We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bathroom smelled very bad” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petit Palace Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Petit Palace Santa Barbara
Ranked #33 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
SW USA
Level Contributor
258 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Bathroom smelled very bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

The good: nice staff, great location, pretty exterior, nice. modern decor, free wifi, free computer with ethernet in room. Metro station is right there, easy connection from the airport. Take metro at airport to Ministerios, transfer then to 10 and get off at second stop (Alonso Martinez) which is where hotel is at. Great place to eat/drink is Gran Cafe Santander, kitty corner from the hotel, another great old fashioned Madrid bar is El Barrio which is one block away. Ask for interior room and it is very quiet. Must ask for nonsmoking room if you want one.
The bad: the bathroom smelled really bad, like sewage. Told the maid and she sprayed aerosol which did not help. Told front desk and they said they would take care of it but did not. Had to keep bathroom door closed, it was really awful, too bad for a new, supposedly 4 star hotel. Maybe not all rooms are like this but ours (419) was. The bed was extremely hard. With all the hotels in Madrid (we go to Madrid every 2 years or so to visit family) I would NOT stay here again.

Room Tip: Get interior, nonsmoking with no bathroom stink as in our room it was overwhelming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelNowSwUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Dear Guests,
I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to write about us on Tripadvisor.
I am glad you enjoyed most aspects of the hotel, room and services we provide.
Regarding the bad smell in the bathroom, please accept our appologies for this. We have recently detected a problem with plumbing instalation, and effectively, some rooms have had a bad smell in the bathroom.
The good new is, that we are currently revising every room in the hotel and correcting this problem, to make sure that all the rooms are in perfect conditions.
I am very sorry that this affected your stay, and we would be more than willing to offer you a discount on the invoice you paid on your check out as compensation. Please contact me direclty if you would like to organise this (dtorsba@hthoteles.com).
Best regards,
Rebecca Evans
Manager
Hotel Petit Palace Santa Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    397
    64
    20
    9
See reviews for
316
381
34
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed at the Petit Palace for a long weekend and really enjoyed it. The hotel was clean, comfortable and stylish. The staff were very professional and accommodating; I had a few extra requests and arrangements, as it was a birthday trip, that were dealt with efficiently.
The room was a reasonable size and the bathroom was large with a great shower. Breakfast was good, it was not a massive selection but certainly adequate including all the items you would expect, cheese, ham, fresh breads and pastries and the staff were very pleasant.
The free internet and laptop in the room was really helpful and I wish more hotels did this.
There were quite a few nice bars and restaurants nearby and it is less than a minute away from the Metro.
I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillberte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Gerente at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your positive comments about our hotel!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would more than happy to see you again in the hotel should you decide to come back to Madrid.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager
Hotel Petit Palace Santa Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

This is a fairly new property located in the city center.
Efficient checkin. Though I reached past mid-night the staff on duty spoke fairly good english.

Internet is included in the room rent- but I had huge issues with signal in the room.

They have a Sony Vaio in the room- Had to use that to catch up on stuff.

The view on the side rooms is quite bad- It kind of opens in the side lane and overlooks the trash can.

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel which has huge crowd till early mornings- lot of noise- At least in my room, could hear the sound hums.

Room Tip: Choose rooms overlooking the center courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingcoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Overall, this is a very sweet and cute hotel. Super clean, "hiply" decorated. We would stay there again but would make sure to do a few things:
1) Make sure to confirm, reconfirm, and reconfirm again if you want a non-smoking room and/or one bed versus two twin beds. When we arrived, even though I had made a reservation for a non-smoking room we were given a smoking room. It smelled horrible. I called reception immediately and the receptionist said all they could offer us was a non-smoking room with two twin beds. Not ideal for us - a youngish couple taking our one holiday of the year together. We went back and forth with the receptionist a few times and she said she could move us to a non-smoking room with one large bed the following day. We had to suffer in the smoking room for the night. Not the worst experience ever but not fun or relaxing either.
2) Request a room overlooking the Plaza. Our room looked into the courtyard and it was loud and not very quaint. We would have preferred one of the pretty rooms overlooking the charming Plaza.

The first room we had was small. I could fit my elbows in between the walls and toilet paper holder when I was on the toilet! (Note: I am 5'7'' and normal sized; not super tall or fat.) The room they moved us into had a much more well-designed bathroom with adequate room to sit on the toilet. :)

Breakfast was good. Worth the 9 euros. But a better option is going around the corner to Mama Framboise, a sweet French-inspired cafe with wonderful croissants.

Wifi worked well. Decent television channels options (only English ones were BBC and CNBC-Europe and one other news station but that was fine. You're not in Madrid to watch television!)

We used the free bicycles and that was a treat! We rode all over the city and the baskets were helpful for our bags and jackets. Free bicycles was a hotel highlight.

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking the Plaza!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexfi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Director General at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear guests,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us in Tripadvisor.
I would just like to clear up a few points regarding your comments.
It is hotel policy to not confirm to guests the type of bedding, and also not possible to reserve this previously. We prefere not to confirm this because aproximately 80% of the hotel has twin beds, and unfortunately, we cannot promise double beds because in quite a lot of times we have a lot of demand and its not possible to to please all guests especially when the hotel is fully booked. All wishes for double beds are "on request" .
We try to make sure that all rooms where smoking is permitted are perfectly ventilated and cleaned between stays, because, in many ocasion, especially when the hotel is full, we really dont have much option other than to asign these room types to clients who have requested non-smoking rooms. Im sorry this wasnt the case in your room and we will be doing out best to improve this in the future.
I believe that the first room that you had been assigned, was in fact a smoking room but had a double bed. In this case we had tried to at least comply with one of your requests.
Request for rooms overlooking the plaza are also on request, as you can imagen, they are also in very high demand.
Im sorry that you found the bathroom to be too small, but again, I must mention that all bathrooms in the hotel comply with the size requirements that the Madrid Council sets for 4* hotels.
Im glad you enjoyed our bikes and the rest of our services and hope that if you ever return to the hotel we are able to make sure that you recieve everything that you have previously requested!
Please dont hesitate to contact me if I can help you with any other issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

the hotel is located on a charling "plaza" right next to a subway sation (alfonso martinez => very easy to go to the airport by public transportation in 40 minutes max).
The hotel is brand new, the room was very clean and spacious, as well as the bathroom.

It is a very animated district and you will find coffees and cerveceriaright outside the hotel (very nice with late check in).
The location is just awesome : not right in the middle of the city jungle but you can walk to all the main sighseeings.
I highly recommend the hotel. and you can get great rates on the internet.

(while booking your room, you should underline kingsize bed and not twins if you travel as a couple. We had to cope with twin beds the first night).

Room Tip: ask for kingsize bed if couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aggie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Director General at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear guests,
Thank you, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Effectively, the hotel has an ideal location, not right in the middle of the city but within 15 minutes walking distance. The plaza is a great place for eating or drinks, even now in winter most of the out door tables are full.
Im sorry we were not able to assign you a room with a double bed, unfortunately we do not confirm this request because at some times, especially when the hotel is full, and there is a high demand for king size beds and its simple just not posible to please all guests.
We do hope you will return to stay with us sometime and hope that in this case we will be able to comply with all your requests.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel in a quadruple room, 2 adults and 2 children.The room really exceeded expectations. Very spacious, which is a real advantage when 4 people are staying in one room, nice and comfortable bed, simple and modern decoration, with all comforts one can ask for, even a laptop connected to the Internet, as many people have already mentioned below. The bathroom was huge and very nicely equipped and taking a shower was a real pleasure (unlike in many other, even 5-star, hotels).
The staff was very nice and smiling all the time. The room was also very quiet, we could not hear any disturbing noises from other rooms around. Its location was great, very close to a central metro station. Only negative comment is that we would have like some more closet space, but this is minor compared to all other advantages.
All in all, a great experience. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greek_Traveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Director General at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your generous comments about our hotel.
We are glad you found the room to be spacious and comfortable. Im sorry about the lack of closet space, we will be taking this into consideration for possible future improvements.
We hope to see you again soon in Petit Palace Santa Barbara.
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Great location, great deals right now and a great hi tec feel with essential free wi-fi and own room lap top use in a brand new modern interior. Very chic!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleyHowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSBA, Director General at Petit Palace Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your nice recomendation!
We hope you will choose us again for your next visit to Madrid!
Best regards
Rebecca Evans
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Lealtad Plaza
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Chueca
URSO Hotel & Spa
URSO Hotel & Spa
#23 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Santa Barbara

Property: Petit Palace Santa Barbara
Address: Plaza Santa Barbara 10, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#30 Family Hotel in Madrid
#33 Business Hotel in Madrid
#47 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Santa Barbara 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Petit Palace Santa Barbara, plus four stars, is located in the Plaza de Santa Barbara in the impressive Alonso Martinez area between “Genoa” and “Sagasta” streets and just a few steps away from the popular Gran Via, the lively neighbourhood of “Chueca” and “Plaza de Cibeles” in an area where many cinemas, restaurants, terraces, cafes and shops can be enjoyed. Located in the “Plaza de Santa Barbara” which has a lovely tree-lined boulevard, where bars set up their sidewalk tables in spring and summer, making it one of the liveliest “tapas” areas in Madrid. In the square, you'll also see the attractive classical French style Villagonzalo Palace and the unusual Casa de los Lagartos (House of Lizards), named after the stone carved lizards that decorate its upper storey. Nearby are also the most important business areas such as the “Paseo de la Castellana”, “Plaza Colon” and the National Courthouse of Madrid. This centrally located hotel is the ideal starting point for those who want to discover the main attractions of the city, including those wishing to relax in a hotel equipped with modern luxury facilities. Thanks to its unbeatable location, most of the major tourist attractions and monuments can be reached easily and comfortably by foot; such as the emblematic Puerta del Sol, the Royal Palace and Plaza Mayor. This boutique hotel, ideal for both tourists and business travellers, has been totally refurbished with the latest designer furniture and mod cons, while retaining its classic structure and emblematic facade. In the same building is the mythical "Junco" is found, which is one of the oldest known jazz clubs in Madrid. The famous Alfil and Maravillas Theatres are found close. The hotel has 82 magnificent rooms and 1 completely equipped apartment with kitchen include. The rooms are decorated with modern furniture which ensures for guests that nothing is missing during their stay there. All of them have free WIFI , hydro-massage showers and free safety boxes with capacity for laptops. We have also XXL rooms designed for "larger" people (with beds which are wider and longer than usual, high windows, doors and showers). The hotel has both a meeting room and some rooms which are convertible in small meeting or exhibition rooms.In the restaurant of the Hotel Petit Palace Santa Barbara offers a delicious buffet breakfast every morning consisting of a wide selection of products and dishes so that guests can start the day with the necessary energy. The hotel offers a unique free bike rental for guests and accepts pets (bedding and feeding bowls are available free of charge) and amongst many facilities and services offered by the hotel you may find; laundry service, free daily newspaper, room service (limited hours) fax and copying services, 24 hour reception desk and in room tea and coffee facilities (on request). The staff is professional and knowledgeable in the area, and can provide you with any kind of information about tours, dining, shopping and areas of interest. Do not hesitate to contact us with your special requests (honeymoon, type of bed), we will do everything possible to ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Petit Palace Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Santa Barbara Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing