you again in Boqueria Garden in the near future.
Thank you for staying with us.

Warm Regards

Francesc Muncunill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews