We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food / Good option for Vegans”
Review of Restaurant Aji

Restaurant Aji
Reserve with
Restaurant Aji is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #491 of 11,032 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$69
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Peruvian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Description: Come and discover the sophisticated and innovative Nikkei cuisine born of the fusion of two cultures as different as Japanese and Peruvian. You’ll find a full range of maki, nigari, sashimi, stir-fries and ceviches to choose from, all prepared with the freshest premium products. If you prefer more traditional dishes, try our stewed fish and meat with the classic touch of ají. Come to Ají and be transported spoonful by spoonful, to the two countries!
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile

If you're around Barceloneta this is a great place to bring your family or friends. They have a nice terrace with a beautiful environment. The staff is very friendly.
Although their menu is not vegan they can provide some alternatives. Their vegan maki is just delicious.
They have also a great menu for lunch break during the week. If you work around, this is a great place to break the routine. The prices for the menu are very affordable.

Thank Aleksander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupPeralada, Atención al cliente at Restaurant Aji, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

We are enormously happy that you got this sensation when you came to eat with us. We want to offer a good option for having lunch and dinner in this zone, and we do our best to make our clients feel good at our restaurant. Thank you for coming and for sharing your opinion to other users. We hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 252 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2017

The food was very good we ordered ceviche carretillero, tiradito Nikkei and maki acevichado. My husband is Peruvian and very good cook, he was amazed by the quality of the dishes especially the carretillero. Cocktails were also good although there are better piscine on the market. Very well done, we will advise it to people visiting Barcelona. Hope to see you soon

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eduardo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupPeralada, Atención al Cliente at Restaurant Aji, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

Dear Eduardo,

We feel so grateful for your kind words. We people are influenced by others' opinions, so we are glad that you left this comment to other internet users and that you recommend us to your friends and acquaintances. The thing is that we feel proud that you and your husband got this sensation after visiting us, and that we too hope to see you soon here. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2017 via mobile

We had a confirmed reservation for 8 people but when we arrived the waitress tried to squeeze us into a round table that had six place settings, even though the restaurant was empty. The waitress didn't seem every happy when we asked to be seated at a proper table for 8 (a few minutes later, they seated 5 people at the table they tried to seat us at initially).

The restaurant didn't have English menus since they had apparently just changed the menu a few days earlier. The waiter made a halfhearted attempt to translate a few dishes. He gave us copies of the restaurant's old English menus to use as dictionaries. Overall, service isn't this restaurant's strong suit.

Having said that, the food was pretty good. Would recommend the ceviche and the beef, the restaurant's signature dishes. And the saving grace was our second waiter Vladimir, who took over from our initial waiter. Unlike the rest of the wait staff, Vladimir smiled and was very professional. Had it not been for Vladimir I would not recommend this restaurant solely on the basis of service.

Overall, I think I wouldn't recommend this restaurant only because I think there are many other excellent restaurants at a lower price point. While the food was pretty good, we ended up spending about 50 euros per person, including alcohol; for that amount of money I think you can find better value elsewhere in Barcelona.

Thank Samuel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupPeralada, Atencion al Cliente at Restaurant Aji, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2017

Dear Sir,
First of all, we want to thank you for your review. All suggestions help us improve every day.
Around the time you visited, we had just changed our menu and unfortunately we didn’t receive the english copies in time.
We are working hard every day to offer a top service and we feel really sorry not having been able to fulfil your expectations.
The situation you described is not representative of our standards; we hope to see you again and give us a chance to show you our fantastic service and gastronomic proposals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2017 via mobile

We love the nice atmosphere of the restaurant, friendly staff and, most of all, excellent cuisine.

Their ceviche is outstanding. They have authentic Peruvian specialities that are worth tasting.

We'll continue going there. No doubt.

Thank AngelBCN08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupPeralada, Customer Service at Restaurant Aji, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2017

Dear Angel, from Restaurant Ají we want to thank you for your kind words and for such a positive opinion. We love that our clients enjoy our work and that a visit to our restaurant become a whole experience. We work with passion to make it like this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2017 via mobile

We arrived without reservation around 10pm and got a nice table in this very beautiful and design restaurant. But waiting half an hour for someone to take our order and 10 more minutes to bring our drinks was a bit disappointing. We know how a restaurant should work and obviously the number of waiters was fair enough for us to be not left waiting like this.
The sushi was very good and fresh but when the waiter brings you again the sushi plate just after you have finish it's quite funny but it points the poor management of the service..
The wagyu beef was very good and simple. The red wine was also very tasting for 32€ the bottle.
A good address for excellent peruvian / Japanese food but the service should be really improved.

Thank stanislasf2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupPeralada, Atención al Cliente at Restaurant Aji, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017

Dear Stanislaf,

From Restaurant Ají we want to thank you for writing this opinion and sharing it to other users. We are open to all opinions because all our customer's sensations help us to improve our work.

We are glad you enjoyed our food, but at the same time we feel sorry you found the service was not good enough. As a restaurant we want our clients to have a great experience and all our staff do its best to reach it every day.

We hope you can come back in the future and have a better time eating our nikkei cuisine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Aji also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurant Aji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing