We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Petit Palace Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Reviews (1,433)
Filter reviews
1,433 results
Traveller rating
820
499
79
24
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
820
499
79
24
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalonso martinez metro stationjazz clubgreat locationfree laptopbunk bedsplenty of bars and restaurantsfamily roomminute walkinternal courtyardhuge bathroomsmall windowlovely hotelup to dateour room was spaciousmetro stopwalking distancegood size
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
534 - 539 of 1,433 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed at the Petit Palace for a long weekend and really enjoyed it. The hotel was clean, comfortable and stylish. The staff were very professional and accommodating; I had a few extra requests and arrangements, as it was a birthday trip, that were dealt with efficiently.
The room was a reasonable size and the bathroom was large with a great shower. Breakfast was good, it was not a massive selection but certainly adequate including all the items you would expect, cheese, ham, fresh breads and pastries and the staff were very pleasant.
The free internet and laptop in the room was really helpful and I wish more hotels did this.
There were quite a few nice bars and restaurants nearby and it is less than a minute away from the Metro.
I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillberte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your positive comments about our hotel!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would more than happy to see you again in the hotel should you decide to come back to Madrid.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager
Hotel Petit Palace Santa Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This is a fairly new property located in the city center.
Efficient checkin. Though I reached past mid-night the staff on duty spoke fairly good english.

Internet is included in the room rent- but I had huge issues with signal in the room.

They have a Sony Vaio in the room- Had to use that to catch up on stuff.

The view on the side rooms is quite bad- It kind of opens in the side lane and overlooks the trash can.

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel which has huge crowd till early mornings- lot of noise- At least in my room, could hear the sound hums.

Room Tip: Choose rooms overlooking the center courtyard.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingcoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Overall, this is a very sweet and cute hotel. Super clean, "hiply" decorated. We would stay there again but would make sure to do a few things:
1) Make sure to confirm, reconfirm, and reconfirm again if you want a non-smoking room and/or one bed versus two twin beds. When we arrived, even though I had made a reservation for a non-smoking room we were given a smoking room. It smelled horrible. I called reception immediately and the receptionist said all they could offer us was a non-smoking room with two twin beds. Not ideal for us - a youngish couple taking our one holiday of the year together. We went back and forth with the receptionist a few times and she said she could move us to a non-smoking room with one large bed the following day. We had to suffer in the smoking room for the night. Not the worst experience ever but not fun or relaxing either.
2) Request a room overlooking the Plaza. Our room looked into the courtyard and it was loud and not very quaint. We would have preferred one of the pretty rooms overlooking the charming Plaza.

The first room we had was small. I could fit my elbows in between the walls and toilet paper holder when I was on the toilet! (Note: I am 5'7'' and normal sized; not super tall or fat.) The room they moved us into had a much more well-designed bathroom with adequate room to sit on the toilet. :)

Breakfast was good. Worth the 9 euros. But a better option is going around the corner to Mama Framboise, a sweet French-inspired cafe with wonderful croissants.

Wifi worked well. Decent television channels options (only English ones were BBC and CNBC-Europe and one other news station but that was fine. You're not in Madrid to watch television!)

We used the free bicycles and that was a treat! We rode all over the city and the baskets were helpful for our bags and jackets. Free bicycles was a hotel highlight.

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking the Plaza!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexfi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Director General at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Dear guests,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us in Tripadvisor.
I would just like to clear up a few points regarding your comments.
It is hotel policy to not confirm to guests the type of bedding, and also not possible to reserve this previously. We prefere not to confirm this because aproximately 80% of the hotel has twin beds, and unfortunately, we cannot promise double beds because in quite a lot of times we have a lot of demand and its not possible to to please all guests especially when the hotel is fully booked. All wishes for double beds are "on request" .
We try to make sure that all rooms where smoking is permitted are perfectly ventilated and cleaned between stays, because, in many ocasion, especially when the hotel is full, we really dont have much option other than to asign these room types to clients who have requested non-smoking rooms. Im sorry this wasnt the case in your room and we will be doing out best to improve this in the future.
I believe that the first room that you had been assigned, was in fact a smoking room but had a double bed. In this case we had tried to at least comply with one of your requests.
Request for rooms overlooking the plaza are also on request, as you can imagen, they are also in very high demand.
Im sorry that you found the bathroom to be too small, but again, I must mention that all bathrooms in the hotel comply with the size requirements that the Madrid Council sets for 4* hotels.
Im glad you enjoyed our bikes and the rest of our services and hope that if you ever return to the hotel we are able to make sure that you recieve everything that you have previously requested!
Please dont hesitate to contact me if I can help you with any other issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

the hotel is located on a charling "plaza" right next to a subway sation (alfonso martinez => very easy to go to the airport by public transportation in 40 minutes max).
The hotel is brand new, the room was very clean and spacious, as well as the bathroom.

It is a very animated district and you will find coffees and cerveceriaright outside the hotel (very nice with late check in).
The location is just awesome : not right in the middle of the city jungle but you can walk to all the main sighseeings.
I highly recommend the hotel. and you can get great rates on the internet.

(while booking your room, you should underline kingsize bed and not twins if you travel as a couple. We had to cope with twin beds the first night).

Room Tip: ask for kingsize bed if couples
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aggie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Director General at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Dear guests,
Thank you, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Effectively, the hotel has an ideal location, not right in the middle of the city but within 15 minutes walking distance. The plaza is a great place for eating or drinks, even now in winter most of the out door tables are full.
Im sorry we were not able to assign you a room with a double bed, unfortunately we do not confirm this request because at some times, especially when the hotel is full, and there is a high demand for king size beds and its simple just not posible to please all guests.
We do hope you will return to stay with us sometime and hope that in this case we will be able to comply with all your requests.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel in a quadruple room, 2 adults and 2 children.The room really exceeded expectations. Very spacious, which is a real advantage when 4 people are staying in one room, nice and comfortable bed, simple and modern decoration, with all comforts one can ask for, even a laptop connected to the Internet, as many people have already mentioned below. The bathroom was huge and very nicely equipped and taking a shower was a real pleasure (unlike in many other, even 5-star, hotels).
The staff was very nice and smiling all the time. The room was also very quiet, we could not hear any disturbing noises from other rooms around. Its location was great, very close to a central metro station. Only negative comment is that we would have like some more closet space, but this is minor compared to all other advantages.
All in all, a great experience. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greek_Traveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Director General at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your generous comments about our hotel.
We are glad you found the room to be spacious and comfortable. Im sorry about the lack of closet space, we will be taking this into consideration for possible future improvements.
We hope to see you again soon in Petit Palace Santa Barbara.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews