We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madrid's best boutique hotel?”
Review of Hotel Unico Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Unico Madrid
Ranked #9 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2012

A very well run boutique hotel. Rooms are not the largest, and the internal soundproofing not the best, but everything else was excellent. I stayed in a room overlooking the courtyard - with sufficient double glazing to make sure no sounds disturbed us from the outside.

The room and bathroom were designed well and up to the specification set out on the hotel's website. Lots of different types of rooms, rather than the normal split between standard / superior.

Free wifi, bedside radio, blu ray player - bottled water - all great touches.

A good selection from the cold breakfast buffet, but cheaper and more varied fare is available from many cafes nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keitharrowsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at hotel unico over the easter weekend and the area was quiet quiete. Our room was upgraded to king but it was still small for that price.
the rooms are clean, the hotel is just in the middle of all the shops and couple of good restaurants like ten con ten. the staff was very attentive and friendly.

Room Tip: pick a room looking to the street not a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Begum I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed here for two weeks in December 2011 on a business trip and was here through Christmas.
I had expected the place to be adequate but upon arrival and throughout my (our) stay I was pleasantly surprised that it was more than adequate. The place is very well kept and the staff were very courteous and professional. The room was spacious as well as the bathroom with modern amenities but staying true to it’s historic past. It was nice to be watching my Star Wars Blu-Rays on the flat screen while feeling in a “Victorian” room or taking a hot bubble bath with my girlfriend while listening to nice music over the remote bathroom speakers... Was also a nice touch that Christmas Eve turndown left us a nice bottle of Champagne with various cheese selections.
My girlfriend and I were very pleased with the room, the staff, and the hotel in general.. We will be back.
Nice place.

Room Tip: Courtyard downstairs.. Grab a coffee at the restaurant and take it outside for a smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 34227Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I discovered this "jewel" of a hotel, in a quiet street just off the Calle de Serrano, in Barrio Salamanca - excellent shopping district. Although I stayed single and for just one night, I was given a large room on the 3rd floor, overlooking the garden. The decoration of the hotel, which was originally a private mansion built at the turn of the XXth century, is exquisite - see the library on the ground floor! My room was cream and beige, with a touch of vivid orange. The staff was discreet, efficient and multilingual. I arrived mid-afternoon and was welcomed by a nice cup of tea with biscuits, as courtesy from the management! What a treat! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joupy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Very trendy, stylish hotel where staff is very kind ans corteous. We stayed many times and we are considering going to any other hotel when in Madrid. Rooms are spacious, with light (better get a superior room) with view on the garden. It is quiet, discreet amd very well located. Best shopping and neighborhood in Madrid.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joker37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This is a very chic and sophisticated boutique, luxury hotel. The space is both beautiful and comfortable. The rooms and bathrooms are wonderfully appointed. And the hotel is in a great location on a quiet street in a high-end shopping district. They have a great massage therapist in their wellness center on-site. I highly recommend this hotel and have nothing negative to say!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatherbeckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I recently spent 5 nights at Unico and I highly recommend this hotel! The property is located on a quiet street in the most fashionable shopping district of Madrid. It is quite literally surrounded by the best shops, restaurants, and tapas bars in the city. The hotel is very stylish but comfortable. The downstairs lobby has several comfortable libraries and breakfast is available downstairs in the restaurant. The rooms are modern, stylish and comfortable. My room had French doors that opened on to the inner courtyard. Wifi internet worked effectively.
The best part of the experience were the people who went out of their way to accommodate our requests. Pedro was especially helpful with several items that made my stay even more satisfying and enjoyable. I spend 40 to 50 nights a year in many different hotels in the States and the EU and I rarely recommend one. Take my word for it-this is a great place to spend a week!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackg5450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 438 in Madrid
1,059 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 438 in Madrid
1,119 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#24 of 438 in Madrid
2,030 reviews
Arguelles
Barcelo Torre de Madrid
Barcelo Torre de Madrid
#6 of 438 in Madrid
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Unico Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unico Madrid

Address: Calle Claudio Coello 67, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: $331 - $770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Unico Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our “unique” hotel awaits you right on Madrid’s “Golden Mile”. It is housed in a 19th-century palace which was transformed into this luxurious 44-room boutique hotel a few years ago. Its elegant facade conceals a regal interior architecture with modern rooms that boast high ceilings and large windows. An exclusive spacious yet tranquil inner garden-courtyard, with a pleasant open-air lounge area, gives access to the restaurant Ramón Freixa Madrid which has quickly become a “must” in the city, having been awarded 2 Michelin stars and named “Best Restaurant in Madrid” at the prestigious Madrid Fusión event. Such distinctions honour, exceptional presentation, sophisticated table service, an extensive wine list, and high quality with an ongoing quest for excellence make for a uniquely luxurious “gastro experience” in the Spanish capital. Ramon Freixa also orchestrates Único’s superb signature breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Unico Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing