We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great contemporary hotel”
Review of Axor Barajas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Axor Barajas Hotel
Ranked #94 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Denton, TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great contemporary hotel”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Stayed here on a 22 hour layover in Madrid and found it convenient and comfortable. Love the contemparary decor, as well as the garden bar in the back. We had dinner in the hotel because we were really to tired to venture out. My husband's pork was delicious, my cod was good, but not the best. Breakfast was excellent. The shuttle to and from the airport was a big plus. Highly reccommend it for stop overs. It's a bit far from the city if you're planning on a longer visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    540
    99
    39
    34
See reviews for
396
407
88
278
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
michigan, usa
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed here the night before leaving Madrid after a two week vacation in Spain. A very nice hotel located close to the airport with a shuttle. A large room with a sofa area for sitting, a nice bathroom and a work station. The decor is modern but tasteful. Our bed was king size and very comfortable.

We also were able to take a nearby bus to the metro and then go to the city center. Ask the desk for directions. It took about 45 minutes to get to the city center from the hotel via the bus/metro combination.

If you are in a car like us, there is an underground parking facilityat an extra cost. The hotel is located in an area of office buildings and parking was not available on the street. The rate I chose from the hotel website included a reduced parking fee. There was a scheduled shuttle available to the airport but we did not use it.

All in all a very nice hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My fiancee and me stayed here during a trip to Madrid as our flight was arriving late in the evening and we didn't fancy the trip into the city centre until the next morning. The hotel was good value and is refreshingly different from the main chains, with a quirky design to the rooms and communal area. Good facilities such as free wi-fi and some communal laptops, there's also a restaurant (which is a bit overpriced) and a bar. There's a free 5min bus shuttle to and from the terminals.

Not really ideal if you're looking to visit Madrid for several days as the airport is a little too far out the city centre to be convenient, but as somewhere to crash near the airport this is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylop9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I've been travelling for business for more than 10 years, so I've been to many hotels especially all around Europe. Axor Barajas is by far the best hotel I've ever stayed for business reasons. Cleanliness, style, service, facilities, price and rooms are "perfect". It's not the center of the city hotel, so it takes you a taxi to go down town, but I think that's very ok. Shuttle bus service from/to the airport is already a savor for your innercity travels. Breakfast and ingredients, bar, lunch/dinner options are very satisfactory. One down side (which is given in Spain) is that hardly anyone except for the receptionists speak English. Depending on the season they also have an open area where you can dine and/or enjoy the bar service to relax.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaansalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington NC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I stayed here the nite before my return trip to the States after a ten day vacation and was thoroughly impressed. Beautiful contemporary hotel- and very convenient to the airport as well as having the conveninece of a hotel shuttle which was prompt and clean. The rooms were spotless - only wish there had been a coffeemaker in the room and some washclothes. Loved the decor and the additonal lounge areas. . The lobby was nice for having a drink prior to dining in the restaurant which had food as good as I have had in Madrid - perfectly cooked and well presented. The entire staff there and at the hotel were very friendly and very accomodating. I definitely would suggest staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeasideDsgnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chile
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

nice modern new hotel near airport ,loved everything if you are a family has choices of triple and cuad perfect rooms.cannot ask for more for a one night stop over at madrid ,amazing value

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welltraveledA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Airport / Barajas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#141 of 435 in Madrid
1,475 reviews
Maydrit Hotel
#87 of 435 in Madrid
1,388 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Hilton Madrid Airport
Hilton Madrid Airport
#73 of 435 in Madrid
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport / Barajas
Tryp Madrid Alameda Aeropuerto Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axor Barajas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axor Barajas Hotel

Property: Axor Barajas Hotel
Address: Calle Campezo 4, 28022 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Axor Barajas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Axor Barajas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing