We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge hotel well maintained”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Castilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Castilla
Ranked #56 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Huge hotel well maintained”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

If big hotels is your thing then go for it. Its well maintained but its not new. Our room was excellent in size (3 persons) and well equipped. I hate paying for wifi as i consider it basic amenity. Excellent and huge and efficient breakfast setup.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank othello2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly, we want to thank your time spent to write this review on Tripadvisor.

Actually, we are the biggest hotel in Spain, as we have 915 rooms and more than 27 meeting rooms, with a huge auditorium for 511 assistants, but it is very important for us to provide a detailed and personalized service to all our Guests.

In fact, we are not a new hotel, as we have more than 40 years of experience in the hotel industry. We are always improving our service and facilities, in order to offer our Guests what they deserve and what they need.

Thank you again for your kind comments, hoping to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,421
    919
    254
    64
    36
See reviews for
535
539
131
1,269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Good locatin if you need to be around the Santiago Bernabeu stadium but also near Cozco metro and taxis are also available outside the hotel at all times. Not very convenient for those who wish to spend their time in the centre and around plaza major or Cava Baja.

The rooms are a little bit tired (please get rid of the old fashioned carpets) but generally comfortable and clean.

We arrived as a big group for the Madrid - Apoel Champions League game but the hotel was very organised so that we checked-in in 5 minutes even though 150 people arrived at the same time.

Excellent breakfast and freshly made orange juice is a big plus. Good selection of cheeses as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haris79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and for appreciate our work at the check in, we are happy to see that everything was made in a fast and efficient way by our Front desk staff.

We hope your entire group enjoyed the football match and the visit to Madrid.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed in the Executive Suite and the outlook from the room was terrific. It was extremely quiet and our room was made up immediately whilst we were having breakfast just down the hall in a private location for customers on that floor. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful and they all spoke English as well. The meals were of a very high standard and cleanliness was to an extremely high standard. Our bed was so comfortable and the towels and sheets all had a lovely feel. I was sorry to leave. The location was right in the middle of Madrid with lots of excellent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiewakowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Customer,

I want to thank the kind comments about our service and facilities.

I think your stay has been entirely relaxing, as you say and that our service has been at the level of yours expectations.

Your comments encourage us to continue working on this line and reinforce our passion for the service.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
309 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We were attending a conference at the hotel, thus the rather unusual choice given a location in a very non-descript district which seems to have peaked in the late-1980's. On check in we were given an upgrade option which included breakfast and a "superior" room, which ended up being very good value for money. The room was very large and luxuriously outfitted which belied the rather institutional exterior. The front desk was well-informed and generally polite despite a crush of conference goers (another conference) the first couple of days. The breakfast buffet was excellent by any standards, although the (large) breakfast room could be quite full at peak times (8:30-9:00 on weekdays), The neighbourhood is middle class residential...i.e. devoid of anything of interest but the walk to the subway (Cuzco) is only three minutes which puts any part of the center in about 15 minutes reach given Madrid's excellent functional metro system. Also, Chamartin train station is only a ten minute walk (two subway stops) if that is a factor. The restaurant choices in the area are not the best...the Asian one adjacent to the Hotel is very good...but best just to zip somehwere else for a good value bite to eat. The internet charge is a bit antiquated in 2012 but not unusual for a big chain conference hotel. Just factor it into your rate and then determine if the package is good value for money. We were pleasantly surprised by the place...a corresponding conference-venue Hilton or Sheraton in the US would not have been nearly as nice.

Room Tip: We were offered an upgrade at E22 a night, which included breakfast and a luxury room. Worth it for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank your kind comments about our hotel.
In fact, we are located one street on the back of the Paseo de la Castellana, the main avenue in the city, between Santiago Bernabéu Stadium and the skyscrapers of Plaza Castilla. We are very sorry if you did not find a good restaurant in the neighborhood, but we are located in the golden mile of restaurants in Madrid and, for the next time, our Concierge will be able to assist you. However, we are delighted of hearing your comments about our oriental restaurant Café Saigón.
Thank you again for your time. We are looking forward to seeing you very soon in Meliá Castilla hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in March while on business. Nice and clean rooms and very comfortable bed. The hotel looks old and not very flattering from the outside, but is well maintained on the inside.
Had everything necessary for business hotel, but charging EUR6 per hour for wi-fi was very disappointing. Tthe breakfast is very good, but charging EUR23 for breakfast is also a rip off.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Faan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for using your time in adding your review about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

In one hand, although, we have a more than 100 product breakfast buffet and a very high speed Internet connection, we are sorry if we could not cover your expectations. For the next stay, we would recommend to check our several promotions in our web, in order to take advantage of a better price or choose a more economical option with our continental breakfast.

On the other hand, we will do our best in your next stay to offer you what you deserve and we ensure you that we will reach your expectations.

We hope to see you soon in the Meliá Castilla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I recently traveled to Madrid with my husband and we stayed at the Melia Castilla. It was an amazing trip and the hotel could not have been better. We splurged and stayed on the 15 th floor and the Royal Service was well worth the extra money! Having never traveled to Madrid, the concierge was my trip saver. Mercedes was the best! And the breakfast food and service was top notch! I miss Miguel and his espresso! I can't wait for my husband to need to go back to Madrid on business. We will definitely stay at the Melia Castilla again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank your personalized comments you make about our staff. We will let them know and we are going to congratulate them too.

Your kind comments encourage to all our team in keep offering a the very good Service that our Guest deserve.

We are glad to see that you enjoy our Royal Service and the exclusivity of its service.

We hope to see you soon in the Meliá Castilla hotel. All our staff will be delighted to offer the better smile to you in your next stay.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I travel every week across Europe and I can honestly say that this is the best breakfast that I have had. It is an absolute banquet! Keep it up.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NoelGarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear guest,

I want to thank the kind comments about our breakfast buffet.

As you know, you can choose from over 100 products, served in a room with natural light and serviced by professionals who take care of you anytime.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
AC Hotel Cuzco
#166 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
San Blas
Melia Avenida America
Melia Avenida America
#175 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#89 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#66 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Castilla

Property: Melia Castilla
Address: Calle Capitan Haya 43, 28020 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Madrid
#19 Business Hotel in Madrid
#29 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#43 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Castilla 4*
Number of rooms: 915
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Castilla is considered one of the most emblematic hotels in Madrid, with an appealing blend of perfectly balanced classic and contemporary styles, where peace and urban life are accomplices to delight our guests.The excellent location, a few minutes from Paseo de la Castellana, 15 minutes from Barajas airport and IFEMA exhibition centre, near Chamartin train station and the Real Madrid Santiago Bernabeu football stadium, makes the Melia Castilla the perfect choice for your visit to Madrid. Complimentary WIFI and 24-hour Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Castilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Castilla Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Castilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing