We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,417)
Filter reviews
2,417 results
Traveller rating
1,585
673
119
22
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,585
673
119
22
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszinc barrocafort metro stationrooftop terracerecommend villaminute walkgreat boutiquetapaslovely hotelquiet locationfirst floorlas ramblasresidential arealoved this hotelbreakfast was excellentthe air conditioningsmall hotelvisiting barcelona
Filter
Updating list...
1,049 - 1,054 of 2,417 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2012

The Staff of Villa Emilia were friendly and accomodating, arriving on the early flight was no issue, our room was ready. We were asked what the occasion of our stay was for, saying "Birthday" resulted in recieving a voucher for drinks at the bar during our stay. we asked for recommendations on restaurants and all 3 were fantastic and reasonably priced. We paid for breakfast on arrival for the 3 mornings with a discount and it was well worth it. we will return to the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terret60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Stayed in Villa Emilia for 3 days last weekend and Monday. We booked the hotel 3 months ago and had wrote to the hotel in advance to request a double bed sadly this request wasn’t met. The room we got had two single beds pushed together and also with 2 single quilts, really for a 4 star hotel I don’t think this was acceptable but maybe I am expecting to much to have a double bed in a hotel 

The room we had on the 6th floor was very warm and the air conditioning was not working, so we rang reception and were told they would send someone up to us, got a call 10minutes later to say that air conditioning was seasonal and would not be turned on till the end of March. Asked again later in the evening about air conditioning and was told that the heating goes off at night so the room will cool down that didn’t happen either and was forced to try and sleep in a extremely warm room. Not possible to sleep with widow open with noise from outside. The following morning complained again and was told that it is still winter in Spain and air conditioning was not turned on (still winter 19th of March ????). But I did persist and was eventually moved to the 4th floor with a room with air conditioning, this room had a double bed also. The room over looked the street outside don’t be persuaded that rooms are sound proofed either. So after complaining 4 times and told lies/rubbish each time we did eventually get air conditioning. I really don’t what the issue was but the level of service we received was a joke. Obviously the hotel has serious issues with air conditioning I would dread to stay here in summer (when ever that is!!!)

Also as per previous review I don’t understand the shower, the hotel has tried to create a wet room shower effect but obviously on the cheap and the water from shower just flows on the floor you need to put down the towels to keep the place dry. Also the square pillows are not comfortable don’t know what they are trying to achieve with these either.

The hotel is close to the metro station and also some nice cafes for a morning coffee and croissant so no need for the over priced breakfast.

Barcelona is a truly great city something for every one will definitely return to the city but not to Villa Emilia

Room Tip: Quiet room with air conditioning that works with a double bed.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IrishWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Villa Emilia, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Dear Sr,

We are trully sorry if your stay at Villa Emilia has not been as pleasant as we would have liked to. Also we take seriously into consideration every comments of our customers either positive and negative in order to improve our customer service.

Regarding to air conditioner our hotel is equiped with an ecological system of energy managment that doesn't allow us to turn it on till a given date. All this system is centralized and the only way to turn on the cooler in winter is by changing all the system for a number of rooms. That is exactly what did reception to please you.

Anyway, we apologise if it had caused you an inconvenience.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Great scent when you walk in and the staff are friendly. There is a nice bar and a great terrace on the roof top. The room we had was well furnished and clean. It was nice! As another reviewer said "for my taste the beds and cushions were too hard, I did not sleep so well for this reason". The location is good, About 8 minutes walk from Plaza de Espana, about 15-20 minutes to Las Ramblas. The train is 50m from it so getting around is simple. We did not have breakfast there as we found a great cafe 2 doors away. The bread in cafe's is to die for!
I would recommend this hotel for your Barcelona break.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TRELISKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Just returned from trip to Barcelona & stayed at the Villa Emilia, had a great time, stayed in room 61 at the back with no view (which is what we asked for ) don't be persuaded by the fact they tell you the windows are soundproof we needed our window open all the time as it was hot in the room and the air conditioning is not yet in seasonal use. Sleep on top of your quilt as the beds are like rocks & either use the blankets or ask for another quilt. The shower is the most stupid design ever seen and you DO get water all over the bathroom so the 2nd one to use shower needs to put down the wet towels from the 1st, that said the safe is free, the mini bar quite cheap and they do meals in your room is you should wish for and the terrace on the 7th floor is wonderful although its in the shade at teatime so a bit chilly but in the summer when it will be hot it will be brilliant to sit up there in the shade. Top Tip don't fall for the breakfast offer of 10 euros its only continental, turn right towards the metro station as you come out of the hotel & just 3/4 doors down is fab bar/cafe where you get fresh cooked bacon & egg, fresh squeezed orange juice & great coffee for 5.75 euros you can also get a nice cake on way back as didn't bother with free ones on offer in hotel as heard were dried up ones from breakfast. Also take a corkscrew with you as there is a spar across road from hotel selling wine 6/7/8 euros a bottle, in hotel its 6 euros a glass & you can take bottle up to sun terrace as bar not manned at this time of year (glasses in room). Another tip buy a 2 day pass on the bus it only costs an extra 6 euro for the extra day & its impossible to see everything in one day as Barcelona is so big, if you want to see la rambles, gothic area, olympic stadium beach & harbour its on the red route which will take you a day, if you want to see la sagrada familia (pay extra 3.5 euros & take lift to top its fantastic), gaudi park & Barcelona football club its on the blue route, to get to the nearest bus stop turn right as come out of hotel, right again at metro stop & continue until get to bullring & massive roundabout, cross over roads to the left & get the bus where you will see the two big columns, (you will also see Moutjuic and the national art gallery from here) this is the red route bus, & starts with a trip up to the olympic stadium, do go up the cable cars & look around the castle at the top, the views of Barcelona are fantastic, the fenecular railway is also up there, dont get off at the national art gallery as you can walk from the hotel & do that when you have used up your 2 day bus pass, if you get off the bus after the full day off hopping on & off at the same place as you got on, walk down the opposite side of street where you will come to a fab chinese which offers a 3 course menu with wine or beer for 10 euro and its delicious. Also if you turn left as come out of hotel door and cross road there is a great pizza place that does 2 freshly made pizza's & a bottle of wine for 25 euros. If you go down the ramblas don't eat on the main street one couple we met had been charged 53 euros for a coffee & a pitta there are plenty of restaurants off main street offering a 3 course meal with wine & coffee for 12.50 euros each, also if you go down the ramblas go in the market & check out the fruit & veg HUGE!! and buy some strawberrys & chocolates they are fantastic & cheap & you can put the strawberrys in the mini bar in your room to chill before eating. If you go to the gothic area and get off by the Cathedral there is a fab sandwhich shop on the corner where you can get coffee & delic chicken baggette for 6 euros and down road (same side as got off bus) are some open air seats also another market but not as good as the one on the ramblas. Toilets are hard to find in Barcelona except in bars & restaurants until we notice a WC sign on what we thought was a bus shelter, you go down some steps as usually in underground car parks you get a key from the attendant but don't recommend doing this on a night. If your wondering where the escalators are they are on the way up to the national art gallery at the top of the moutjuic (big hill) the exhibition starts with artwork found in the pyrenees & removed & exhibited here & its out of this world & well worth going to see, the building itself is also wonderful well worth the walk up the hill. Couldn't find anywhere except airport to buy ciggies except machines in restaurants and make sure (unlike us) you go to terminal 2 if returning to UK

Room Tip: ask for a quite room we had room 61at the back which meant we could have the window open all the time with no traffic noise
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Think the title sums it up. The hotel is in a very nice residential area of Barcelona, very safe and close to a good metro line station which connects nicely to most of the tourist spots in the city. The Hotel is clean and the look they have is very cool and welcoming.

The rooms are small, clean and well maintained - all the rooms are the same size and there was no chance for us to upgrade, however there is so much to see and do in Barcelona, the room is really just somewhere to wash and crash which this room did perfectly for us.

I guess the thing Villa Emilia lacked was a "wow" factor - they are trying to squeeze a lot of hotel into a very small space, the breakfast/restaurant/chill out/ receltion area is small, and whilst Breakfast is pleasant (and continental) enough it is basically the only space they could squeeze two tables next to each other to put bread and cold meats on. The reception area is small and never felt like there were enough people/space to help out however the staff are very friendly and helpful every time we needed.

If the hotel had more space to play with then this could have been a hotel I kept coming back to, the problem is however, Barcelona has numerous achingly beautiful "boutique" hotels of which this is trying to be one - If you have booked, you wont be disappointed especially if you are exploring Barcelona, but if you are looking for a hotel where you can spend more time chilling out, then there are better options in Barcelona in the same price range.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northern76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews