We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (866)
Filter reviews
866 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gay beach sea view great location junior suite large balconies small pool beach front room was spacious modern hotel breakfast buffet nice balcony public areas sun loungers barcelona airport cleaning staff floor promenade
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 866 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2018

Stayed in this hotel Rm 736. First impressions of room... very dated and small. The cost per night of The room does not reflect for what you get. The decor is old and paintwork on walls are terrible. The furniture is scratched and need updated. The bed was very hard..

The only thing that was decent was the breakfast.

Hotel staff all quite old and slow.

Room tip: It's not worth the money
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

We keep coming back, year after year, for 17 or 18 years now. Sea view rooms - particularly the suites - are quite nice. Very filling breakfasts with a variety of food. Right across the street from the gay beach. Just a few blocks away from the bus stop from the airport. Maybe not the most luxurious property in town, but it’s gotten much better over the years and the service is always above par. Highly recommend it.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kyivtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Calipolis, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Calipolis, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2018

Dear guest,
We thank you very much for your feed-back. We are glad to know that you were satisfied with our service and we really hope to see you again.
I remind you that for custom clients you have a 5% discount for your future stay for bookings made through our website (just using the code of the leaflet that Reception gave you at check-out.
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

The review by Fabregasuk below sums up perfectly what I have to say. Tips:
* Book direct with the hotel to get a sea view room, worth paying extra for, even if you’ll be mostly out during the day; during hot summers, you’ll want to return to your room frequently in the day for a shower or a siesta.
* Make the most of breakfast; it’s one of the best! Walk down the stairs to breakfast in the mornings for exercise, and to get there quicker, as the lifts are busy with guests checking out. Go earlier on weekends, when people from Barcelona come to town (everything is busier).
* If you have a room at the rear of the hotel, ask for one on the upper floors (floor 4 upward, to ensure you have a mountain view, not the back wall - you will also see Lionel Messi’s Hotel next door, with its rooftop bar and colourful nighttime lighting. That hotel is worth a sunset visit for the skybar, but its rooms don’t have the views of Calipolis.

The rooms are large and very clean. The bathrooms could do with modernising but are also still nice and clean. There are 2 very good restaurants and a bar with outdoor and indoor areas (by the plunge pool). The pool may look small but it is a godsend in the summer when the beach sand is scorching and the sea is rough. Many make use of it. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The hotel is 5 mins’ walk from town, on the seafront with great views and facilities. Overall, when balancing location, luxury and facilities, this scores most highly and justifies the price. I look forward to returning.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

It’s the price it is because of the commanding views of the sparkling blue Mediterranean Sea you can get from your terrace (depending on availability) and its close proximity (seconds) to the beach.

It’s not the kind of 4 star you may be used to. The pool is just a plunge, but then you have the Mediterranean a stone’s throw away. The rooms are pretty basic, no luxuries at all. But modern and clean, with some having been refurbished.

People pay the premium because there’s no other hotel that can provide good hotel services (a bar, a lounge, a very small gym, room service, large balconies, beach towels etc) whilst also being right on the sea.

It also boasts one of the best-value breakfasts outside of Israel with good egg dishes, excellent pastries, waffles, pancakes, fresh fruit (apparently), meats, cheeses, six different juices, amazing desserts, cava... it’s a calorie-fest that is worth every penny.

It turns out you are more likely to get a room with a great view if booking direct than with a hotel-booking website. The rooms toward the centre of the hotel have views not just of the horizon, but of the old church to the left and then promenade to the right, even some of the hilly countryside.

The beach is a 30 second walk away and is extremely pleasant, with warm waters (July..) and velvety sand.

Sitges itself is still a lovely mix of old and new with winding narrow streets accompanying its famous palm-lined promenade. Sadly, in recent years, this promenade - which has been previously so well maintained by local authorities - has become lined with sellers of fake shoes and handbags. It looks awful and shabby, making the place look more like the Ramblas than Sitges. Hotels such as the Calipolis should work with the tourism authorities and council to stop these illegal traders, with the police obviously unable to do anything about them (as I witness first hand). Also I noticed overflows of refuse on public streets, which all point to the local area perhaps not getting the public services it deserves and locals and tourists pay tax for.

The Calipolis is expensive for the room you get, but the views are priceless and the overall package makes it a deserved 4 stars. And get breakfast.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Fabregasuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2018

My Mum, 2 daughters & myself stayed here for 7 nights for the Dance World Cup. It's a lovely hotel right on the beach, the pool is a bit on the small side but there was never really anyone in it so my daughter had it all to herself most days. The Staff are all very nice & help full. Breakfast was good, maybe a bit steep at 14euros per person, but we tried several places outside & they were not so good for my girls. A couple of small things that let it down were, No tea or coffee facilities in the room & one of our rooms was meant to be a mountain view.............Mountains painted on a canvas on the brick wall right outside the window doesn't really cover it :(

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank Barbara_Ann999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews