We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 times and not out..but very in!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Carlos V
Ranked #223 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My first experience with Madrid Hotels was in Oct, 2011(1 night) Axior, by the airport and it was new, impersonal and just barely resonably priced then in the month of April, 2012, I stayed 3 times in Madrid at BW Carlos V. A great place for location, price, buffet breakfast, staff/personal contacts and have only one comment out of the many positive ones. If you are a light sleeper try to be placed elsewhere than a front room. As charming as they may be, early morning deliveries and very late trash pick up can cause noise. Interior rooms are just better for less noise and bigger bathrooms. Room 209,(1 night) 307(1 night) were mine and just fine for me but I can sleep through almost anything...Many cannot. the bathrooms were also small and could be a problem for 2 trying to use at the same time. Room 118 (1 night) was used as a triple and very superior to many we have had in Europe, comfortable beds, decent pillows, good linens, large bathroom. Emmanuel, Anthony(front staff) were great helps.Alex and the rest of the bar/buffet staff were equally as helpful. This is a clean, comfortable client oriented hotel in a great location to Puerto del Sol,lovely public rooms, convenient shuttle to/from airport(10.80 euros)internet and printer available and if I am lucky enough to get to Madrid again in my life time I will again call it home.Three other members of my family will be going to MAD this spring/summer and will take my advise.
Thank for listening/reading/scrutinizing...

Room Tip: Try for a back/interior room..You will only be there to sleep. they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amer_can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Dear amer_can.
Thank you very much for sharing your comments with the community. It's great to know you have enjoyed your 3 stays with us, it is pour main goal to try and keep an excellent level of guest satisfaction. I hope we are lucky enouh to have you back with us in the future and we'll be rally glad if the 3 members of your familly finally decide to take your advise. Please do not hesitate to let us know by email.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

My friend and I stayed here for two nights in April 2012, could not beleive just how close it was to sol!! Fantastic shops on your doorstep, entertainment in the square itself, and very central to other attractions, our room was quite basic but immaculately clean and the bed was super comfy (bedding was also good quality :) would highly reccomend and definately stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Little-miss-q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Dear Little-miss-q
Thank you for your oppinions and reccomendation, we'll be glad to see you back in Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and found it to be very good, the location is excellent as its right in the centre of Peurto Del Sol and really easy to find. The hotel is really friendly and the staff made us feel welcome. We had a roof terrace room which is of average size, nice clean bathroom and good facilities - mini bar in the room was good value however we did find that it was not re filled and therefore had to go and buy more water. Bathroom had a full bath and very powerful shower, toilettries are provided and nice fluffy towels. The bed was quite comfortable and for someone who suffers from Insomnia I did have 3 night of pretty good sleep. The breakfast is buffet style, plenty of choice with 4 different fruit juices, fresh fruit, cold meats and cheese and yoghurts, hot bacon, scambled eggs, and 3/4 different type of sausages, good selection of breads and cakes, nice tea and coffee. Hotel offers a Happy Hour between 5pm and 7pm Monday to friday so good value in the bar. Surrounding area is really good plent going on and not far to walk to Plaza Mayor and other attractions, plenty of good bars and restaurants. Even though the hotel is very central the rooms are very quiet and noise was not a problem. I would certainly stay in this hotel again and would recommend to anyone visiting this beautiful city

Room Tip: Terrace rooms are nice if you get nice weather as you can sit out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Shirbaz
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It's really great to know we helped you fight your imsomnia, I wonder if the terrace with views to Madrid rooftops helped :) We will be glad to receive you back home your next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Spent 4 nights at the Carlos V and can thoroughly recommend it.

The location is brilliant - very close to the centre and within walking distance of the museums, plaza major, etc. Although central, it is located on a pedestrianised street so no traffic noise.

Our room was fine though beds slightly hard for our taste. All was perfectly clean and we had everything we needed.

Bonus was that there was free internet access via hotel's computer. This was very helpful to us in reorganising our arrangements owing to the General Strike (which did not trouble us by the way).

Breakfast was fine with plenty of choice and the dining room attractive. Could be improved by having some ready prepared fresh fruit available,.

We booked through Easyjet and obtained a very competitive price for a central city location.

Staff were efficient and helpful. Overall can thoroughly recommend this hotel for a city break.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jacksgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear jacksgrandma
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with the community. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay and you will recommend us :)
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Great hotel, great location. It was clean, good breakfast and quiet (despite being right in the centre). Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lkfrncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear lkfrncs
Thank you for your feedback, it's great to know we contributed to your great trip, it will be nice to have you back among us your next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The hotel staff are incredible and the breakfast good. I wish I didn't put up with 2 squeaky beds for 3 nights because each time we moved our sleep was interrupted, so woke several times through the night! This was a huge downfall for us. Next time I will speak up. When I mentioned it to the cleaner, she was aware of the problem so that tells me other staff/ owners are aware and still book guests in, not good enough. I also note that although the beds were made each day, there was a stain on the bed cover which was kinda yuk and the toilet was not cleaned or if it was it was not done properly. I would not stay again or recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely keep away from the front rooms because although cars do not commute through the street, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aucks67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear Aucks67
Let me first of all thank yo ufor sharing your valuable feedback with the community.
I am sorry you could not enjoy your stay due to the squeaky beds in your room. You may not beleive me, but we just received new ones last week to change those that were not 'working' properly. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you decide to give us another chance to serve you and try one of those new beds!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

If you want a city centre hotel, this has everything. Spotlessly clean, staff speak good English and fall over themselves to help. Most tourist attractions are within walking distance - 10 mins to the Royal Palace, 15 mins to the Prado museum. The hotel does not do dinners, but the breakfasts are excellent, and there are loads of restaurants and bars in nearby streets. The hotel can also arrange a shuttle service to and from the airport - 10 euros per person each trip. Taxis from the airport are about 40 euros with supplement for baggage.

However, be aware that Madrid is a late-night city which comes alive at about 10.00 pm and carries on way into the early hours. There is lots of noise from revellers enjoying themselves, great if you are part of it, but if you like your 8 hours sleep make sure you get a room away from the street - an interior room

If you want a change from Madrid one day, take a train trip to Toledo. The AVE fast train takes 30 minutes and a return ticket is about 18 euros. Make sure you book as the train is often full does not allow standing passengers. A day in Toledo either visiting the historic sites or just wandering round the city, is a wonderful extra to a trip to Madrid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davrobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear Davrobs
Thank you for sharing your comments, it's greart to know you enjoyed your stay despite the stret noise. We will be glad to welcome you back your next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Best Western Hotel Los Condes
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#64 of 437 in Madrid
1,743 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#46 of 437 in Madrid
2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#82 of 437 in Madrid
1,160 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#51 of 437 in Madrid
3,080 reviews
Centro
Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carlos V

Address: Calle Maestro Victoria 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in Madrid
#138 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $208 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Carlos V 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carlos v Hotel Madrid
Best Western Hotel Madrid
Best Western Madrid
Madrid Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing