We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal L' Antic Espai
Ranked #52 of 326 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
hameln
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed at this nice littel hotel for three nights as a family with two little children. It was one of the most relaxing stays with children at a hotel ever! The atmosphere was very friendly, relaxed and understanding, especially with the children, who of course were not always as calm as we would have liked and really loved the porcellaine figurines... ;-) The decoration was stunning, and very individual. The location is perfect, very central. We stayed in a room that had a little terrace, breakfast can be served there if wished. Like any other wish: fulfilled! "Jeanny in a bottle" apparantly stays and works at this super cute place!!!!!!!
Thank you for a great time and we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ariane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    210
    50
    22
    17
See reviews for
85
420
161
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Initially I wanted to mark this hotel down to the lowest possible score because I felt misled by the high ranking, claims of 5 star services, and facilities. Subsequent to my visit and given some time to mull it over, my opinion of the hostel (do not consider this a hotel) has changed or at least become more balanced.
We booked here at the last minute for the GSMA MWC event in Barcelona. Despite the high prices of surrounding hotels and it's central location, the hostel L Antic Espai offered us a very reasonable rate and two rooms.

I arrived and chose the single room, room 110. The initial welcome was warm and friendly, and the two staff members we met during our stay, remained as warm and welcoming throughout the period. The room was an unpleasant surprise, tiny with a heavy musty smell that turned out to come from a tiny hidden location behind the only door/window. This little hidden square was where the building's water tanks were located, an internal location that offered anything but fresh air. No other windows exist to the outside, so the room filled with this stuffy smell.

Finger printing allowed us free access through the doors 24 hours a day and the location was very central, minutes away from the main plaza de Catalunya and both the Red and Green lines on the Underground.

My room's condition and the sense of feeling cheated continued until the very last morning when I finally ate breakfast at the hostel. The little outdoor veranda where breakfast is served blunted that disappointment a little and together with the helpfulness of the two staff members, raised my view of this place somewhat.

What it is not is a business hotel, with the wireless down 75% of the time we stayed there (5 nights) and no lobby as in a traditional hotel lobby for a meeting area.

If you're traveling on a tight budget, this must be your number one place to consider. Sadly we will not be back there next time we visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgolpe, Owner at Hostal L' Antic Espai, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
We would like to thank you for staying in our hotel, and for your nice words about our staff.
You are right that our hotel is not a business hotel as we have 10 rooms only, and as you said that there is no lobby, but we have a nice living room what is use as a sitting area, and also the terrace. Of course if are having a cheap room you have not a terrace available. For it you should confirm other tariff. Next time we recommend you a room which opens to the terrace.
About which kind of place we have. It’s true it’s an very small place but for the service we offer it’s not a hostel it’s a Boutique Hotel. Hostel has not the services we offer and you can check it in our Web Site.
The prices during GSM are very high in the entire city, its something you should know if you are use to come for it.
During your stay we had a problem with the Wifi, as in the time of GSM everybody is using it, but we have a computers in the reception that it is always connected, as it is connected with the cable to the internet. Don’t forget, we are not Internet Suppliers. Our Internet is with not charge available.
And for the bad smell of the room where you stayed can be possible. It’s a occasional situation.
Thanks a lot,
Abel Estévez González.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Very good value for money - this is a two star hotel, so don't expect luxuries such as a bath tub, duvets or lots of space. The rooms are small, but very clean. The hotel is secure and safe (on a well-lit major street, with 'fingerprint scan' entry and a hotel safe). The continental breakfast is adequate, but you can do better in a coffee shop down the street. (We enjoyed the hotel breakfast for the first two days, mostly for the opportunity to speak to other travellers.) The location is superb, and the staff are attentive and knowledgeable, but not overbearing. They gave us recommendations for dinner and activities, only when we asked, and they were right on target. Free internet, as well as access to the hotel computer and laptop. The decor would appeal to many (lots of antiques and original features), but is not in my view its strongest selling point. No TVs, but a good selection of DVDs to play on individual player in room, and books. Try to get a room backing onto the terrace, where there is a feeling of more space, and where, in good weather, you can enjoy a cup of coffee or a glass of sangria.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room opening on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller4fun_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Although the people who run this hotel are very nice, standards are low and it is grossly overpriced, I have travelled all over the world and would say that this hotel should only charge half the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgolpe, Owner at Hostal L' Antic Espai, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Hello,
First we would like to thank you for staying in our hotel, and also for your nice words about our staff.
About the prices, ours are less than the half of other hotels in Barcelona, maybe you have travelled all over the world, but have you tried to stay in another hotel in Barcelona??!! , adding that our hotel is not a normal hotel, with all the collection of antiques that we have.
And one question, when you made the reservation you saw our photos in our website, and accepted the price in the offer?? so why did you do that if you didn’t like the price ??
Abel Estévez González.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meilen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Beautiful Hostal in a very central location, excellent service, beautiful rooms, Nespresso coffee, large DVD-selection

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katharina_feuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Colorado
Level Contributor
300 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Previous reviews were right on target for the location, cleanliness, and staff helpfulness. This hostal (originally was likely a very large flat/apartment that has been divided into several rooms with private shower, sink and toilet). The rooms designed for singles are small and the doubles range in size but are very nice. The patio off of three back rooms is nice but you can hear the school kids right next door. If you are in the back rooms you will feel the rumble of the subway that isn't that far away with a stop about the same distance as the airport bus stop. The one way taxi rate was approximately 12.5 euros.

There are plenty of restaurants, walking boulevards, and parks within easy walking distance. The very nice airport bus (5.30 euros per person) is an easy 10 minute walk. The hostal is on the second story of the building and you have a series of stairs to navigate entering and leaving the hotel. There isn't an elevator to assist potential guests that have difficulties with stairs.

If you have a day to spend outside the city, I highly recommend taking the R11 from the Barcelona Garcia train station (which is across the street from two Gaudi houses) to Figueres (1.5 hours each way and approximately 28.5 euros each way) to visit the exceptional Dali Museum and adjoining jewelry gallery. Check out the Dali beating heart on the internet just to get a taste of this amazingly gifted and talented artist.

There are other lodging facilities in the immediate area but I will stay here again when in town. Even though there were only a few other guests on this very cold Jan/Feb weekend, they were very interesting and sharing breakfast with them was a treat.

Room Tip: The back three rooms have access to the shared patio which proved nice. I was supposed to be in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Barcino 147
Barcino 147
#2 of 326 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Eixample
Close to Passeig de Gracia B&B
Close to Passeig de Gracia B&B
#100 of 326 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Amra
Hostal Amra
#23 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Retrome Barcelona
Retrome Barcelona
#40 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Goya
Hostal Goya
#42 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Eixample
Ca La Maria
Ca La Maria
#9 of 326 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal L' Antic Espai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal L' Antic Espai

Property: Hostal L' Antic Espai
Address: C/ Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 660, principal, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal L' Antic Espai 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L´Antic Espai arises after a dream of creating in Barcelona a special space with an old world charm. we create an place in which always, we wished to enjoy a pleasant stay and where you feel like in your own house. Our services and personalized treatment will make you to remember and miss us for ever in all trips you plan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostal L' Antic Espai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal l` Antic Espai Hotel Barcelona
Hostal l Antic Espai Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing