We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Emilia
Nearby Hotels
NH Sants Barcelona(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
US$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

NH Barcelona Ramblas(Barcelona)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$128
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Jazz(Barcelona)
US$162
US$136
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hesperia Sant Joan(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$257
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
US$283
US$226
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,377)
Filter reviews
2,377 results
Traveller rating
1,553
666
118
22
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,553
666
118
22
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszinc barrocafort metro stationrooftop terracerecommend villaminute walktapaslovely hotelquiet locationfirst floorlas ramblasresidential arealoved this hotelbreakfast was excellentthe air conditioningsmall hotelvisiting barcelonacity break
Filter
Updating list...
1,022 - 1,027 of 2,377 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed at Villa Emilia for 4 nights on our first trip to Barcelona.

It is a pretty good location right in between 2 major metro stops. Rocafort is the closest. Also handy to the airport bus - definitely take the bus to and from the airport. Extremely well connected to public transport. We caught the metro everywhere. After walking through other areas of Barcelona, appreciated the non touristy location of Villa Emilia but would try other locations in the future just for variety.

The hotel itself is very clean & modern. Wooden floors, beech furniture, sliding doors, grayish modern tiled bathroom with nice toiletries. We had a room facing the street which could have been quite noisy if the windows were open but as it was still cool, we kept them closed. I liked that the windows could be open so we could have a look out on the street. Liked the firm bed and had good night's sleep.

The breakfasts were lovely - enjoyed the pastries, boiled eggs and exemplary friendly service. Best of all, really loved the rooftop area. The afternoon sunshine made it a fantastic place to chill out after a long day of touristing.

Overall a pleasant stay! would recommend to friends/family.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noodlesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I will keep this review short and sweet!

The hotel is superb!

Great staff, good rooms, descent location, good food and excellent breakfast and I mean excellent!

Top tip as advised elsewhere on here book you breakfast when you get there and save 4 euros per person.

In summary if you want all the above in a boutique style hotel in Barcelona that isn't going to break the bank, you have found it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trustedreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I have been there twice; through my job and as a private visitor. They are professional both ways and I as well as my colleagues and family were very pleased. The hotel is nice, the staff polite and helpful(i.e.finding good suggestions for restaurants near by). The breakfast was very popular for my son(pata negra ham) and for the adults( cava and/or white wine for breakfast) !!

Room Tip: The rooms are quite ok whereever you sleep
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jørgen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We have just got back from staying at the hotel for just one night and it was fantastic- it was for my husbands birthday. Great location, the breakfast was amazing only cold but loads of it ie crossisants, toast, cereal, ham and cheese i also had a glass of cava with my breakfast made my day !!! The roof top terrace is a must watching the sun set with a goldfish bowl G & T...
The bar in the evening was very relaxing with a guy playing the piano. Our room was very clean and quiet and lovely comfy bed- i would defiantly stay at this hotel again and recommend it to everybody i know.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robbo037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2012

If you look at the rating and think Villa Emilia is a very good hotel, you must read our experience in this hotel first.
I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and regret to make a decision to stay there.

I will say the hardware of this hotel is great (new and with the decoration) , but the software (staff attitude and training is very, VERY poor).

1) Air conditioner
the conditioner is new, BUT it only allow either heater or Cooler (they will lock either function), I stayed there in late March which the temperature varies from very hot in the daytime and cool in the night. During the daytime the wall absorb lots of heat so we wait 3 hours and the room is still very hot,even turn off the air conditoner and opened window. The staff says they cannot provide heating and cooling in the same time). The result is that i almost has sleepless night as the room temperature is still very hot. The staff answer is she just open the window and sleep well in her home????
and they cannot provide warmer and cooler at same time (??? it is what the air-conditioner designed for)

2) Internet problem
the internet connection is down and i phoned the reception and they say NO one other complained and so i need to wait next morning for staff check. Around 10 min later she called back and said since there is another customer having the same connection problem and so they will fix it in 1 hour.

3) room available time is late
I arrived around 15:30 but the room is still not ready and we need to wait 2 hours Because i requested high floor.
The manager said if we don't mind lower floor it is ready immediately. I asked to view the room first and he asked why i want to view it first (so rude) and said then you come back in 2 hours. (it is the most ruder hotel i evered encountered.

4) irritating aroma smell in corridor
the smell is very irritating and everyday i need to run directly to my room. Luckily they don't spray it inside room.

5) Manager not careful enough
In the final stay the manager helped us to call a cab , without asking us where to go he told driver to go to airport. In fact we go to another hotel in downtown. Luckily the driver asked us for destination,otherwise there will be another quarrel.

There is still other problem from this hotel but not want to spend too much time there.

I am thinking why there are still many good comment given to this hotel and if you do not require below you can try this hotel
1) no air-conditioner function is required (say, when you reach there at very cold time or very hot time ,when only either heater or cooler function will be fine to you)
2) if you do not need internet , internet down no problem to you
3) if you arrive at evening , so i think all room is available
4) if you do not require information /help from hotel staff, their poor training will not border you.

Room Tip: never stay in villa Emilia, there are more hotel which is better than this.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Paulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEmiliaHotel, Responsable commercial at Hotel Villa Emilia, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear Madam/Sr,

First of all, I would like you to know that we take seriously into consideration every comments of our customers either positive and negative and so we thank you for posting your opinion.
Also let us express our apologize if your stay has not been as good as you expected.

Regarding to air conditioner, in the interest of environmental protection our hotel is equipped with an ecological system of energy management that does not allow us to put the cooler in winter to prevent abuse. We apologize if this has caused you an inconvenience.

You have also shared with us a problem relating to an internet connection problem. It is true that the network can be saturated sometimes when all the conexions are working at the same time. Thanks to your comment, we have put in place measures to remedy this situation. However we are really surprise by the answer of the receptionist that you refered. This is not in absolutly what we use to say to the customer. In that case our policy is very clear: we suggest the customer to come and try with him to conect his laptop.

Regarding to the arrival time, we have actually offered you a room on a lower floor because the room on the sixth floor was not ready. This is an exceptional case and we apologize about that. Nevertheless we believe that there has been a misunderstood with the receptionist because we never refuse our clients to visit its rooms before to booked it. We have absolutely nothing to hide and transparency is an integral part of our policy.

Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews