We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excelent rooms, need more?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Ranked #30 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We have stayed 4 nights there in our vacation trip. The location is superbe, near Plaza de Santa Anna, a nice place to eat and drink all nights. Madrid is a city that never stops. You can easily walk to most turistic sites. Or take a metro in Puerta del Sol, just 5 minutes walk. The rooms have great size, good bed and are silent. The bathroom is quiet good also - Bulgary amenities. The breakfast is excelent. The staff is young and very polite, We love it. Excelent place to stay in Madrid, not cheap, but worth the money. Free wifi is a good policy also. I highly recomend the hotel.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank Rodrigo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
There are newer reviews for NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

This 5* hotel has a lovely quiet ambience and is very well, and centrally, located. The check in was both friendly and efficient. We were asked if we would like to upgrade to a superior room on the 5th floor for an additional €27 per night, which we did. As other guests have noted, the superior rooms only have Velux roof windows and consequently don't have much of a view, but apart from that they are very characterful rooms with sloping timber ceilings, lovely beds and expensive fixtures and fittings.

The first night (Saturday) we didn't get much sleep until about 4.00 am due to the racket from the square (partying) and the noise of police cars screaming about - hardly the fault of the hotel, but nonetheless to be borne in mind if sleep is important. By contrast, Sunday night was blissfully quiet.

The breakfast food was excellent, but some of the waitresses could have been a bit more friendly. A great choice of food too.

We ate at a nearby french restaurant on Saturday night - Casinas - No 4 on tripadvisor, which I would highly recommend. It's only a 400m walk.

By way of contrast, we had dinner at the hotel on Sunday night and it was very disappointing. We had booked a table at the De Tepa Restaurant - as opposed to the Tapas Bar, but it seems that the two have been merged.

We had tapas (which were supposed to be excellent). We found the choice very poor, and found each dish absolutely tastetless - most disappointing. The worst we have had in years - and expensive enough too. I'd venture out to a local restaurant (after checking tripadvisor).

Check out was equally efficient and friendly - we were given a later check out and we especially liked the free minibar which was part of our deal.

A special mention to Javier Garcia, the concierge, who was especially pleasant and helpful throughout our stay.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would stay again, but I'd personally steer clear of the tapas bar.

Room Tip: I don't think I'd like one of the standard rooms overlooking the main road - I guess they co...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank CIARB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The location of this hotel is perfect. Everything is within walking distance. The nearby plaza Santa Ana is full of great restaurants and nightlife. Still, we never heard a peep at night from our location. The front staff were all friendly and most spoke English well. One lady, who was taller and wore glasses spoke about four different languages and was extremely professional, friendly and is a great asset to the hotel.

The only problem we had was at check in. We arrived at 11:00 AM and they said the room was not ready yet. No problem. Understandable, we're kind of early. When is check in? 3:00 p.m. Ok. Please try to see if you can get it ready before then if possible, otherwise we'll be back at 3:00. Back at 3:00 and still not ready. Waited in the lobby. By 4:00 we had to start complaining. at 4:30, to their credit, we were upgraded to a jr. Suite. Not sure exactly what happened, but after a long flight from the States, that wasn't a good first impression. The room was nice, but the bed was ROCK hard and my back was broken for a few days. Also, the water was not hot for long after my Dad went first.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank JoeG1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

You'll certainly like this hotel as it is centrally located, the staff is awsome and very attentive, the breakfasts are delicious, you can visit gym at any time, you may enjoy free wi-fi 24 hours in your room and there you have also tea and coffe facilities, renewed every day! Definitely reccommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This hotel really does have it all. It's not over the top fancy, but for travelers looking for comfortable rooms, good service & amenities, and location, NH Palacio de Tepa is a big winner.

We got a pre-paid rate of $175 through priceline, and were able to upgrade to a superior room for 25 Euro. It's the rooms with the vaulted wood ceiling in a lot of photos on their website. It's the largest room we've ever had in Europe (which isn't saying much) but really was spacious. There was a big closet, large bathroom with a big counter top for all of our stuff, and hot water was no issue. We were able to access the WIFI as well without any problems in our room.

We didn't eat breakfast at the buffet, not did we use the spa/gym. The concierge was around for some reason whenever we wanted advice, but the front desk was able to make recommendations and reservations for us. They were good at reservations, and just ok on recommending dinner. Stick with the TA recs.

Location is really the best thing about this hotel. It cannot be beat. Across the street from lovely Plaza Santa Ana, where we ate some of our best meals. 3 blocks from Puerta del Sol. Halfway between the Royal Palace and the museum district, which were both within walking distance. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone, especially travelers like us, who don't spend a lot of time in the hotel. It was spacious, clean, modern, and convenient. And, we didn't feel like we were paying for a bunch of services and amenities that we weren't going to use anyway. Stay here, and you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Superior room are on the 5th floor and were very quiet. The street below was lively until late, so...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasTripper34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Great hotel for a business user or a tourist not looking for 5 star luxury, historic building renovated and turned into a modern hotel. Located right next to a nice square and loads of characterful bars and restaurants.

The rooms vary greatly in style as its an old building, some rooms have NO windows, which can be good or bad depending on what you want. One room I had had a tiny bathroom....

Modern slightly functional feel may not be to everyones taste but it suited me fine.

Breakfast is self service, nothing phenomenal and a very uninteresting breakfast room. I'm a business traveller so I'm easily pleased but if you are on a leisure break and looking for upmarket service and a leisurely breakfast in nice surroundings then the plain breakfast room and self service buffet may disappoint you.

Only problem I have had in 3 visits is that they don't have feather pillows, just foam ones, and I don't like foam pillows...

Excellent front desk staff.

If you want a quiet room this hotel is a good choice because you can request one of the internal rooms with no windows. Very quiet!

Room Tip: The Internal rooms have no windows at all so are good for a quiet sleep.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zowiebowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Very well placed, confort and with a nice service. I certanly would be back if I have to return to Madrid.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles
Thank AlbertoJasmim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Paseo del Prado
NH Collection Madrid Suecia
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#7 of 438 in Madrid
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#24 of 438 in Madrid
1,976 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#38 of 438 in Madrid
1,778 reviews
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Palacio de Tepa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Palacio de Tepa

Address: San Sebastian, 2 | Barrio de Las Letras, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#14 Business Hotel in Madrid
#16 Family Hotel in Madrid
#24 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $233 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Palacio de Tepa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 19th century palace located in Madrid's Las Letras district, the NH Collection Palacio de Tepa is surrounded by history and romance. Just a five-minute walk away, the famous Plaza Mayor and next to Plaza Santa Ana enchant tourists and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Collection Palacio de Tepa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Palacio De Tepa Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing