We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Location was just right for transportation, sights, and restaurants” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal L' Antic Espai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal L' Antic Espai
Ranked #42 of 324 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Colorado
Level Contributor
287 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Location was just right for transportation, sights, and restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Previous reviews were right on target for the location, cleanliness, and staff helpfulness. This hostal (originally was likely a very large flat/apartment that has been divided into several rooms with private shower, sink and toilet). The rooms designed for singles are small and the doubles range in size but are very nice. The patio off of three back rooms is nice but you can hear the school kids right next door. If you are in the back rooms you will feel the rumble of the subway that isn't that far away with a stop about the same distance as the airport bus stop. The one way taxi rate was approximately 12.5 euros.

There are plenty of restaurants, walking boulevards, and parks within easy walking distance. The very nice airport bus (5.30 euros per person) is an easy 10 minute walk. The hostal is on the second story of the building and you have a series of stairs to navigate entering and leaving the hotel. There isn't an elevator to assist potential guests that have difficulties with stairs.

If you have a day to spend outside the city, I highly recommend taking the R11 from the Barcelona Garcia train station (which is across the street from two Gaudi houses) to Figueres (1.5 hours each way and approximately 28.5 euros each way) to visit the exceptional Dali Museum and adjoining jewelry gallery. Check out the Dali beating heart on the internet just to get a taste of this amazingly gifted and talented artist.

There are other lodging facilities in the immediate area but I will stay here again when in town. Even though there were only a few other guests on this very cold Jan/Feb weekend, they were very interesting and sharing breakfast with them was a treat.

Room Tip: The back three rooms have access to the shared patio which proved nice. I was supposed to be in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    209
    49
    22
    16
See reviews for
84
420
159
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Mahaned went out of his way for us ,picking us up from the airport, arranging taxi for cruise port. stayed 2 nights before cruise . near a good tapas bas down the street"Navanas". Did not see either Abel or Sergio.
Room was adaquate, clean but small,yet fine for a short stay.

Room Tip: room with own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luvtocruise1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hampton, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We loved the feeling of staying in someone's apartment rather than a hotel in this perfectly situated (central for both Gaudi touring and old city sites) urban B&B. Sergio and Abel have created a quirky, comfortable, charming place so that waking up for breakfast on the terrace or in the sitting room and returning after a day of touring, you are happy to be here;it's not just a place to sleep. All at very reasonable prices. They are helpful with ideas of places to eat, train schedules--anything you need. There are a choice of breakfasts; the continental we had as part of our package was just right. Beds firm, every room charming and unique---we could not have been happier and recommend it highly! One caveat-for anyone who has trouble climbing stairs the entry and exit could be an issue. Luggage is handled by the staff so no problems on that front--but you do need to climb stairs when you come and go. But once you are inside...the amazing collections of porcelain, furniture, etc ...you know the attention to detail will be extended to guests.

Room Tip: 104, 105 and 106 all face out to the terrace which is lovely and a plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mlp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Almost hidden behind a "usual" front door, you don't only enter a hostal. No, you step into a world of farytales. No stuff is accidently. Every vase, every bowl of ceramic and glass, every piece of furniture and every painting have to be at THIS place. Everything is harmonizing with each other, in lovely perfection. Warm coloured rooms support the feelgood factor. Also the cleanness makes you are impressed of! As the care of owners and the whole staff. No request stays unfulfilled! After an extensive breakfast you got much power for the new day and for the next discovery tour. Your tour could always start from THAT central point of Barcelona: Place de Catalunya! It's only a five-minute-walk away from hostal (like the famous Ramblas too!). Here you also got a Metro station and the bus stop of airport busses! To stay at L' Antic Espai doesn't feel like stay at any hostal. Here you are to visit lovely friends. And friends you visit always again! We are coming back!! :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed here after our cruise and were delighted with the caring attitude of all staff. We were assisted with all our airline changes by staff who interpreted for us as our Spanish was barely passable. Directions to good tapas eateries were generously provided; our heavy luggage was carried up flights of stairs for us; the internet was free; the staff actually smiled at us and assisted in every possible way despite our linguistic incompatability.
The hostal is perfectly situated for all the major sightseeing venues and particularly close to the Gaudi apartments and church; Las Ramblas,the old town and much of the incredibly beautiful architecture that constitutes inner Barcelona. But the reason I urge you to stay here is the friendliness of all the staff who show that they appreciate your custom and who understand the travellers' need for warmth and friendliness when you are far from home.
The gorgeous quirky baroque decor is fun, the charming breakfast on the terrace with the plants and birds is 'other worldly' and places you a fin de siecle stage setting- Gigi would have been quite at home here.
The only improvement I can suggest is that a boiled egg be offered with the breakfasts, and that the criossants and baked goods be straight from the oven -warm and crisp!
We loved our stay and consider it an integral part of our delightful Barcelona experience. Cheers to our hosts! May they continue to care for us forever!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janicedis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

My mom, sister, cousin and I stayed at the hotel in September of 2011. I have done my share of travelling and staying in different hotels, this by far has been my best experience. The owners and staff makes you feel like you are the only ones they are catering to even though there are other guests. They were friendly and very devoted to our needs. The owners (Serge and Abel) were a great delight, they made you feel like you were part of a family. They wanted your stay to be perfect and would do anything to make it possible. They truly put heart and soul into their hotel.

We ABSOLUTELY loved the place. It was full of antiques and gorgeous pieces. We loved breakfast most of all, it was served right off the terrace of our room and the presentation was just beautiful. The terrace is beautifully layed out with plants and flowers surrounding it, at night, it is beautifully lit. Having breakfast was an experience by itself, all the pieces that breakfast was served on were antiques and each piece unique. We didn't even have to get dressed up to go to breakfast if we didn't want to, we would wear our robes that was provided by the hotel. Most times we were the only ones dining on the terrace (we ate early) but when there were other guests the comraderie was great because you got to meet people from different places and you could end up chatting for a long time. .

Sight seeing was a breeze, the staff would make recommendations and we would go, we mostly did tours which suited us fine because my mom had a bit of trouble with walking. Everything they suggested was great. Our first night, they suggested we eat at a reasturant called the "Four Cats" it was just devine, if you go to Barcelona you have to go there at least once. If you are into wine, do the wine tour - unbelieveable. If you don't know what to do during your staff, just ask Serg, Abel or Muhannad - they are full of great ideas.

The hotel is just a 5-10 minutes walk to Las Ramblas, which is the center of the town and very convenient and safe.

When you leave, ask Muhannad to arrange, most times he will take you and it's much cheaper than the regular cabs.

Room Tip: Choose a room off the terrace - well worth it. Also, choose the massage package, it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TriniCrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

This place was like taking a step back into the past (think red velvet), in a good way. Our room was small (normal size for Barcelona though) but very well-appointed, with an excellent blend of tasteful antiques and modern amenities. Apparently the owners regularly comb Barcelona's antique markets and bring home quality pieces. The staff were helpful while being unobtrusive - exactly what we were looking for.

If you're looking for a full-service modernist hotel with a 24 front desk and talking bedside tables, this may not be the place for you. I'm sure they would've offered more touristy help if we'd asked (apparently they accommodate cruise-goers all the time), but with the help of a guidebook we borrowed (and later returned) from a shelf in the hallway we didn't need it.

If you're looking for a unique hotel in a great location (walking distance to everything - we didn't take the metro or a cab once although, admittedly, we like to walk) for a comparatively very good price, this is your spot. We are independent travelers that were looking for essentially one step above our own apartment - this was a perfect place for us. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talesofaturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#72 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#68 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
Apartaments Marina
#307 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Barcino 147
Barcino 147
#3 of 324 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Eixample
Zoo Rooms
Zoo Rooms
#72 of 324 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic
#17 of 324 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal L' Antic Espai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal L' Antic Espai

Property: Hostal L' Antic Espai
Address: C/ Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 660, principal, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 324 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal L' Antic Espai 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L´Antic Espai arises after a dream of creating in Barcelona a special space with an old world charm. we create an place in which always, we wished to enjoy a pleasant stay and where you feel like in your own house. Our services and personalized treatment will make you to remember and miss us for ever in all trips you plan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, HRS and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hostal L' Antic Espai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal l` Antic Espai Hotel Barcelona
Hostal l Antic Espai Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing