We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in quiet but good location”
Review of Villa Emilia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Emilia
Ranked #39 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel in quiet but good location”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

A lovely boutique hotel in a fairly central but quiet location. The rooms are spotless and a good size with great style and quality furnishings. The staff are efficient, friendly and couldn't do enough to help. The roof terrace is a great place to relax with a snack and glass of cava. The breakfast is excellent with a good range of quality cold food. Although we only stayed one night we will definitely stay there again on our next visit to the city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,446
    636
    111
    22
    16
See reviews for
261
1,404
61
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed at Villa Emilia for 4 nights on our first trip to Barcelona.

It is a pretty good location right in between 2 major metro stops. Rocafort is the closest. Also handy to the airport bus - definitely take the bus to and from the airport. Extremely well connected to public transport. We caught the metro everywhere. After walking through other areas of Barcelona, appreciated the non touristy location of Villa Emilia but would try other locations in the future just for variety.

The hotel itself is very clean & modern. Wooden floors, beech furniture, sliding doors, grayish modern tiled bathroom with nice toiletries. We had a room facing the street which could have been quite noisy if the windows were open but as it was still cool, we kept them closed. I liked that the windows could be open so we could have a look out on the street. Liked the firm bed and had good night's sleep.

The breakfasts were lovely - enjoyed the pastries, boiled eggs and exemplary friendly service. Best of all, really loved the rooftop area. The afternoon sunshine made it a fantastic place to chill out after a long day of touristing.

Overall a pleasant stay! would recommend to friends/family.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank noodlesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I will keep this review short and sweet!

The hotel is superb!

Great staff, good rooms, descent location, good food and excellent breakfast and I mean excellent!

Top tip as advised elsewhere on here book you breakfast when you get there and save 4 euros per person.

In summary if you want all the above in a boutique style hotel in Barcelona that isn't going to break the bank, you have found it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trustedreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hovik, Norway
Level Contributor
158 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I have been there twice; through my job and as a private visitor. They are professional both ways and I as well as my colleagues and family were very pleased. The hotel is nice, the staff polite and helpful(i.e.finding good suggestions for restaurants near by). The breakfast was very popular for my son(pata negra ham) and for the adults( cava and/or white wine for breakfast) !!

Room Tip: The rooms are quite ok whereever you sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jørgen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We have just got back from staying at the hotel for just one night and it was fantastic- it was for my husbands birthday. Great location, the breakfast was amazing only cold but loads of it ie crossisants, toast, cereal, ham and cheese i also had a glass of cava with my breakfast made my day !!! The roof top terrace is a must watching the sun set with a goldfish bowl G & T...
The bar in the evening was very relaxing with a guy playing the piano. Our room was very clean and quiet and lovely comfy bed- i would defiantly stay at this hotel again and recommend it to everybody i know.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbo037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

If you look at the rating and think Villa Emilia is a very good hotel, you must read our experience in this hotel first.
I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and regret to make a decision to stay there.

I will say the hardware of this hotel is great (new and with the decoration) , but the software (staff attitude and training is very, VERY poor).

1) Air conditioner
the conditioner is new, BUT it only allow either heater or Cooler (they will lock either function), I stayed there in late March which the temperature varies from very hot in the daytime and cool in the night. During the daytime the wall absorb lots of heat so we wait 3 hours and the room is still very hot,even turn off the air conditoner and opened window. The staff says they cannot provide heating and cooling in the same time). The result is that i almost has sleepless night as the room temperature is still very hot. The staff answer is she just open the window and sleep well in her home????
and they cannot provide warmer and cooler at same time (??? it is what the air-conditioner designed for)

2) Internet problem
the internet connection is down and i phoned the reception and they say NO one other complained and so i need to wait next morning for staff check. Around 10 min later she called back and said since there is another customer having the same connection problem and so they will fix it in 1 hour.

3) room available time is late
I arrived around 15:30 but the room is still not ready and we need to wait 2 hours Because i requested high floor.
The manager said if we don't mind lower floor it is ready immediately. I asked to view the room first and he asked why i want to view it first (so rude) and said then you come back in 2 hours. (it is the most ruder hotel i evered encountered.

4) irritating aroma smell in corridor
the smell is very irritating and everyday i need to run directly to my room. Luckily they don't spray it inside room.

5) Manager not careful enough
In the final stay the manager helped us to call a cab , without asking us where to go he told driver to go to airport. In fact we go to another hotel in downtown. Luckily the driver asked us for destination,otherwise there will be another quarrel.

There is still other problem from this hotel but not want to spend too much time there.

I am thinking why there are still many good comment given to this hotel and if you do not require below you can try this hotel
1) no air-conditioner function is required (say, when you reach there at very cold time or very hot time ,when only either heater or cooler function will be fine to you)
2) if you do not need internet , internet down no problem to you
3) if you arrive at evening , so i think all room is available
4) if you do not require information /help from hotel staff, their poor training will not border you.

Room Tip: never stay in villa Emilia, there are more hotel which is better than this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Paulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaEmiliaHotel, Responsable commercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Madam/Sr,

First of all, I would like you to know that we take seriously into consideration every comments of our customers either positive and negative and so we thank you for posting your opinion.
Also let us express our apologize if your stay has not been as good as you expected.

Regarding to air conditioner, in the interest of environmental protection our hotel is equipped with an ecological system of energy management that does not allow us to put the cooler in winter to prevent abuse. We apologize if this has caused you an inconvenience.

You have also shared with us a problem relating to an internet connection problem. It is true that the network can be saturated sometimes when all the conexions are working at the same time. Thanks to your comment, we have put in place measures to remedy this situation. However we are really surprise by the answer of the receptionist that you refered. This is not in absolutly what we use to say to the customer. In that case our policy is very clear: we suggest the customer to come and try with him to conect his laptop.

Regarding to the arrival time, we have actually offered you a room on a lower floor because the room on the sixth floor was not ready. This is an exceptional case and we apologize about that. Nevertheless we believe that there has been a misunderstood with the receptionist because we never refuse our clients to visit its rooms before to booked it. We have absolutely nothing to hide and transparency is an integral part of our policy.

Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, tx
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Chose this hotel based on other TripAdvisor reviews. We weren't disappointed! Good corner location; a block from the Rocafort Metro station. We had a quiet room, away from the elevator, on level 4. (Please note that quiet is achieved by keeping the window closed; an open window is cooler, but noisy.)

We asked for a room with a tub in the bathroom. Our room had the bathroom next to the room's entrance. Bathroom has a large wood sliding door for privacy, but this floor plan may not appeal to all. (Some rooms have the bathroom in a more private location in the room.) The king bed was comfortable, firm but cushioned. The bed pillows are square, a bit unusual, but still comfortable.

The staff was very helpful and welcoming (reception desk and bar/restaurant). Maps were provided and highlights for first-time visitors were noted with a personal touch. They were helpful with ordering a taxi for our departure and printed our boarding tickets, too.

The (free) afternoon coffee/tea time was always welcome (on days when we returned before 7PM). Cool bottled water, hot water for tea, hot coffee and hot milk were enjoyed with a croissant, or other bread/pastry item as we cooled our heels from lots of sightseeing.

The bar and restaurant service was good and always friendly. We hadn't pre-booked breakfast but added that when we arrived and found how good it was. Coffee was always great from the machine, but thermal carafes of hot water, coffee and hot milk were also available. The food and drink were always of a high standard. We had 2 dinners and a night or 2 of tapas and drinks. Two nights they had live music in the bar/restaurant (a singer with pianist, a cellist and pianist played jazz another night). Who needs to seek out entertainment when we have all this in our hotel?!

English was spoken well, but we did have one occasion where a tonic water order came as a gin-and-tonic. No big problem as my husband enjoyed it so much that he specifically ordered such the next day!

Restaurant suggestion: Little Italy near the Barri Gotic (Picaso Museo) was great! Went there twice for a midday meal that was wonderful. They also have live jazz at nite, but we were kept entertained with the live music at our hotel instead. Address: REC 30. PG. DEL BORN

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a tub, if desired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charles a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 513 in Barcelona
3,052 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 513 in Barcelona
3,849 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#10 of 513 in Barcelona
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
2,119 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,708 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#13 of 513 in Barcelona
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Emilia

Property: Villa Emilia
Address: Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#36 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Emilia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing