We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views, excellent location and nice design !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Miramar Barcelona
Ranked #122 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Centrally located, overlooking the city and harbour, the Miramar is an excellent hotel; big, luxurious and nicely decorated rooms and very nice and courteous service.
One bad point, the restaurant is not open everyday; this does not allow the Miramar to claim 5 stars, but this is the only bad point !
One of our 2 communicating rooms had an open bathroom space only separated from the bedroom by a big curtain... A designer fantasy, but really not very practical or even good looking !

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick_JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,047)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2011

The hotel is built around an old palace from 1920. Despite the isolated location this hotel is not among the quietest in Barcelona. The ships in the harbour below the hotel and music from the hotel restaurant caused some noise through the night.
Our Grand Mediterranean suite was spacious. The promised jacuzzi on the terrace was out of order as all other jacuzzis in the hotel. according to the front desk. The receptionist suggested that we visit the pool instead.
The hotel's website mentions the jacuzzi so it is apparently giving false information.
The lobby was grandiose and the pool area looked nice. The panoramic views over the city were great. The cable internet was fast. There was no wifi signal in our room.
Because of an early flight we did not any meals at the hotel.
The personnel was very amiable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RubenHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We received a room with balcony with view to the garden almost above the entrance area. During our one week stay we enjoyed daily the sounds of shots (the neighbour of the hotel is a sports shooting ranch) from 9 am to 8 pm - each day even Saturday and Sunday. You could hear those shots also in the very nice outdoor pool area. When we asked the staff of the hotel about it - they told us that the shooting ranch is very far away (...) We ended up not using the nice balcony very much and avoided spending too much time during the day in the hotel (changing the room was somehow not possible even if the hotel was not too crowded). Besides the shots there were constructions in the entrance area that also produced a lot of noise.
Restaurant and breakfast in the hotel are also overpriced (breakfast € 25,- per person) - compared to the very good food that you can get in the restaurants in the city. But once you are in the hotel there is no alternative as the hotel is situated a bit outside the city centre.
Service personel seemed to be overwhelmed a couple of times and very slow.
For a 5-star hotel the complete package was not satisfying. So all together the great view and nice rooms didn't help it - unfortunately we won't be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L_T_T_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

As our first destination in our honeymoon to Spain :) it was fun we had a room with a balcony, the service was nice and the breakfast was yummy..

Perfect location, walking distance from all major attractions, and not near alot of the noise and distributions..

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allooa97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

I was actually sent over to the Miramar Hotel by the W Hotel because they were over-booked. I was pleasantly surprised! Great rooms - huge, comfy bed, decent sized balcony with chairs, beautiful bathroom with separate tub. The hotel also has a nice spa with a pool and a decent gym.
My only problem with this Hotel is the location. It's NOT in the heart of the city. Its close to some sites and a metro station.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBGiants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed at the hotel during easter. Booked a deluxe room approx 2 months before arrival with a request of having a good view. What we got was a conference room with a temporary bed inside!! The promised things supposed to be in the room did not exist. No towels, no bathrobes, no hair dryer, no stereo, no working refrigerator, no safety box, a view over the hotel entrance (where anyone standing outside the entrance could see us) and more. We were basically fooled, put into a temporary room, and the staff just tried ignoring and pretending it to be normal. Definitely NOT a 5 star hotel in our opinion! Even if we got a reduction of the bill after a discussion we would not recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Poppy003_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We have been at Miramar Hotel for three nights before a cruise in mid April 2011 and we really enjoyed our stay. Located at the hilltop of the Montjuich Park, the view is spectacular facing the Mediterranean sea. Our Mediterranean suite was, large, clean, quiet and very well appointed. Restaurant Le Forestier was excellent for the breakfast although it could be better for dinner. We also appreciated the large garden and pool area. Because of its superb location, the relaxing environment, the quality of room and service this hotel is really a five stars.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samre0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#118 of 518 in Barcelona
2,488 reviews
Gran Hotel La Florida
#205 of 518 in Barcelona
1,239 reviews
Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel
#180 of 518 in Barcelona
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky
Les Corts
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
#113 of 518 in Barcelona
1,020 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#126 of 518 in Barcelona
6,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar Barcelona

Address: Plaza Carlos Ibanez 3, 08038 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: $233 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Miramar Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Miramar Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing