We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Relaxing, Perfect”
Review of Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Market Hotel
Ranked #289 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 10 January 2012

On a recent trip through Spain and Portugal, we stumbled on this amazing boutique hotel just by chance when reading a NYT article on barcelona the week before. We couldnt be happier. Everything from the staff to the food to the rooms was idyllic. We loved it so much, and the staff was so accommodating that when our flight home from London was canceled and we had to come back, we stayed here again. Fantastic place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2011

A block away from the Gran Via where the airport shuttle conveniently dropped us off, this quaint little boutique hotel is hidden in a little passage, but nonetheless easy to find.
We got there early, so our room was not yet ready. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and suggested for us to wait in the restaurant.

The gorgeous dining area, kept in white with black and gold accents, serves a very affordable daily lunch menu. After having read several positive reviews about it, and being tired from yet another early morning, we gladly accepted the opportunity to test the Mediterranean food right where we were, instead of wandering around for a spot to grab a bite. We noticed that the restaurant filled up quickly with a diverse crowd of tourists and locals alike.

Our room was spacious (not always a given in Spain), with modern Asian style, a large bed with crisp white cotton sheets and free Wifi. I read about the famed shower on other Tripadvisor reviews and thought it was exaggerated to rate a hotel according to their showers, but I was wrong. After 4 days in a tiny Parisian bathroom, this black tile bathroom with wonderfully relaxing rainshower was a dream come true.

The soundproofing could use some improvement and we could hear whenever neighbors would walk through hallways and slam the doors.

A nice little touch were the unlimited complimentary bottles of water and apples made available for the guests to bring out.

Market Hotel is about a 15min leisurely walk from Las Ramblas through the lively El Ravel district. We enjoyed walking through the narrow cobblestone streets and felt safe evening late at night. It's also nearby a metro station and the San Antoni market.

Location, room, restaurant and staff were all excellent and we would be booking Market Hotel again on our next trip to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cosmopolicious81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

If you are looking for a place to stay in Barcelona for those few days stop over, you need look no further than the Market Hotel. This small hotel located near La Rambler is clean, tidy, quiet and offers a reasonable breakfast, at reasonable rates. Close to the markets with many tapas bars and bakeries close by for that quick coffee and pastry. We found the staff helpful and multi-lingual, wi-fi, and a great restaurant and tapas bar on site if you want to stay put, the restaurant a little pricey but quality good. The black tiles in drenching shower and stand up stone basin show a bit of water stain through use, and there is little storage for clothing, if you want to stay for a prolonged period. Depending on traffic about 30 minutes by taxi from airport.

Room Tip: The hotel entrance in a small lane so front rooms that face the main road have access to a shared ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank expat25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed at the Market Hotel in Barcelona for three nights and found it comfortable and a great value. It was conveniently located, we could walk or subway to all the important sights.
Our room was large amnd comfortable with a very well appointed bathroom, though there was no view. The restaurant was quite good, and filled with locals. The bar was great as was the bartender...he gave us lots of great advice about where to go, when to go and what to eat. All in all, I would certainly go back when I visit Barcelona again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank k2com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Easy walk from the 2nd stop off the Aerobus. Farther than I'd like from the Metro (Poble Sec) that goes direct to where we wanted. Friendly and informed guest relations. Easy walk to Ramblas and Olympic Park. Nice little restaurant across the street for quick breakfast. Hotel Tapas Dinner in Bar and Breakfast promo was perfect for our needs. Restaurant was very busy. Standard room was very well priced. Bath sheets with heated towel rack and great shower. Comfortable beds, secure entry, elevator, lousy TV(so what), Internet much better in bar. Never concerned about location. Will return.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank joemooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

This hotel was an unexpected find and we were pleasantly surprised considering the price we paid. Overall the hotel is in a relatively convenient location a few stops on the metro near the main center and also close to the airport bus station. The hotel rooms are located in a building that is mixed with local residents (with sections partitioned) so you feel like you're living like a local.
The nice parts:
The room contains the basic amenities and the hotel also gives complementary bottles of water and apples to guests at the front desk. The rooms are bigger than expected and there's plenty of space to leave luggage open. Pretty clean too. The staff was friendly and offers good suggestions for dinner / lunch / snack options. The hotel bar is nice.
The ok parts:
Shower has no shower curtain or piece of glass so I ended flooding the floor each time and there's also no air vent in the bathroom and this can get quite hot. The air conditioning also magically turns on/off in the middle of the night every night.
The strange part
On 2 of the evenings, our neighbour kept slamming the door at 4am and calling "luca" for about 15min. It felt like he was standing at the foot of our bed and yelling at us. Sound proofing could be better but then again this might be our neighbour more than anything

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tofuandpesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We recently stayed seven nights at the Market Hotel with friends. We had two "suites" which certainly had the wow factor. The style is minimalistic and the beds are enormous although the pillows were awful! The bathroom was particularly impressive and as well as a huge rain-head shower we had an enormous bathtub and twin washbasins. Unusually there is no extraction which we found strange but a heated shaving mirror is available. Outside we discovered a large roof terrace as well, which in warmer weather would be a real bonus

Breakfast was an add on and is the kind of buffet you might expect. There was plenty of choice and it's served in the hotel restaurant between 7 and 11 which is very convenient after a late night in Barcelona.

We loved our first visit to this historic city and would probably stay at the Market Hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fletcherandcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#60 of 515 in Barcelona
3,185 reviews
Eixample
Praktik Garden
Praktik Garden
#133 of 515 in Barcelona
1,962 reviews
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#182 of 515 in Barcelona
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#174 of 515 in Barcelona
1,282 reviews
El Raval
Evenia Rocafort
Evenia Rocafort
#170 of 515 in Barcelona
486 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#104 of 515 in Barcelona
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Hotel

Address: Calle Comte Borrell 68, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#179 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $94 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Market Hotel & Restaurant has been open since October 2004, and although it functions normally and is working as if it were, it is not finished yet. At the moment it has 33 rooms, and at the end it will have about 80. All the rooms have full-equipped bathroom, air conditioning, central heating, cable TV, free internet access and phone, and although all they look similar, they are not all the same, and there are also different types of rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing