We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Castilla
Nearby Hotels
US$332
US$264
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Axor Feria Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Regina(Madrid)
US$208
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ILUNION Atrium(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$83
Official Site
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Preciados(Madrid)
US$221
US$209
Official website
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel(Madrid)
US$227
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
NH Madrid Ribera del Manzanares(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel(Madrid)
US$124
US$115
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$103
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Madrid Aeropuerto Barajas(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$74
Trip.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,253)
Filter reviews
3,253 results
Traveller rating
1,746
1,092
290
78
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,746
1,092
290
78
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslevel floorconference hotelreal madrid stadiumlarge conferencepaellalarge hotelattending a conferenceoutdoor poolbusiness tripbernabeu stadiumpremium roomcity centreexcellent hotelpublic transportationbreakfast buffet ismetro stationmin walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
711 - 716 of 3,253 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Good locatin if you need to be around the Santiago Bernabeu stadium but also near Cozco metro and taxis are also available outside the hotel at all times. Not very convenient for those who wish to spend their time in the centre and around plaza major or Cava Baja.

The rooms are a little bit tired (please get rid of the old fashioned carpets) but generally comfortable and clean.

We arrived as a big group for the Madrid - Apoel Champions League game but the hotel was very organised so that we checked-in in 5 minutes even though 150 people arrived at the same time.

Excellent breakfast and freshly made orange juice is a big plus. Good selection of cheeses as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haris79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and for appreciate our work at the check in, we are happy to see that everything was made in a fast and efficient way by our Front desk staff.

We hope your entire group enjoyed the football match and the visit to Madrid.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed in the Executive Suite and the outlook from the room was terrific. It was extremely quiet and our room was made up immediately whilst we were having breakfast just down the hall in a private location for customers on that floor. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful and they all spoke English as well. The meals were of a very high standard and cleanliness was to an extremely high standard. Our bed was so comfortable and the towels and sheets all had a lovely feel. I was sorry to leave. The location was right in the middle of Madrid with lots of excellent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spiewakowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear Customer,

I want to thank the kind comments about our service and facilities.

I think your stay has been entirely relaxing, as you say and that our service has been at the level of yours expectations.

Your comments encourage us to continue working on this line and reinforce our passion for the service.

Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We were attending a conference at the hotel, thus the rather unusual choice given a location in a very non-descript district which seems to have peaked in the late-1980's. On check in we were given an upgrade option which included breakfast and a "superior" room, which ended up being very good value for money. The room was very large and luxuriously outfitted which belied the rather institutional exterior. The front desk was well-informed and generally polite despite a crush of conference goers (another conference) the first couple of days. The breakfast buffet was excellent by any standards, although the (large) breakfast room could be quite full at peak times (8:30-9:00 on weekdays), The neighbourhood is middle class residential...i.e. devoid of anything of interest but the walk to the subway (Cuzco) is only three minutes which puts any part of the center in about 15 minutes reach given Madrid's excellent functional metro system. Also, Chamartin train station is only a ten minute walk (two subway stops) if that is a factor. The restaurant choices in the area are not the best...the Asian one adjacent to the Hotel is very good...but best just to zip somehwere else for a good value bite to eat. The internet charge is a bit antiquated in 2012 but not unusual for a big chain conference hotel. Just factor it into your rate and then determine if the package is good value for money. We were pleasantly surprised by the place...a corresponding conference-venue Hilton or Sheraton in the US would not have been nearly as nice.

Room Tip: We were offered an upgrade at E22 a night, which included breakfast and a luxury room. Worth it for a couple, given that they charge over E20 per person for breakfast alone.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank your kind comments about our hotel.
In fact, we are located one street on the back of the Paseo de la Castellana, the main avenue in the city, between Santiago Bernabéu Stadium and the skyscrapers of Plaza Castilla. We are very sorry if you did not find a good restaurant in the neighborhood, but we are located in the golden mile of restaurants in Madrid and, for the next time, our Concierge will be able to assist you. However, we are delighted of hearing your comments about our oriental restaurant Café Saigón.
Thank you again for your time. We are looking forward to seeing you very soon in Meliá Castilla hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights in March while on business. Nice and clean rooms and very comfortable bed. The hotel looks old and not very flattering from the outside, but is well maintained on the inside.
Had everything necessary for business hotel, but charging EUR6 per hour for wi-fi was very disappointing. Tthe breakfast is very good, but charging EUR23 for breakfast is also a rip off.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Faan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for using your time in adding your review about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

In one hand, although, we have a more than 100 product breakfast buffet and a very high speed Internet connection, we are sorry if we could not cover your expectations. For the next stay, we would recommend to check our several promotions in our web, in order to take advantage of a better price or choose a more economical option with our continental breakfast.

On the other hand, we will do our best in your next stay to offer you what you deserve and we ensure you that we will reach your expectations.

We hope to see you soon in the Meliá Castilla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I recently traveled to Madrid with my husband and we stayed at the Melia Castilla. It was an amazing trip and the hotel could not have been better. We splurged and stayed on the 15 th floor and the Royal Service was well worth the extra money! Having never traveled to Madrid, the concierge was my trip saver. Mercedes was the best! And the breakfast food and service was top notch! I miss Miguel and his espresso! I can't wait for my husband to need to go back to Madrid on business. We will definitely stay at the Melia Castilla again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank your personalized comments you make about our staff. We will let them know and we are going to congratulate them too.

Your kind comments encourage to all our team in keep offering a the very good Service that our Guest deserve.

We are glad to see that you enjoy our Royal Service and the exclusivity of its service.

We hope to see you soon in the Meliá Castilla hotel. All our staff will be delighted to offer the better smile to you in your next stay.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews