We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and in the best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Urh Sitges Playa Hotel
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Traveling to Sitges in October is probably more peaceful than summertime, but to our surprise the town was very lively this time of year. The hotel in located on a more quiet beachfront with lovely restaurants and scenery. It takes about 5 minutes to walk "downtown" and to the bigger beach. We were thrilled with the location, couldn´t have been happier. This small beach is clean and cosy and there are good restaurants along the frontline. At night we strolled downtown and it was just a nice short walk. The hotel was clean and cosy and the staff very helpful. It did not bother us that the rooms are so close the neighbouring buildings, this is an old narrow town and this is what you get if you want to be so close to the sea. I can agree with other reviewers that the walls are a bit thin and you can hear almost everything coming from the next room. We are definitely coming again, Sitges is in our 5 top places to visit again, and YES we do prefer to be at this hotel also next time around.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sigridur270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDUBON, Director General at Urh Sitges Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sigridur270:

First of all we would like to thank you for considering URH, we are so happy with your comments and we take note of the improving facts. It will be a pleasure of welcoming you back and surprising with improvements.

Best regards from Sunny Sitges!

F.Dubon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Just got back from this hotel. Great location. Great Rooms. Members of staff that i dealt with couldnt have been more polite and helpfull. We stayed in the garden side. Nice and peacefull. They do have rooms at the front seaview. But in high season i would thing it could be loud with the crowds below as its a paved pedestrian area. I will be back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank MGFOREVER135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDUBON, Director General at Urh Sitges Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear MGFOREVER135

Thank you very much for considering URH-Sitges Playa during your stay in Sitges, we are so pleased to receive your review we are so glad of your metion about our Staff service quality because is one of our strenghs and all our staff work really hard for improve it day by day.

It will be a big pleasure to welcoming you back!

Best regards from Sitges.

F.Dubon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights on 7th October, we were thrilled when we seen the location and how lovely the hotel looked, inside was quite quirky and the rooms were very clean, although the bathroom perhaps needs a little tlc, my only negative would be the paper thin walls, we could hear everything from next door, staff were extremely friendly and helpful, we did not use the pool but it also looked lovely and quiet, would definitely recommend

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lou1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDUBON, Director General at Urh Sitges Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Lou1998

First of all we would like to thank you for considering URH-Sitges Playa, during your stay in our town. We are so pleased to received you comment of our property, we love your mention of our staff that is one of the strengths.

It will be a big pleasure to welcoming you in the future.

Best regards.

F.Dubon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

We stopped here for a night on our way South & fell in love with the exterior immediately!
We had an ocean front suite with gorgeous balconies over looking the action which we booked online the morning we arrived. The room was enormous with a separate living area & the most comfortable bed.
The film festival was on when we were here with merchandise kiosks set up in front of the hotel blocking the ocean view when downstairs which was a shame but didn’t impede the beautiful view from our room. Car parking was available & the location is central. Would absolutely return!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDUBON, Director General at Urh Sitges Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear JaneH,

First of all we would like to thank you for considering URH-Sitges Playa, we are so pleased to recieve your lovely review, is true that our Deluxe Frontal view and our Suites are the most amaizing rooms in the Hotel, our guests usually love this rooms and obviusly the view! But we have to say that we have other lovely options as well for families or Friends groups. It will be a pleasure for us to welcoming you in the near future.

Thank you again for your comments.

Best regards.

FDubon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This was our first visit to this hotel, from the outside the hotel looks very nice and is well situated close to beaches and town. the room was partial view but very close to private apartments so who can see directly into your room. The room design was very old and did not match the hotel design. Upgrade of rooms is required, we asked by a quiet room and found it was next to the elevator ' NOT VERY QUIET' The main issue I have is that when people use the bathroom / toilet on the upper floors, you hear a rush of water coming down the pipes.. so sound proofing is required also you can hear people in the room next door going to the toilet.
The bed is good and very comfortable and overall the room was clean, the bathroom furniture is very dated and dull.

Access to breakfast was lovely to sit in the sunshine, but the breakfast is over priced for what you consume, the staff are very polite, professional and attentive.

Wifi is fast and free 'GREAT'

Would we stay again YES due to it's location and maybe the other rooms in the hotel might be different, as when we booked it the was the only room available to the Sitges Film Festival.

Thank you to all staff who were very friendly towards us.

Room Tip: It is near the beach 20 metre walk and NOT on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anthony2CV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDUBON, Gerente at Urh Sitges Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Mr. Anthony2CV,

Thank you for considering URH-Sitges Playa, and for reviewing our Hotel on Tripadvisor, We are so unhappy with some of your mentions, and we undertake it for improve all this things. It will be a pleasure for us to welcoming you in the future and for test back our property and have a full experience URH.

Sorry for this inconveniences.

Best regards.
Fran Dubon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This hotel advertises being a "beach" hotel. Barely. Do not think it will be a beach retreat, it's on a busy block. Our "partial ocean view" room looked directly into other apartments, with a barely there side view of the ocean over apartment buildings.

This hotel advertises a 24/7 airport shuttle. DOESN'T EXIST! I was told there's no shuttle, and I asked if they could arrange car service for me and was told no, that my best bet was to walk almost a mile to where the cabs hang out. Mind you this is on cobblestones up and down hills, with my luggage, at 4am.

The bed wasn't even sleepable, I checked out at midnight. It was basically a sponge.

Room smelled of smoke, and water and bathroom smelled like sewage.

Room Tip: beware a partial ocean view means a gorgeous view into apartment buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDUBON, Director General at Urh Sitges Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Nichole M,

Thank you for your comment, but unfortunately we are not completely agree with your review, because our URH Sitges Playa is located on the promenade of San Sebastian beach in Sitges (not more 20 steps are separing the door of our Hotel from the beach!) if this is not a beach hotel will be only for you and is your respectful opinion. The position of our property is one of our strenghs. Regarding the transportation is true that we have this service 24/7 but is not a complementary pick up we never publicate that is a free service! We are so sorry for the rest of the inconveniences but we are so surprised with your review due we don't have any comment regarding all this matters.

We are so sorry of your bad experience. But we cannot accept some of your comments.

Best regards.
Fran Dubon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

This is a great location, close to the San Sebastian beach, although a little away from the main beach and beachfront restaurants. Towels and beach umbrellas were provided free. Plus rain umbrellas, which were useful for one of our days in October!

We chose a superior room with a partial sea view (on the side road leading away from the beach). This was quiet, away from the front, but it didn't seem that noisy outside even on the front at weekends (end of September/start of October). The room was clean, with a huge bed and cost around 100 euros a night without breakfast for a 3-nigh weekend at the end of Sep/start of Oct.

Breakfast is served at the El Indiano restaurant, which is attached to the hotel, but separate. We never tried this, apart from for a beer. We had breakfast at the Red Velvet and the Beach House - 10-15 mins walk away on the next beach over - both of these were good.

Staff on the front desk were friendly and helpful. They provided towels and somewhere to change when we arrived before check-in time and also after we had checked out - so we were able to extend our short break at both ends.

We used Mon-bus to get from BCN T1 to Sitges Parc de Can Robert (on the Passeig de Vilafranca). Very efficient and regular, although not exactly on time, according to the timetable. 7 euros each way, just turn up and pay as you get on.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDUBON, Director General at Urh Sitges Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Mr. Bruce M,

Thank you for taking your time reviewing your experience in URH-Sitges Playa, we are so pleased to know that you have ejoyed your stay in our town. We hope you will come back in the near future for try our fantastic restaurant el Indiano.

Thank you again for your positive comments.

Best regards.

Fran Dubon
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 40 in Sitges
808 reviews
3.6 km away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#6 of 40 in Sitges
2,848 reviews
2.9 km away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
1.8 km away
Hotel Subur Maritim
Hotel Subur Maritim
#9 of 40 in Sitges
742 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel MIM Sitges
Hotel MIM Sitges
#8 of 40 in Sitges
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urh Sitges Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urh Sitges Playa Hotel

Address: Port Alegre 53, 08870 Sitges, Spain (Formerly San Sebastian Playa Hotel)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
Price Range: $82 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Urh Sitges Playa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are URH Sitges Playa Hotel, located at the beachfront of Sant Sebastià Beach in Sitges, and we want to be your home, your restaurant, your gym, your swimming pool, your business centre and your window overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Urh Sitges Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Sebastian Playa Sitges
Hotel San Sebastian Playa
Urh Sitges Playa Hotel Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing