We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Logrono”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sercotel Portales Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Logrono
Certificate of Excellence
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good choice in Logrono”
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This was my second stay during San Mateo at the Hotel Portales - and I've already booked for this year! Hotel is relatively new and quite clean. Staff at front desk were very friendly. The room itself was quite large with a good amount of shelf space in the bathroom for toiletries. The bathroom had a nice mirror for makeup (or shaving) and both a toilet and bidet. The closests have mirrors on the doors and a nice mini refrigerator inside. Room also has 2 wastebaskets (one of my personal "quirks") - one in the bathroom and another in the bedroom. Location of the hotel is very central to sights and the main tapas streets on and around Calle Laurel. It was a little noisy at night but this was specific to the festival and the location of one of the main bandstands which was right behind the hotel with music until 3 a.m. I don't think this would be a factor during a normal week.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    279
    58
    3
    4
See reviews for
77
286
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilhelmina, Sweden
Level Contributor
220 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Nothing special about this hotel but clean, very good location despite the fact that it might be hard to find but thanks to other reviewers, we found our way thru the pedestrian street, which you might think that you can't drive there. The hotel has a very good location for visiting old town with Calle Laurel and the surrounding streets with loads of tapas bars, where you can from one to another, having some of their specialities, some have shellfish, some mushrooms and so on. Great fun and very good food for a moderate cost. The hotel itself isn't something to talk about really but it's alright and not expensive. The breakfast is ok, nothing more, and the hotel has their own parking garage and you get the car in there by a elevator! Don't expect anything special but the hotel is ok for a day or two in Logroño.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ensaimada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Portales Hotel, giving us more than enough time to sample the pintxos delights of Logrono and squeeze in a day trip to Laguardia.

The hotel is located just a minute away from the food highlights - Calle del Laurel and Calle San Juan - very handy!

It's a business-style hotel, so no frills or character, but what is offered is done well. The room itself was spotless, as was the bathroom, which was an absolute pleasure to use. It all felt brand new.

The only negative was our jealousy after seeing the gorgeous floor-to-ceiling panoramic views from rooms on the front of the hotel . The window of our rear-facing room looked out onto the very close neighbouring flats.

Room Tip: Front rooms have the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gjh98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Very clean and modern hotel with great bathrooms. Very good location in central Logrono only a couple of minutes walk from some of the best tapas bars in Spain.
But almost impossible to find by car, needing access down streets which seem to be pedestianised (but aren´t). We spent over an hour looking then parked nearby and went to the hotel on foot to get directions to their car park. Only two other downsides - rooms are not very sound-proof, and the wi-fi in rooms is intermittent though there are two terminals in the lobby for guest use.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCMChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Perhaps you only get what you pay for and the Portales was about 55 Euros a night. It was like a standard British Premier Inn but not as good! The positives: a reasonably comfortable bed/pillow and the location on the nice main street of the old town.

Negatives: staff were offhand, unprofessional and unhelpful (except the cleaning lady). We asked for a room with a view of the mountains on the top floor but even though the hotel wasn't full, we got one lower down with a view of a blank concrete wall about 10 feet away. We were told the rooms were very quiet but the very echoey corridors, thin walls and laminated floors in the rooms meant we were often woken by other guests. We got to breakfast reasonably early but they'd run out of lots of items (croissants, fruits). The shower was only just warm enough. The safe box didn't work.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSongbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

I had been walking the Camino Frances & staying in albergues for over a week when I got to a town close to Logrono & found everything completely full. I took the bus to Logrono from there, then walked around the old quarter looking for a place to stay. Couldn't find anything, so followed the Camino through the old section of town & found Hotel Portales right outside it. I was quoted a price of 70 Euros, which I don't think is a bad price because you will pay more for much less in the US in a town that size. What a wonderful stay! My room was big, by European standards, as was the bathroom. All new & clean--even the mattress. The TV only had one English channel, but I didn't mind. There is free wifi throughout the hotel & if you don't have a computer, there are 2 terminals in the lobby you can use for free! Both of these are *very* rare in Spain, in my experience. There is a breakfast offered, but I didn't use it because I got my own food from the supermarket a few blocks down the street (just ask at reception; IIRC, it's a Mercadona supermarket). It's an easy walk back to the old quarter for a pilgrim's menu dinner at Cafe Moderno, & there are other places to eat around the hotel as well. They also give you information for Telepizza, which is a Spanish pizza chain that delivers to hotels (I also saw Telepizzas in Leon & Burgos), but I don't think they have room service otherwise.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WolverineDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
385 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Very modern hotel situated within the old part of Logrono and ideal for exploring this lovely town. The rooms were immaculate but a little too modern for some tastes and the staff were very helpful. The hotel was incredibly quiet and considering that it was fiesta time this was much appreciated. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Logrono hotels
0.2 km away
NH Logrono Herencia Rioja
1.4 km away
NH Logrono
NH Logrono
#4 of 16 in Logrono
713 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Calle Mayor
Hotel Calle Mayor
#1 of 16 in Logrono
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
F&G Logrono
F&G Logrono
#7 of 16 in Logrono
603 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Marques de Vallejo
0.1 km away
Hotel Condes de Haro
Hotel Condes de Haro
#11 of 16 in Logrono
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Portales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Portales Hotel

Property: Sercotel Portales Hotel
Address: Calle Portales, 85, 26001 Logrono, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > La Rioja > Logrono
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Logrono
#5 Business Hotel in Logrono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sercotel Portales Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sercotel Portales Hotel is located right in the middle of Logroño’s historic centre , next to the ’Camino de Santiago’. Its privileged location on ’Calle Portales’ lets you enjoy the medieval monuments around you. The street also leads straight to the ’Plaza del Mercado’. In our hotel in Logroño gladly inform you of the main attractions of the city. The Sercotel Portales Hotel has 48 warm and welcoming rooms with free wifi internet that will make your stay here just perfect. The rooms are distributed over six floors where you can admire the hotel’s modern and functional décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sercotel Portales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portales Hotel Logroño
Sercotel Portales Hotel Logrono, Spain - La Rioja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing