We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very family place and the grilled Octopus is the bomb and is the Octopus salad”
Review of El Portalon

El Portalon
Reserve with
El Portalon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,265 of 10,851 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$40
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

This place is a bit unknown by tourists which means the clients are local and the food is better-Sometimes we trip advisor people have to venture out and see the restaurants that are not rated No. 1. I would say this has a very authentic feel and the service is great-They are open 10 am - 12 pm which is nice and the food and rink are just great.

I am an octopus junky which means I order it everywhere and the plate with Octopus and potatoes was done to perfection.

Just like steak and potatoes-but better

Thank Bondcalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Portalón R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Portalon, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017

Good morning Bondacalloway! We are glad you liked El Portalón. Thank you for your opinion. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 512 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

We came across El Portalon at lunchtime while wandering around the side streets. We had already stopped at another restaurant sat down and waited to be served to no avail so we up and left. When we arrived the welcome was friendly and the service was good. We had some tapas and a drink not the best we have had during our stay but ok. The restaurant is clean and the staff were friendly with a reasonable menu and good food. I would like to try dinner here but do not think we will have time this visit.

Thank RCML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Portalón R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Portalon, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017

Good morning RCML. Thank you for your opinion, we are glad you liked. Best regards! Hope you visit El Portalón soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile

Close to Hotel Neri. We checked in at Hotel Neri at 11:00AM. Hungary, we asked for a nearby restaurant for a midday meal (tapas). El Patron was recommended. A short walk through what we North Americans would consider an alleyway, lined with several small shops. Iced tea, a beer and two tapas ran over 23 euros. If you continue walking you’ll reach a busy square with many restaurant options. Food was good.

Thank dokepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Portalón R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Portalon, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017

Good morning dokepper. Thank you for your opinion, we are glad you liked. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

Excellent meal excellent service lovely traditional foods prepared freshly and well, perfectly seasoned calamari excellent potatas bravis l had duck pate, boys had cannelloni, steak and fruit de meres rice house wine was decent and surroundings so pleasant, we will eat here again before we leave Barcelona, the boys have already planned what they want to eat on our return, reasonable prices for food 5mains 6 drinks ( 3 were alcohol) ( £100)

Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Portalón R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Portalon, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017

Good morning Emma. Thank you for your opinion, we are glad you liked. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Had a great lunch here on a rainy day in the Gothic quarter. Mid sized but cosy restaurant with good choice of food for lunch

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gcrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Portalón R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Portalon, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017

Good morning gcrooks. Thank you for your opinion, we are glad you liked. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Portalon also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to El Portalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing