We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic and Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chic & Basic Tallers
Ranked #376 of 735 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed 27 September 2016

When I was looking for a hotel, I wanted one that was near Las Ramblas, but not too close to all the noise. This small hotel/hostel was an absolute great location. We were right across from the Universitat metro station. There were numerouse restaurants on our street and the street ran right into Las Ramblas. The room was small, quite and comfortable. Although this is listed as a hostel, it was more like a budget hotel because our room was cleaned each day, bed made and clean towels delivered. The room was nice and bright and the bathroom had a set of double doors that you could open for fresh air. Our room did not have a great view, but that was OK. The common area downstairs has a very small kitchen and you can get free coffee and yogurt. I would not quite call it a breakfast, but just something to get you started. The common area was very small and not much of a place for gathering. However, being that we came to Barcelona to see the city, this was not important. The location of this hotel was excellent because it was within walking distance to Placa Catalunya, Las Ramblas, the Metro, and had numerous restaurants, a cupcake shop, a small pastry shop, small markets and small shops. Around the corner were several stores for shopping.

Room Tip: If I were to go here again, I would consider getting a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeTraveler97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed there with my girlfriend.
First of all - not easy to find. You need the exact location - the hotel is in an appartment building.
We got there and were informed that we get the extra large room instead of large.
Happily we came to the new upgraded room and were shocked.
The room is really one room - four wals in which there is a bed , a bathroom and a toilet with one door - either the bathhrom is closed or the toilet (see pictures). I dont want to imagine what the normall room looks like (andnot the XL)
The AC is awful - does not get the room cold at all although it was working all day long.
The breakfast is really poor - you get to the fridge and take what there is in there.often there is almost nothing there , andno room to sit.
The milk is not fresh , and the orange juice as well.
Overall it is way overpriced for ehat you get.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank David_A99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

I stayed here with my sister for 5 nights. Booked last minute. The room is very basic and like someone said before you need to be very comfortable with who you are with as the toilet and shower are in the room separated by a pane of sliding glass. The room suited our purposes perfectly. I am going to list a few bad things but these didn't deter us from our experience.

The room itself is in need of attention - the curtain rail fixing was nearly hanging off the wall, the sliding glass pane between shower and toilet was cracked, there is visible mould behind the glass sink and there is a desperate need for a couple of hanging hooks inside the shower, and the shower leaked through from shower to toilet (but nothing a towel on the floor didn't fix)! The room is quite noisy in terms of traffic noise and people coming to and from other rooms but you cannot hear other guests inside their rooms which made me feel confident others could not hear us in our room (playing music and our giggling fits! etc). The music system was not working during our stay and the TV was not receiving any channels - i mentioned this on our first day and the reception lady said she would look into it. However, neither of us were interested in the TV so this didn't bother us. The balcony is absolutely tiny but it's great to have one regardless to hang out drying clothes, for a cigarette etc.

I don't want to put others off booking here as the location is great - 5 minutes from La Rambla without being too close. Right next to Universitat Metro station. It is like having your own place rather than staying at a hotel which is great. The reception man/lady were always helpful with our tourist questions and recommendations. Wifi is very good.

The room may have needed attention aesthetically but everything worked (other than music system and TV) but we had our own speakers for music. And if noise doesn't bother you too much (which you must expect from being in the city centre in a city that never sleeps). The room was clean and tidied every day. The bed and pillows were comfy - no complaints there.

I do recommend the hotel if you're on a budget like we were and if i were assured the aesthetic items were fixed I would most definitely book here again or even try their other branches (Hotel Chi&Basic Born).

Breakfast is DIY self serve 24 hrs a day which I think is a great idea however we always went out to eat as Cup&Cake, a small supermarket, many bakeries, bars and restaurants are literally a few steps away. Had a good stay overall.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room that's not near the main entrance to prevent too much noise from other gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luci L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Of course, I visited la Rambla during my stay in Barcelona. This restaurant appealed to me from the outside, so in I went and ordered paella. This was a perfect choice, beautifully presented. Mariano, the waiter only added to the perfect ambiance. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank DrLaurie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

This hostel was perfect for a student couple travelling on a budget. On arrival, we were greeted by very friendly staff who upgraded to a large room with a balcony overlooking the square. The room was clean and spacious, and the bed was incredibly comfortable! We didn't eat at the hostel, but the eating area looked welcoming and cosy with snacks available at all times. No complaints about our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank misiae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016

The Hostel is in a very good location, really close to universidad and to plaza catalunya.
rooms are pretty new, with nice elements and clean bathrooms. the only problem, at least in our experience is that the room was really too small, without wardrobe and very little space to move. moreover the hostel is on two floors and to move from one to the other (the brackfast is only on one floor) you have to use the stairs of the building or the elevator.
Overall a nice place in a very good location

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank andyrsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Located close to bus, metro ... easy to find. Close to La Rambla, the staff polite and friendly. The room is clean and quiet, pleasure was to stay here.Breakfast is self-service, an interesting way to meet new people. well designed

Stayed: May 2015
Thank Nina1981812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Chic & Basic Lemon
Chic & Basic Lemon
#314 of 515 in Barcelona
405 reviews
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#179 of 515 in Barcelona
1,106 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Grau
Hostal Grau
#68 of 515 in Barcelona
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
#394 of 515 in Barcelona
271 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#99 of 515 in Barcelona
764 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#79 of 515 in Barcelona
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chic & Basic Tallers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chic & Basic Tallers

Address: Calle Tallers, 82, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #376 of 735 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $64 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chic & Basic Tallers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chic & Basic Tallers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic & Basic Tallers Hotel Barcelona
Chic And Basic Tallers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing