We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal L' Antic Espai
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Ambit Barcelona(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Almanac Barcelona(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (893)
Filter reviews
893 results
Traveller rating
593
211
50
22
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
593
211
50
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsantique furnitureno liftsitting roomsingle roomtourist siteswonderful citysergiogranspainbuzzersangriaaerobus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 893 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Initially I wanted to mark this hotel down to the lowest possible score because I felt misled by the high ranking, claims of 5 star services, and facilities. Subsequent to my visit and given some time to mull it over, my opinion of the hostel (do not consider this a hotel) has changed or at least become more balanced.
We booked here at the last minute for the GSMA MWC event in Barcelona. Despite the high prices of surrounding hotels and it's central location, the hostel L Antic Espai offered us a very reasonable rate and two rooms.

I arrived and chose the single room, room 110. The initial welcome was warm and friendly, and the two staff members we met during our stay, remained as warm and welcoming throughout the period. The room was an unpleasant surprise, tiny with a heavy musty smell that turned out to come from a tiny hidden location behind the only door/window. This little hidden square was where the building's water tanks were located, an internal location that offered anything but fresh air. No other windows exist to the outside, so the room filled with this stuffy smell.

Finger printing allowed us free access through the doors 24 hours a day and the location was very central, minutes away from the main plaza de Catalunya and both the Red and Green lines on the Underground.

My room's condition and the sense of feeling cheated continued until the very last morning when I finally ate breakfast at the hostel. The little outdoor veranda where breakfast is served blunted that disappointment a little and together with the helpfulness of the two staff members, raised my view of this place somewhat.

What it is not is a business hotel, with the wireless down 75% of the time we stayed there (5 nights) and no lobby as in a traditional hotel lobby for a meeting area.

If you're traveling on a tight budget, this must be your number one place to consider. Sadly we will not be back there next time we visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgolpe, Owner at Hostal L' Antic Espai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

We would like to thank you for staying in our hotel, and for your nice words about our staff.
You are right that our hotel is not a business hotel as we have 10 rooms only, and as you said that there is no lobby, but we have a nice living room what is use as a sitting area, and also the terrace. Of course if are having a cheap room you have not a terrace available. For it you should confirm other tariff. Next time we recommend you a room which opens to the terrace.
About which kind of place we have. It’s true it’s an very small place but for the service we offer it’s not a hostel it’s a Boutique Hotel. Hostel has not the services we offer and you can check it in our Web Site.
The prices during GSM are very high in the entire city, its something you should know if you are use to come for it.
During your stay we had a problem with the Wifi, as in the time of GSM everybody is using it, but we have a computers in the reception that it is always connected, as it is connected with the cable to the internet. Don’t forget, we are not Internet Suppliers. Our Internet is with not charge available.
And for the bad smell of the room where you stayed can be possible. It’s a occasional situation.
Thanks a lot,
Abel Estévez González.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Very good value for money - this is a two star hotel, so don't expect luxuries such as a bath tub, duvets or lots of space. The rooms are small, but very clean. The hotel is secure and safe (on a well-lit major street, with 'fingerprint scan' entry and a hotel safe). The continental breakfast is adequate, but you can do better in a coffee shop down the street. (We enjoyed the hotel breakfast for the first two days, mostly for the opportunity to speak to other travellers.) The location is superb, and the staff are attentive and knowledgeable, but not overbearing. They gave us recommendations for dinner and activities, only when we asked, and they were right on target. Free internet, as well as access to the hotel computer and laptop. The decor would appeal to many (lots of antiques and original features), but is not in my view its strongest selling point. No TVs, but a good selection of DVDs to play on individual player in room, and books. Try to get a room backing onto the terrace, where there is a feeling of more space, and where, in good weather, you can enjoy a cup of coffee or a glass of sangria.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room opening on the terrace.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller4fun_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Although the people who run this hotel are very nice, standards are low and it is grossly overpriced, I have travelled all over the world and would say that this hotel should only charge half the price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgolpe, Owner at Hostal L' Antic Espai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Hello,
First we would like to thank you for staying in our hotel, and also for your nice words about our staff.
About the prices, ours are less than the half of other hotels in Barcelona, maybe you have travelled all over the world, but have you tried to stay in another hotel in Barcelona??!! , adding that our hotel is not a normal hotel, with all the collection of antiques that we have.
And one question, when you made the reservation you saw our photos in our website, and accepted the price in the offer?? so why did you do that if you didn’t like the price ??
Abel Estévez González.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Beautiful Hostal in a very central location, excellent service, beautiful rooms, Nespresso coffee, large DVD-selection

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katharina_feuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews