We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino(Santiago de Compostela)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

NH Collection Santiago de Compostela(Santiago de Compostela)
US$121
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tryp Santiago(Santiago de Compostela)
US$71
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$84/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Virxe da Cerca(Santiago de Compostela)
US$154
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

San Nicolas(Santiago de Compostela)
US$94
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Clemente(Santiago de Compostela)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Mirador de Belvis(Santiago de Compostela)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos(Santiago de Compostela)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$273
US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$202
US$191
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
139
48
8
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
48
8
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschurros con chocolategreat locationa lovely boutique hotelstay there againold townnice toiletriescamino portuguesewould highly recommend this hotelcentral locationstayed here for nightsperfect endsuperior roomrestaurants and shopsside streetvery helpful staffmini barcomfortable rooms
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 204 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2017

what a lovely few days we spent in Sandiago De Compostela in Hotel Rua Villar in the middle of October,the hotel is situated ,only 5 minutes walk from the cathedral ,its in a great location.the staff were efficient ,helpful ,welcoming & even provided us with a Spanish phrase book.Breakfast is gorgeous &the restaurant ,&bar staff so helpful.The food &drink was divine. We look forward to going back next year.

Room Tip: look for room overlooking the cathedral
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank maryoriordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelruavillar, Reception & Reservation Dept. at Hotel Rua Villar, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2017

Dear Mrs. O'Riordan:

Thank you so much for having taken a part of your precious time to leave such a detailed review about our property. We are so happy to read that once again you enjoyed your stay overall, and particularly in what concerns the location, the staff and our café. For us, it will be an honour to host you again next year and we will certainly apply our discount for returning guests if you book directly with us. Best regards, Hotel Rua Villar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2017

We stayed here after walking the last leg of the Camino. The superior room was stunning, very large with a balcony, very close to the cathedral. The staff were excellent and very friendly. Breakfast was plenty. The only reason I'm walking last leg again next year is that I was able to book the same room. It felt like luxury.

Room Tip: Superior Room is stunning
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mam02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelruavillar, Reception & Reservation Dept. at Hotel Rua Villar, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Dear mam02: thank you so much for having left such a nice review about our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay overall, and particularly in what concerns the facilities, the location, the staff and the breakfast. For us, it would be an honour to host you again if you are coming back to Santiago in the future. Best regards, Hotel Rua Villar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2017

Very close to the cathedral, in the old town and within walking distance of the market and shops. Many restaurants are close by.
Unfortunately we had a small room, no windows, dark, airless, small shower room, hard bed and hard pillows. Number 12. Our friends had a larger room, number 15.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelruavillar, Reception & Reservation Dept. at Hotel Rua Villar, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Dear Maggie9:
Thank you so much for having left a review about our Hotel. We are disappointed in what regards the description of the rooms:
- Room #12 in our Hotel is twice as large as #15.
- Both rooms are equipped with a bathtub, not a shower.
- Room #12 has got two balconies onto the street.
All this drives us to the conclusion that maybe you are not describing Hotel Rua Villar but any other nearby. Please check it and delete this review if it is a mistake.
Best regards,

Hotel Rua Villar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2017

We loved staying in this hotel.It's 10 seconds from the cathedral in an arched street in a city which delighted us.
You will not find better staff than Sandra and Lupe who effortlessly looked after us with good humour and great efficiency. They laugh and smile easily,assuring you that they will do everything to help........and they do. Lupe makes the best cortado in the world.It's a small stylish family hotel which offers a sturdy breakfast and excellent tapas,but not dinner.
We chose a gallery room overlooks an interesting street.You can't drive to it.We lopped off two days car hire ,and took a 21 euro (fixed fare) taxi to and from the new airport.

Room Tip: Choose a gallery room
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelruavillar, Reception & Reservation Dept. at Hotel Rua Villar, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2017

Dear alanrosie:

Thank you so much for having taken a part of your precious time to leave such a detailed review about our Hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay overall, and particularly in what concerns the location, the staff and the café. For us, it would be an honour to host you again if you are coming back to Santiago in the future, and you will get a special discount for returning guests as long as you book directly with us. Best regards, Hotel Rua Villar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2017

An absolute gem of a hotel with old features & Character. Although some websites state this is a 2 star hotel it is actually a 3 star and I would rate it even higher. There are only 4/5 rooms per floor and only 3 floors. on one floor there is like a library area where you can sit and read if you wish. The lift is small you will just about fit 2 people at a time in it (but not the smallest I've ever seen). We stayed here for 4 nights and the price was very good for such a central hotel in August. The hotels location couldn't be more central right in the heart of the old town less than 30 seconds walk to the Cathedral. It has its own cafe/bar and there are plenty of bars/restuarants all around you. Rooms are very spacious and very clean. The Room we had is the only room with a view of one of the towers of the Cathedral no. 25 and was a very quiet room even though the bells ring evey quarter of the hour from about 4am but they did not bother us. We asked if they could empty the mini bar so we could put water into the fridge to keep it cool and they did so without any hassle. The staff on reception are extremely friendly and welcoming (especially Sandra) and all speak perfect English. Miquel Angel Garcia in the cafe was very friendly and chatty man. All the staff made our stay so pleasant and enjoyable. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it. I really cannot praise this hotel & staff highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skinsmulhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelruavillar, Reception & Reservation Dept. at Hotel Rua Villar, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017

Dear skinsmulhall: thank you so much for having taken the time to leave such a detailed and generous review of our Hotel. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay overall, and particularly in what concerns the facilities, the location, the café and the staff. For us, it would really be an honour to host you again if you are coming back to Santiago in the future. Best regards, Hotel Rua Villar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews