We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for an overnight at the airport”
Review of Axor Barajas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Axor Barajas Hotel
Ranked #96 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place for an overnight at the airport”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We took the Cercanias train from downtown and should have taken the hotel shuttle from the airport to the hotel because it cost us 20 euros from Terminal 4 to the hotel. Some taxi drivers mix up the Axor Barajas and the Axor Feria, next-door to each other. Reception staff very nice. Beds very comfortable. Don't feel forced to eat in the restaurant. There was "light dinner" available from the bar (served on coffee tables). The best thing was to be able to print boarding passes from a printer in the lobby. The 5AM shuttle left almost exactly on time, and everyone got on. There were even some people who had arranged a 4:30AM shuttle for an early flight. Good comfort, good service, good price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    535
    98
    39
    32
See reviews for
387
397
88
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The hotel is conveniently close to the airport, has a free shuttle (which we reserved when we checked in and the shuttle arrived exactly on time) and a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travita136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We had a 15 hour layover and booked the Axor Barajas. We were coming from Africa (on the cheap) and wanted to splurge a bit on creature comforts before flying back to the US. This hotel turned out to be the perfect choice. Maybe it was just luck, but the airport shuttle arrived just 3 minutes after we arrived at the right spot. The room was spotless and high tech. We walked about 10 minutes to a huge mall where we had dinner at the food court on the top floor, but this was not just any food court. We selected a German restaurant with great service and food at a reasonable price. The stroll was pleasant.

The next morning breakfast was exactly what we wanted and needed, and the shuttle back to the airport was efficient. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I booked this hotel and had to wait for the shuttle for about 1.5 hours. The hotel clerk said there is a shuttle every 30 min but we did not see one at 11pm and we started waiting at 10:40. After 11:20 pm i went inside to call the hotel and when i hot out, my friend said the shuttle came but wouldnt wait even for a few min. For me to get back out from inside.

We got desperate and wanted to then just take a taxi to this airport hotel but found out that it cost 30-40 euros to take the airport taxi to a 5 min away airport hotel because the Madrid airport taxi only go long distance.

So we decided to wait for the shuttle again and finally the midnight one came on time.

As we got to the hotel and complaint about the pickup.....as expected the clerk called the driver and the driver said he was there so I was offered a complaint form to fill out and to mail to the Madrid tourist board.

Summary: axor bajaras hotel has bad shuttke service. Look for another hotel with more frequent shuttle run times and dibt take the Madrid airport taxi because they only run long distance.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosAngelesTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

They claim to 'reserve' spots on the airport shuttle for you, but the shuttle left ten minutes before its appointed time-- without me. When I got downstairs five minutes early to get my shuttle, the receptionist shrugged, giggled, and told me it had already left.

Almost missed my plane due to this hotel, and their attitude about it could not have been more rude and unhelpful.

It's in an awful location too, nearly impossible to get to downtown Madrid from here. Avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank achapman72016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
253 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Clean, modern, efficient. Large rooms, very comfortable bed, very large bathrooms. Restaurant with very good food was an unexpected bonus. Free shuttle to/from airport, just a few minutes away. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank metaligenics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

After reading other tripadvisor reviews, we had some "reservations" about reserving a room here, but found nothing to complain about. Incredibly clean and modern hotel. Desk spoke English. The Family room was so nice we didn't want to leave to see the city! Easily took the free shuttle from the airport to the hotel, and then used it to travel back to the airport to catch a city bus or metro to the city center. In the evening, returning via shuttle was a bit of a wait, and we were happy to have a cell phone along to continue to check on it. I like coffee maker in room, but I'll trade it for the plush decor with white leather sofas and clean white bedding any day! Our Grand-daughter felt so cozy in the drop down murphy bunk. Super clean, very quiet, nice staff, modern and nice hotel. Book your shuttle ride for morning airport at the front desk. Reservations are free, but required. Taxi queue nearby if you don't want to wait. No complaints. This is a good one.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank serendipity100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Airport / Barajas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#135 of 436 in Madrid
1,457 reviews
Maydrit Hotel
#80 of 436 in Madrid
1,364 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Hilton Madrid Airport
Hilton Madrid Airport
#74 of 436 in Madrid
2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nuevo Boston
#287 of 436 in Madrid
1,465 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Tryp Madrid Alameda Aeropuerto Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axor Barajas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axor Barajas Hotel

Property: Axor Barajas Hotel
Address: Calle Campezo 4, 28022 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Axor Barajas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Axor Barajas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing