We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the center of Madrid”
Review of Hotel Liabeny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Liabeny
Ranked #51 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Katwijk, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Right in the center of Madrid”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Nice helpfull staff, good clean rooms, beds a bit hard.
We asked for and got a quite room.
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel , but went just around the corner of Puerta de Sol to Museo de Jamon (I didn't choose the name), and had a very good breakfast for just a few Euros.

This is a business hotel , so in the weekend you have low rates.

Room Tip: ask for a quite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acdourlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,557
    1,180
    202
    34
    25
See reviews for
636
1,272
298
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Great location and good size rooms, we could walk everywhere. however, the staff weren't very helpful and the airconditioning and heating didn't work, which made it a little uncomfortable

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia9772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed at the Hotel for 5 nights
+ Location: 2 minutes walk from Plaza del sol and 2 minutes walk from Gran Via.
+ Nice and various breakfast
+ Enough place and tables for all people that want to have breakfast - no one had to wait
+ Clean and comfortable rooms (however, a little bit smaller than needed)
+ Nice bathroom

- No bathrobes and slippers in the room
- Air condiioner did not work
- Room service staff are not good with English; so to take this option is a terrible quest for non-spanish speakers

It takes about 50 minutes to get form the Airport (terminal T4) to the hotel by metro with 2 changes. Escalators are not everywhere (!), be awared that sometimes you have to come upstairs.

Taxi from the Hotel to Airport (Terminal 1) costed about 28 euros. It takes 30 minutes to get there in the morning.

Nevertheless, I definitely recommend this hotel as it is really better than other 4-star hotels with the same price.

Room Tip: All rooms should be quiet as the hotel stands on quiet streets. Some of the rooms face inner courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aglasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We went to Spain for a vacation in March and stayed at this hotel for two nights when we were in Madrid. We really enjoyed the stay. This hotel is centrally located and incredibly convenient for everything we want to do. Yet it's on a side street so it's not noisy. The hotel staff is fantastic and extremely helpful and friendly. They recommend we try the tapas on Calle de Baja and it's one of the best tip we got.

The room was clean and tidy, nothing we can complain. They do charge 10 euro for internet connection. For the price, this is one of the best deal in Madrid.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonZhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The liabenys is a very "cool" / nice place to stay at Madrid (as Spaniards say, it was super "guay"). Great location (almost at Plaza del Sol in the geographical center of the city), excellent service, and very reasonable prices for a 4-star hotel. Defintely, I will stay there again when I return to Madrid. Love it.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAL0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel for four nights. As other guests have said, the location is excellent, close to Puerta del Sol, Gran Via, close to Metro Stations, also close to many restaurants, bars, cafetarias and Spain's biggest departments store. The Conceirge services were great, very helpful in planning our days out exploring Madrid; also made sure we got on a taxi at 4 am to catch our flight. So thank you to everyone at Liabeny

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012 via mobile

Take it as read - this hotel is well located as everyone states. We used the yellow airport express bus to travel to Cibeles, a bargain at 2 euros. From Cibeles! even with cases, the hotel is only 10 minutes walk via Gran Via.

With regards to my review I want to be objective and not let the location colour things. I took my family and we had three rooms on the sixth floor. Each room was a "double" with the twin beds pushed together. The beds were very hard as was the single thin pillow. After the first night we secured another pillow from the maid that improved things slightly. The room was tired and dated with lots of dark wood and drab furnishings. The bathroom was also in need of a refurb, the sink was cracked and tiling around the bath was stained with mould. Although the weather was warm there was no air conditioning which meant the room was stuffy. To alleviate this we opened the window but even at 4.30 am the surrounding streets are very noisy.

We declined the hall porters services on arrival as our cases were spinners and we could easily take them to our rooms. I wonder whether this was the reason for the frostiness of the four or five staff that staffed the reception and lobby. There unfriendliness made it unpleasant to walk through the lobby.

We had breakfast one morning during our three night stay. The buffet choices were good and the food of good quality, the orange juice was poor. The staff were slow to offer tea or coffee and were equally slow at clearing away. For the other mornings we felt that 90 euros for breakfast was a bit excessive (we were a party of 6) so we had a far cheaper breakfast sat in the sun in a restaurant in Plaza Mayor with a far better view.

Overall then this hotel was fair value but not necessarily what you might expect of a city centre 4 star.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank dc1743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 435 in Madrid
3,824 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#60 of 435 in Madrid
1,702 reviews
Centro
Intur Palacio San Martin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 435 in Madrid
1,635 reviews
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#22 of 435 in Madrid
3,399 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 435 in Madrid
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liabeny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liabeny

Property: Hotel Liabeny
Address: Calle Salud, 3, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Madrid
#20 Business Hotel in Madrid
#22 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#39 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Liabeny 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being positioned in the centre of Madrid makes visiting the city even more appealing. Everything is just minutes' walk from Hotel Liabeny; Puerta del Sol, Madrid's Gran Vía, museums, monuments, historical sites, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Liabeny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Liabeny Sercotel
Liabeny Sercotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing