We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Madrid Principe de Vergara
Ranked #58 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Chose the Principe de Vergara due to its location between Barajas Airport and downtown. A convenient and cheap bus connection to Avenida de America bus station (busline 200, off-peak trip around 15 min). A walking distance from the hotel even to the city center, about 30 min, but also Metro stations (Avenida de America, Diego de Leon) nearby. Rooms recently renovated, comfortable and modern design. Nice bathroom, a bit dark, though. Breakfast expensive but there are coffee shops in the neighborhood. A good choice for a short stay. No complaints about the service. Free internet in the lobby but so slow connection...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreeMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    582
    101
    11
    13
See reviews for
177
387
62
490
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

The hotel is well located, the refurbishment in 2010 was successful but we found the hotel quite expensive.
Beside that our room was too noisy, perhaps because we stay on a first floor room facing the busy Avenida Principe de Vergara. We also found the service poor and not attentive enough for a four star hotel.
After booking four rooms, two of them with baby cot, we were told on arrival that there was no cots available (!) and, when asking for an extra pillow, I had to wait almost one hour because of the reception's change of turn. The bar service was also poor and the dishes of a snack that we had taken during the afternoon, in the lobby, still were on the same table when we returned from dinner four hours later.
We won't stay at NH Principe de Vergara hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pierre.lima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Short business trip. Room clean and bed comfortable. Mini bar reasonably priced. Nice bar.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cymro29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This is a contemporary hotel which will appeal to those who like modern and minimal design.

We had room 807 which did not offer us a view from the window but I was very impressed with the standard of the room itself. The room has a large wardrobe with an easy to use personal safe. There is a good size wall mounted flatscreen TV which had a good quality picture and the bathroom is probably one of the best I have ever seen in a hotel room!

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as we felt it was expensive but it did look plentiful. There are plenty of cafes within walking distance that could provide you with an alternative.

The hotel bar was a bit of a disappointment and had no real atmosphere. It is shared with the breakfast room which is sectioned off outside the hours of operation. We only had one drink in here and prefered to sample the local alternatives.

The hotel is located approx 15-20 minutes from the centre of Madrid (Sol area) by metro but you can use the Avenida de America station which is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. This station is an interchange so you can get onto several different lines from here. The metro is so easy to use and we felt very safe using it too.

There are plenty of shops and eateries in the local area but you could walk into the swanky Salamanca discrict (Calle de Serrano) which took us about 20 minutes.

Overall I would happily stay here again. My only critisism is that although the hotel is very professional it is slightly impersonable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becksta75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

GENERAL INFORMATION
Date of stay: October 30 2011
Travelled with: -
Room number: 415
First impression: "Great modern design. Clean and simple"
View from window: The side wall of the building next door and an inside patio.

SERVICE
Very friendly staff in the reception and at breakfast.

FACILITIES & PRACTICAL STUFF
Gym: Small and basic
Pool: None
Bar: Cocktail bar on Ground Floor
And their Martini?: Very short stay. No time to find out!
Restaurant: On Ground Floor. Open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Can I shine my shoes before I leave?: Only by using the little kit in your room.
Was the Concierge on-the-ball?: Not really, but the receptionist made up for that.

THE IN-ROOM EXPERIENCE
The room: Small and well-equipped.
Internet: Wireless wi-fi costs about 10 Euros for 24 hours. Beware: Only allows one laptop connection at a time. Weak signal in this room.
In-room dining: Good menu of typical hotel fodder.
Mini-bar: Limited but tempting and fairly priced.
TV: 30-inch Philips LCD
Iron & board: Not in the room
The bed: Comfortable, if a little on the firm side.

OUTSIDE
Nearby runs: Very urban. At least a 15-minute run from the nearest decent park.
Nearby attractions: Close to the posh Salamanca district.
Nearby bars and dining: Quite a few just a couple of blocks away. For the authentic Spanish experience, try Restaurant Aylagas on Castello 100.

Best thing about the hotel: The breakfast; amazing array of fresh fruit, hams, cheeses, pastries, omelettes on-command, great coffee, myriad types of milk (soya, vanilla soya!), and perhaps the most beautiful presentation I have ever seen. They also held my luggage for a week without charge.
Worst thing about the hotel: Why oh why must they charge for internet?

Additional comments:
I'd highly recommend this property to anyone who opts for modern and functional as opposed to ostentatious.

Room Tip: Ask for a street view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjamesscl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Right at the center and close to the subway, trendy hotel with a trendy restaurant and a good service. you will often find very good promotions.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanixNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the NH Principe de Vergara. We chose this hotel because it was located close to our friends' house. It is a short 15 min/10euro cab ride from the airport. The rooms are small but modern and tastefully decorated. I love the fact that there are hardwood floors in the rooms - I wish more hotels would do this! The front desk staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We did not try the restaurant, but there is one on site. We will not hesitate to stay here in the future when we return to Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderluster94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
El Madrono
El Madrono
#37 of 436 in Madrid
628 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Balboa
NH Madrid Balboa
#197 of 436 in Madrid
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Madrid Ventas
#56 of 436 in Madrid
709 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Madrid Principe de Vergara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Madrid Principe de Vergara

Property: NH Madrid Principe de Vergara
Address: Calle Principe de Vergara 92, 28006 Madrid, Spain (Formerly NH Principe de Vergara)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Madrid
#35 Business Hotel in Madrid
#45 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Madrid Principe de Vergara 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Madrid Principe de Vergara hotel is centrally located in Madrid's posh and exclusive Salamanca district, close to the city's chic shopping areas, such as Goya, Serrano and Velazquez streets, as well as numerous bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Madrid Principe de Vergara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Principe De Vergara Hotel Madrid
Nh Hotels Madrid
Nh Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing