We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,425)
Filter reviews
2,425 results
Traveller rating
1,591
674
119
23
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,591
674
119
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zinc bar rocafort metro station rooftop terrace recommend villa minute walk great boutique tapas lovely hotel quiet location first floor las ramblas residential area loved this hotel breakfast was excellent the air conditioning small hotel visiting barcelona
Filter
Updating list...
1,319 - 1,324 of 2,425 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Enjoyed our stay at hotel on the 6th floor. Rooms are decent size for European hotel and modern with nice bathrooms. Also has great roof top bar on 7th with nice view of city. Could not hear any noise from roof bar in evenings. Also, could not hear neighbors which are not always achievable in European hotels. Overall great value for money and staff are friendly and helpful (Fernando and Julia provided us with good recommendations for dinner and places to visit).
Hotel located close to metro and bus stops and walking distance (15 min) from Plaza de Cataluña. Only minor notable item is that if you are a late sleeper might be difficult to sleep past 9am as cleaning team must work part time as part of demolition crew as they were quite noisy. In summary would stay there again especially given price and service.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Stayed here for four nights in August, arrived very early in the morning but was accomodated with our room right away. The lobby is very chic and modern, the only thing we weren't crazy about was that it smelled very strong, but obviously that isn't a big concern. Its located off the gran via, and is very close to the rocafort metro station, and youre only a short walk to the las ramblas area which is a great place to walk around. What was also convenient about villa emilia was that there was a grocery store nearby and so that made it easy to grab a few things for the room. The room itself is small, but is efficiently set up with everything you would need. Very clean and comfortable. All in all it was a great stay, and would go back. Especially for the rooftop mojitos....

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie007Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We have stayed there for three nights in August 2010 and it could not have been better. Friendly staff, helpful, engaged, to make the stay authentic. Rooms are great even if you are on lower floor you dont hear the traffic. The restaurant kitchen is execellent...even if the chef like to go home at straight 11pm....but his dishes were great.
Thank you for making our stay so super.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Husband and I stayed at Villa Emilia last September pre cruise from Barcelona. We arrived at the hotel from the airport by using the Aerobus that dropped us off at the Gran Via a couple blocks from the Hotel. We arrived without our luggage because late connections had our luggage stuck in Madrid. The lobby of the hotel is very beautifully decorated with a modern touch, staff was comprised of mainly young people ready to greet us and take care of our reservation. We received our double bedroom as soon as we arrived and it was all I hoped it would be, modern, spotless clean, comfy, with free wi-fi, flat screen tv and overlooking the street corner which was quite a quiet one because we slept very well.
We didn't get our luggage until the next 24hs and all the time the staff was eager to help us in any way..lending us their phone to call the airline with no charge to our room.
Hotel didn't include breakfast so can't comment on their food although we did stop by the mezzanine for a coffee and biscuits placed next to their computer center.
The hotel has a very nice top floor with a balcony lounge area where you can sit and relax enjoying a nice cocktail at night.
The location is actually quite good to visit Barcelona. You can practically walk to the magic fountain and discover Montjuic or just take the Metro which is less than two blocks away and use it to go anywhere in the city as it is so easy and convenient.
I would definitely return to Villa Emilia in my next visit to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2010

The hotel is very convenient, just 2mins away from Rockafort metro station (metro line L1 (red line)). The hotel is about 10mins walk away from Plaça España Aerobus stop. The Aerobus (A1) takes approx 25mins to reach Plaça España stop from Barcelona El Prat Airport and costs EUR 5.05 per ticket (roundtrip ticket costs EUR 8.75 and it's valid for 9 days). Per email from the hotel, a taxi from El Prat airport will cost approx EUR 30 - 35 depending on traffic and which day of the week (taxi rates differ between weekdays and weekends). Taxi will take approx 20-30mins. Or the hotel can arrange for a luxury car for you, which will cost EUR 75 - 85.

The hotel is located in a quieter area of Barcelona, away from the hustle and bustle of La Ramblas (but only few metro stops away). There is a small grocery shop diagonally opposite the hotel which you can purchase water/drinks/snacks.

The room is cosy but not claustrophobic. The room was also very clean. The bathroom tiles are all black, but it's brightly lit so it's not a problem. They use ~H2O+ brand (http://www.h2oplus.com) amenities but only offer shower gel, shampoo and body lotion. They do not provide other essential amenities (e.g. toothbrush, toothpaste, cotton pads, shower cap, etc) so best to pack them with you or maybe they will be provided upon request. The water pressure is good. The only complaint is that while the shower looks cool and modern, it floods 1/3 of the bathroom floor after a shower. I know these boutique hotels often have modern and sleek designs, but it also should be functional. They should have better designs for the shower. We requested for a double bed, but they gave us two single beds pushed together and the beds tend to separate during the course of the night. Not very comfortable if someone is sleeping near the middle. Not sure if they have proper double beds at the hotel. The beds are quite hard, so if anyone prefers a soft bed, beware! As the air-conditioner is quite cool (you cannot turn the temp higher than 25°C) I requested for an extra blanket, but they told me they do not have any spare blankets. Normally they will take one from another room, but since the hotel was operating at full capacity, they could not offer me another blanket. I think this is quite ridiculous, how could a hotel not have spare blankets? They also do not have coffee/tea making facilities in the room. There were not many English channels on TV, so if you like relaxing and watching TV in the room, best to bring your laptop and download some movies.

The reception staff were courteous and helpful. They helped to make restaurant bookings, print maps of places we wanted to visit and suggested areas to go for dinner if you did not have a specific restaurant in mind. They all spoke good English.

We had dinner at the hotel one night and the food was really good. The prices were not too expensive and if you are too tired to go out after a day of sightseeing and shopping, it would be a good idea to stay in and enjoy dinner at Zinc. As there are usually only a few tables occupied, the ambience is very relaxing. If you like to chill out, they also have a roof-top terrace upstairs with lounge music.

I chose this hotel after extensive research on Trip Advisor and apart from several minor faults, this is a good choice for Barcelona at this price (£99 on Sat in Aug 2010 and £79 on Sun & Mon in Aug 2010 + £7 taxes & service fees per night - booked via Expedia). If you are looking for a more centrally located hotel, try looking at Murmuri (also mentioned in the Luxe City Guides - http://www.luxecityguides.com), I was deciding between Murmuri and Villa Emilia. I chose Villa Emilia in the end as there seemed to be more positive comments on Trip Advisor and also because they provided free wi-fi (this should be standard in all hotels!).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews