We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, at reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
Ranked #158 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We were delighted in every way with the Carlton, even though this is not a standard Marriott Hotel.

The hotel is not well known and we had to direct Taxi drivers to it. The Marriott relationship is unclear and not evident in the hotel. If you book it, you need to be aware of the pros and cons, especially if you use Reward points. But the hotel is part of a very large chain in Spain with a good reputation.

The location is very good. It is about three short blocks from the modern and convenient Atosha Rail Terminal. You can walk comfortably to lots of key attractions, museums and shops. Metro and bus service nearby. Plenty of restaurants close-by and, unlike so many communities near rail stations in Europe, the area around trhe hotel is apparently safe and you can walk around day and night without much concern.

Madrid is extremely tourist friendly and we found many people anxious and willing to assist with directions, metro tickets, etc, so don’t be afraid to ask for help.

Front desk was helpful and had at least one English-speaker at all times.

Our room (210) overlooked a side street and on the 2nd floor which is really the 4th floor, the way the building is designed, (ground floor is “Hall,” then O, 1, 2, etc). There was some street noise evident, even with windows closed and steel shutters rolled down, but it was tolerable.

The lobby/lounge is nothing special, offers free WIFI. but again it is adequate. No smoking in the area, so that’s a plus. (Spain’s no smoking in public facilities policy is still unclear and apparently lightly enforced. We asked for a non-smoking room and ours was fine without any trace of smoke, but the room across the hall was sending smoke out into the hall one afternoon.)

The room and bath were very good, very clean and maid service was excellent.

Door had key card and secure lock.

Safe in room worked well and you must obtain a key from the front desk (no charge) for your safe.

Plenty of good hanging closet space and drawers. The room has a sliding glass panel which, if you desire, divides the area for comfort and privacy.

Good, clean towels, sheets, linens and outstanding bath amenities were replaced daily.

Soft drinks and water in fridge are free and refilled daily. This is a worthwhile feature and makes the room price an even better deal.

Plenty of power outlets for recharging laptop, phone, etc.

Beds were comfortable and well made every day.

Flat screen TV on wall. Quality reception, but don’t expect English channels. This is Spain, remember?

There is 24 hour food and beverage service available from the lounge or as room service. A late snack mixed salad was fresh and well done. Prices were reasonable. Breakfast, which we only enjoyed one day, was excellent with plenty of choices and priced at 16 Euros each. Most days we went out and got bakery rolls from across the street.

I booked directly through Marriott Web site and our 6 night stay came to about $830 total.

Overall, this was a good hotel choice.

One other note: I booked through the Marriott web site and could have cancelled up to the last minute and did not pay until we left the hotel. When traveling abroad, I have found this arrangement preferable to paying up front.

Room Tip: We had asked for a high floor and endd up on 2, which was fine. Some reviews recommend a back side r...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jjstives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,278)
There are newer reviews for AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

541 - 547 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

Nice hotel - relatively modern. Hoping for free wifi, but only in the lobby. Was nearby the Atocha station, which was very convenient for travelling - both long distance on the Renfe, as well as locally on the Metro. The area around is okay - seems a little sketchy, but not bad. Overall, good value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkim76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Sandra v
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Its a basic property. Clean and somewhat centrally located. It's a clean hotel at a fair price. The free mini bar was nice. Some nice snacks and drinks.

The bed was hard and the king size bed is two twins tied together. You can fall through the cracks at night! The heating and AC was hard to operate and didn't work right.

Parking is reasonable at 14 euros. Breakfast is an extra charge, even If you are a Marriott platinum member.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkalen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The hotel webpage claims the following: "AC Hotel Carlton Madrid has introduced a free Wi-Fi internet service in the hotel, providing easy access to a high-speed connection." This is a lie. The free wi-fi is only available in the lobby; you have to pay for it in rooms.
The in-room directory of services mentioned a pool and a spa, but the lady at the reception seemed to hear about that for the first time.
There is no bath, only a shower.
The walls are very thin, you can hear everything that goes on around you.

The location is excellent, walking distance to Reina Sofia, Prado, the botanic garden, and much more. Metro station Atocha is nearby. It is possible to get from the airport to the hotel just by using the metro (change of lines needed).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlton01, Director General at AC Hotel Carlton Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

We are sorry, the free Wi-fi internet service is only in he lobby, in the rooms you have to pay for it. There must have been a misunderstanding.
We don't have a spa or a pool, we only have a fitness center, and so we know that doesn't appear in any webpage or directory of services.
The thing about the bath and the shower must also be a misunderstanding because there are rooms with shower,others with bath and others with whirpool bath.
The walls are normal, if the you would have told about the noise in the reception, maybe we could have given to you a solution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This is a relatively small property right off of a main plaza with easy access to the Prado and other sights and 10 minutes walk from the Atocha Train Station.
Front desk staff very good, the breakfast buffet was a welcome "american" breakfast as a change from the usual.

We had a 1 bedroom junior suite; this are a bit dark as they are on the atrium not facing the street but quiet and wonderfully large for a European hotel.

Great value in February and Marriott points as well

Room Tip: suites are larger but darker
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Health_Care_Lawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This was a stylish hotel at a good price. We stayed two nights and the first night was fine, but on the second, the heating seemed to go into overdrive. The only way the room was comfortable was with the a/c on full and the window wide open (and it was -4C outside!). We complained at reception (which was also overheated) and they said they'd send an engineer while we were at dinner, but it was no better when we got back. The second night's sleep was awful due to the temperature.

On the upside, the staff were friendly and helpful (to a point). The free mini-bar (non-alcoholic drinks only) was much appreciated. The location, near the central railway station is handy for the airport and day trips around the area. It's also walkable to the centre and main museums (around the corner from the Reina Sofia art gallery). For a railway station area, the neighbourhood is not bad. We didn't explore the local tapas bars, but they seemed to be full of locals, which seems like a good sign.

The wi-fi and breakfast seemed overpriced, so we skipped them.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
AC Hotel Atocha
#197 of 438 in Madrid
798 reviews
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#131 of 438 in Madrid
370 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#76 of 438 in Madrid
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#68 of 438 in Madrid
547 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#126 of 438 in Madrid
1,965 reviews
Retiro
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
#9 of 438 in Madrid
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Carlton Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Carlton Madrid

Address: Paseo Delicias 26, 28045 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: $127 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Carlton Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Carlton Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing