We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value. Nice location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Madrid Balboa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
NH Madrid Balboa
Ranked #178 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
chicago
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good value. Nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Small rooms. Interior rooms a bit depressing. But clean and good location.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jefflef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    324
    155
    44
    14
See reviews for
111
168
49
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puttershoek, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Room was not clean, certainly not under the bed, checking in and out took a long time, hotel needs a makeover / refresher. I paid abt 110 euro inlc breakfast & 1 dink at the bar, no free internet - no value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henk001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Stayed at the hotel NH. It was a very nice hotel, located a little bit away from main atractions but with a good value for money proposal. Stayed in interconecting rooms and it was just perfect for a family with young children.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kid-A00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

Needs an upgrade. No Aircon available until they say so, old design. Very hot at night,very noisy area with windows open at night/day,asked about aircon not available received a derisory discount.No tea/coffee making in the rooms.Did not have breakfast there as too hot/too expensive. The location is good & service reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

I travelled with my boyfriend and we checked in early around 11:30 and it was nice to have the room as we wanted to shower. I spotted hair in the bathroom behid toilet so left this without a complaint, the rest of the bathroom and room was clean. Room was actually very good size with king bed. TV is small, maybe 19 inches LCD, There wasn't a kettle in the room. The minibar was stocked OK. We experienced something which was rather disturbing during breakfast: We entered the restaurant and there wasn't anyone who would tell us where to sit/took our name/room no. We sat down to a table which was for three people. We where asked to move to a table for two in the corner as the waiter said this is table for 4 (it was clearly laid for three) and 2 minutes another straight couple sat there and they were not asked by the waiter to move even though there were tables for 2 available. Again I thought of making a point but decided not to as Spanish are excellent at pretending that they do not understand if they don't want to! With regards to location, I would prefer to stay more central next time as there isn't that much going on in Salamanca. The service on check/in/out was impersonal and slow, but not unfriendly.

Room Tip: Make use of the free wifi in lobby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dushanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

Good hotel ( quality/price) for The area. Nice breakfast, Confortable rooms, internet connections at The lobby.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leofab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

The only good thing about this hotel is the excellent location… We spend 3 nights in this hotel (one long weekend). When we arrived in the hotel, we were told that we had to take a smoking room as we did not specify in our reservation (it was a present) that we wanted a non-smoking room. We asked to change the first room assigned to us because it smelled really bad. We were given a bigger room that did not smell that bad but was part of a double room.. and yes the door was closed but our neighbours came back at 4 oclock in the morning, decided to turn on the tv , speak quite loudly and smoke. All the nose and smoke came through our door. We waited more than half an hour to call the reception. The only solution they gave us was to change rooms at 5 o’clock in the morning. We even had to go downstairs and pick up the key ourselves as the guy in the reception could not bring it to us… and yes the room was finally a quiet and none smelly room…

I have to admit that the biggest disappointment was when I came to the reception the next morning just to point out that we could have saved all these misunderstandings if they would have given us our final room or a non-smoking room from the beginning and I did not hear anyone apologise.. it was more or less our fault to have gone through all these problems…. This is what I call great service…anyway… never again this hotel and if you book by nh do not forget to tick the non-smoking field…..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chatoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Principe de Vergara
Barrio de Salamanca
Melia Galgos
Melia Galgos
#143 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
NH Madrid Chamberi
#163 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Lagasca
NH Madrid Lagasca
#182 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Suites Barrio de Salamanca Hotel
NH Madrid Zurbano
#108 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Madrid Balboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Madrid Balboa

Property: NH Madrid Balboa
Address: Calle Nunez de Balboa 112, 28006 Madrid, Spain (Formerly NH Balboa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#144 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Madrid Balboa 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a highly esteemed location downtown, the 122-room NH Madrid Balboa hotel in Madrid combines quiet charm with a warm, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your NH Madrid Balboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Balboa Hotel Madrid
Nh Balboa Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing