We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,064)
Filter reviews
2,064 results
Traveller rating
1,397
409
146
58
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,397
409
146
58
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews goya restaurant mandarin oriental prado museum grand dame old world elegance concierge staff classic hotel beautiful hotel beautiful room deluxe room public areas a wonderful stay tapas breakfast buffet the location is perfect reina sofia luxury
Filter
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 2,064 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2017

If you are in Madrid for the museums, I can't imagine a better location than the Ritz (unless it's the Palace across the street). It's right next door to the Prado and within easy walking distance to the Reina Sofia, the Tyssen, Botanical Gardens and El Retiro. A bit further are Plaza del Sol and Plaza Mayor. The rooms, both public and private, are charming and extremely old-fashioned, so if you want modern conveniences, the Ritz isn't for you. My room appeared to be unchanged from a century ago, but except for old carpeting, the complete lack of drawer space and limited counter space in the bathroom, it was charming. The plumbing and electricity were fine and the sheets were linen, and everything was clean. The staff here is excellent, as is the food.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank hopeanderson09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Duty Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2017

Dear hopeanderson09,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you for staying with us! We really appreciate your great comments about location, food and staff.

My apologies if the room was not up to your expectations. We do have 162 different rooms and each one is unique in size, shape and decoration. Upon your next visit, we will be glad to show you other options until your complete satisfaction.

Kindest regards,

Alejandro Alegre.
Duty Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2017

Nothing beats the service at the Ritz in Madrid.
The carpets should be changed, and the rooms could be remodeled, but even if they don't do it, I will always come back. The service is simply perfect: not too much fussing over you, but anticipating all your needs. My husband came down with a cold, they sent him a special tea, and then the hotel manager called to ask if he could do anything for us. Loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ariela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Duty Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Dear Ariela K,

Thank you for your comments and for choosing us during your last trip to Madrid. We are glad that the service was up to your expectations. My apologies if the room was not up to your expectations. We do have 162 different rooms and each one is unique in size, shape and decoration. Upon your next visit, we will be glad to show you other options until your complete satisfaction.

All the team will be delighted to welcome you back at your home in Madrid!

Kindest regards,

Alejandro Alegre.
Duty Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2017 via mobile

it is a truelly Historic Hotel and therefore offers nice breakfast facility, afternoon tea, signature Restaurant, nice Rooms. staff is friendly nur many Little miserables Happen: Keys are misplaced, spa appointments are jammed etc. Spa and Gym are small and there is no Swimmingpool. Of rewamped it Could be a Landmark again.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Hofstaetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Duty Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Dear Hofstaetter,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you very much for choosing Hotel Ritz during your recent stay in town. Thank you as well for your comments about our service, breakfast facility, afternoon tea, restaurant and rooms. My apologies if the Spa and Gym were not up to your expectations. Upon your next visit, we will be glad to help you to arrange appointments and make sure you have a wonderful stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Hotel Ritz Madrid!

Regards,

Alejandro Alegre.
Duty Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2017

5 Stars Service
Great Hotel and very elegant. Excellent service and wonderful staff.
The location of the hotel is wonderful. You can walk to all the great stores, Prada Museum and much more.
Ee hired a Ritz private driver with Benz S550 to show us Madrid and it was wonderful.
Wonderful concierge service and the breakfast included is the way to go. We can't wait to go back again and enjoy a 5 Stars service again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Racocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Duty Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2017

Dear Racocean,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you very much for choosing Hotel Ritz during your recent stay in town. Thank you as well for your great comments about our staff, location, private car services and specially our Concierge team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Hotel Ritz Madrid!

Kindest regards,

Alejandro Alegre.
Duty Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2017 via mobile

The Ritz is a very luxurious hotel situated in the centre of Madrid with many major tourist attractions within easy walking distance. The rooms are spotless and spacious with everything you could wish for with the exception of tea and coffee making facilities which was a great disappointment as ordering hot drinks or hot water from room service was an unnecessary hassle. The decor of the hotel is sumptuous and the flower arrangements absolutely stunning. My only criticism of furnishings and fittings was the corridor carpets seemed faded and worn and in need of replacement in complete contrast with the rest of the decor. The staff were helpful and polite and the cost was reasonable for such an upmarket hotel. Highly recommended!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank hagletgina45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Manager on Duty at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2017

Dear hagletgina45,

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Madrid!

Thank you as well for your location, room, flower arrangements and staff comments. My apologies if the furnishings were not up to your expectations. Upon your next visit, we will be glad to show you other options, as we do have 162 different rooms and each one is unique in size, shape and decoration, until your complete satisfaction.

Kindest regards,

Alejandro Alegre.
Duty Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews