We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5* on the outside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Melia Madrid Princesa
Ranked #67 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not 5* on the outside”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed here on business last week for a couple of nights and it was very compfy.

I have to say it looked like a 1960's office block on the outside but probably a 4* on the inside. There rooms were very nice and the beds compfy.

The staff were very helpful.

I also went to El Club Allard for dinner which is less than a 5 minute walk away. Quite outstanding food.

for the price at £140 pounds I thought it very good and werepositioned.

Chris

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors. You get a great view of Madrid
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltipschris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,055
    716
    238
    64
    30
See reviews for
428
816
77
509
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I loved my room, and the bathroom was very luxurious! My room was very funky, stylish, and beautiful. The hotel was lovely. The location was great in Madrid. The staff was fairly friendly. I had trouble with my window and a maintenance person literally came within a minute from my call to the front desk. It was a good stay for a 5 star but the staff could have been more friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
220 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Overall I was satisfied with my weekend stay, despite a very bad late check-out experience.

I chose this hotel for its unbeatable central location - a mere ten-minute-walk to Plaza de Espana and Gran Via. Metro station "Ventura Rodriguez" is directly under the hotel while both stations "Arguelles" and "Plaza de Espana" are very close nearby.
Booked my stay on Melia own website - booking process quick and easy, I opted for a Premium room at 145EUR excluding breakfast.

Check-in quite satisfying - the receptionist on duty was welcoming and friendly.

Premium room on the 2nd floor - I found it modern and quiet enough. Many amenities were available: individual air-conditioning, large desk, quite comfortable King-size bed. Other goodies included a comprehensive media equipment (flatscreen TV, DVD/CD player, USB ports), design sofa, coffee-making facilities. All equipment were working properly.
The bathroom layout is very strange as it is split in two rooms: the first one includes two sinks but also the closets (!), while WC and bath are located in the second room! Bath and WC spotlessly clean and with many amenities including dental and shaving kits.

On the downside the Melia website is quite misleading as it advertises "very bright rooms, all with views over the city" for Premium rooms. It was definitely NOT the case as my room looked over some emergency stairs and a narrow side street - very disappointing.

Breakfast buffet was a bit expensive, therefore I preferred to eat outside.
Efficient room service at very reasonable prices - I ordered some tapas for dinner (Iberian croquettes, bacalao fritters) which were quite tasty.

The end of my stay was unfortunately let down by a very ILL-MANNERED maid service. I had asked for and been granted a late check-out until 15:00.
I returned to my room at 13:30. Despite the "Do not disturb" sign, I found that half of the room had already been cleaned up! There were already new towels and soaps in the bathroom; on the opposite bed sheets had been stripped out but were still laying on the floor. More disturbingly I missed some of my toiletries and Madrid city maps that I wanted to keep. Fortunately I had put my cash and travel documents in the locked safe - what if I had not?!

I complained about that during the check-out process. But the receptionist just smiled and shrugged away. I guess this might be a common occurence. However, as I am willing to pay extra for a Premium room, I also expect to be treated accordingly.
This poor late check-out experience cast a shadow on an overall good stay in Madrid.

All in all I can recommend this hotel for its unbeatable central location. However remember to always lock your valuables in the safe as the "Do not disturb" sign does not prevent anybody from entering your room.

Room Tip: Do not be misled by the hotel website: some Premium rooms do not have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank q-sto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This was my second stay this year at Princesa and although it has its little flaws it is ideal for a quiet comfortable stay close to the action in Madrid. Location is safe and central. There is a metro station just at the corner of the hotel. Bus stop is in the middle of the block. No reason to take a taxi except perhaps from the airport. Rooms are of good size for Europe and there is adequate space for your belongings. Bathrooms are modern and very clean. Breakfast, though expensive, was enough to get us through the day until dinner each evening. I would definitely go back to the "Princess".

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnut13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Renovated in an unusal somewhat 'over-the-top' modern style with eccentric lighting scheme; small rooms with nice bathrooms; staff were pleasant. We stayed over New Year period and very little information was available from the hotel about openings/closings of restaurants and so on in Madrid which made planning difficult. Hotel pool was closed New Years day due to the 'holiday' which seemed a little odd.
Location is probably the high point of the hotel - next to a metro stop and walking distance to Plaza Espana and Gran Via. A short walk to the good shopping district of Arguelles and a short metro hop to Salamanca district and the fabulous Calle Serrano. Hidden in the backstreets behind the hotel are some interesting tapas bars and the stylish Quintana 30 Restaurant in Calle Quintana which serves good Basque food and has a fine wine list.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonnymouse888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Melia is located in the heart of Madrid, close to everything I wanted to see, I only had on day to see as much as possible of Madrid as part of my business trip. Rooms are clean, seems recently renovated, good amenities, limited selection of TV channels, good room service and friendly staff and concierge. Will stay there next time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

The good - location next to metro and on avenida princesa.

The bad. Noise was incredible. Howling wind if it was blowing. Unbelievable traffic noise. Difficult to sleep even with ear plugs.

Bad design. Someone should have reined in the interior designers as design trumps functionality and sense. Glass doors on bathroom meant noise and lighting shared with the room. Ungainly shower/tub controls. Pointless lighted glass top bedside table that went through full spectrum of colors. Decor in general like a sixties film about the future.

Spotty maid service. Didn't replace kleenex for four days.

Nice breakfast selection, however, the egg/omelette station was unmanned regardless what time we showed the entire week of our stay.

Poor English skills amongst the staff and not particularly helpful when they did understand. The stock responses for any question seemed to be "up/down the road, take the metro, I don't know."

Overall, too many problems and other options to warrant a recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zeczeczec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#29 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#89 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
Silken Puerta America
#99 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#152 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#35 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madrid Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madrid Princesa

Property: Melia Madrid Princesa
Address: Calle Princesa 27, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Arguelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Madrid
#51 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#59 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#68 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madrid Princesa 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2008 and located just steps away from Madrid main square Plaza de España, this modern Hotel offers spectacular views of the Royal Palace and Casa de Campo. Perfectly situated within walking distance of Gran Via, Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol and Madrid's main museums (Prado, Thyssen,...). In addition, a Metro stop can be found right at the entrance of the hotel allowing convenient travel to the airport or Madrid's main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Madrid Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madrid Princesa Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing