We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,450)
Filter reviews
3,450 results
Traveller rating
1,870
1,138
305
85
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,870
1,138
305
85
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconference hotelreal madrid stadiumlarge conferencepaellalarge hotelattending a conferencebusiness tripoutdoor poolbernabeu stadiumexecutive floorpremium roomcity centreexcellent hotelpublic transportationbreakfast buffet ismetro stationmin walk
Filter
Updating list...
282 - 287 of 3,450 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2016

I have stayed at Melia Castilla 3 times over the years, every time participating / hosting a client conference. The latest trip was this June, a combination of 3 days of business and 2 of leisure. Unfortunately, it appears that this is the only hotel in Madrid that can accommodate large conferences so it can't be helped... But personally I would never book this hotel. Surprisingly though there always seems to be quite a lot of tourists as well, including families with children.

If you are traveling on business, the hotel is located at the "right" end of Madrid, i.e., in a business district and quite close to the airport. On the other hand, it's a fairly long way to the centre so if you wish to walk around to see the lovely city of Madrid and not spend your time on sitting in a taxi etc., this is not the place for you.

The huge common areas of the hotel are fairly ok, in a kind of pompous way, but the rooms - at least the regular ones - are terribly old-fashioned and worn-out, with old fitted carpet, faded wallpapers full of stains etc... kind of funky (odd) smell as well. Really encourages you to spend your time in the conference rooms or outside the hotel. Bathrooms are somewhat better and slightly more modern, luckily.

The breakfast room is large and noisy, the variety of the buffet is quite good though and the buffet is rather well maintained, even during the busy hours. The hotel bar is pretty decent but at times clearly understaffed. In general, the hotel service is just ok, normally quite impersonal and cold.

Overall, this is a quite functional business hotel, hence 3 stars. The rooms, however, are barely worth 2 stars. And the hotel building is pretty ugly actually.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetriJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier_Alcalde, Adjunto a Dirección at Melia Castilla, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

Dear Petri,

We would like to provide our sincere grateful for your recent visit to The Meliá Castilla and our apologize for your general impresion about the hotel.

There are several hotels in the city with facilities to accomodate high number of guests at the same time. Proximity, excellence and pasion for service are some of our most important keys.

We are right now in the process of upgrading the hotel facilities. this summer we have modified 3 floors and we hope to complete the whole hotel in the next 2 years.

We will be delighte to see you back anytime. I hope that you will feel the proximity of our staff and Myself. I remain at your entire disposal.

Warmest regards
Javier Alcalde.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2016

Very impressive hotel. I was on the Executive floor where they offer free snacks and drinks all day which is great as it really only means you need to eat out at dinner which can save money and we all love to save money. The staff are very friendly and really helpful. If you want to watch Real Madrid play it is a 12 minute walk away which means no long journey home from the game as you can just walk back to the hotel after. The pool is not exactly marvellous as if you want to get tanned you can only get sun in certain spots as the hotels shadow covers most of the pool area. If you don't care about a tan then i guess the pool is pretty good. Breakfast is also very good and had a lot on offer.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier_Alcalde, Assitant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

Dear Bendo,

We would like to provide our sincere grateful for your recent visit to The Meliá Castilla. We realize that your general impression was positive although the pool area did not offer sun enough to meet your expectations.

We are going on working hard to improbe day after day. We´ll be delighted to see you bak again in a future visit to Madrid.

Warmest regards,
Javier Alcalde.
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2016

My family and I visited this hotel for a mini-break. The staff were excellent, in particular Nieves,Laura and Ester on the fifteenth floor, and Cayetano. We knew that this hotel was in the business district of Madrid, but were pleasantly surprised by how easy it was to get to the centre of Madrid. Buses and trains are near to the hotel and for my son, being a ten minute walk away from Real Madrid's stadium was brilliant! We visited the stadium and did the Madrid bus tour which was very enjoyable. While staying in this hotel made the journey time to the centre of the city longer, it meant it was quieter and there were many places to eat around the he hotel. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in a quiet yet beautiful hotel, with great links to the centre of the city!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilkolynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Dear guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and celebrate you've enjoyed your stay and you've found everything under your expectation.

Thanks for your nice comments and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2016 via mobile

We had a great stay at this hotel. The location is good and the service is excellent. We were allowed to check in at 12:00 noon, as soon as we reached though the official check in time was 1:00 pm.The reception lounge is spacious and welcoming.
The Real Madrid stadium is at a walking distance and there are several places to hang out at, a few blocks away.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Proma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

Dear Proma,

You make us very happy with your nice comments and celebrate you've enjoyed your stay with us.

We expect to see you once again.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2016

We stayed with two kids in this hotel for 3 nights.

We were provided two attached executive big rooms with impressive quality of products - bed, toiletries etc.

The best part - the hotel, in particular the Manager, provide free Champagne, Cake and lot of foods to celebrate my wife's birthday. Extremely grateful to him for that gesture.

Another advantage with kids - the hotel is just 10 min walking distance from Real Madrid Football Stadium.

Small drawback - there is no metro in walking distance - however, its not an issue since Taxi is not so expensive in Spain.

Room Tip: Perfect for family and business.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Raj_Vandana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier_Alcalde, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

Dear Mr. Raj,
We appreciate your awesome comments that encourage us.
We also celebrate you've enjoyed your stay and we look forward to receive you once again.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews