We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Super hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jardin de Recoletos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jardin de Recoletos
Ranked #22 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Super hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed here for weekend 23-25 March with 2 friends. Super hotel in good area (a very short walk to Retiro park) with spacious, clean rooms. Hotel reception staff very helpful and friendly. Had a triple room. There is a small kitchen area with a fridge stocked with small amount of complimentary soft drinks, very much appreciated! No kettle tho! Make sure you visit the Mallorca cafe/ patisserie on closeby Calle de Serrano for brunch! Delicious and worth every penny! Madrid is a fabulous city and Hotel Jardin de Recoletes is a very good base to use! Was €300 for 2 nights for the room (exc breakfast) which was good value for the standard of accomm and the hotel's location. Would def use again if revisiting Madrid.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJTGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear guest.
We just wanted to thank you for sharing your opinion at Trip advisor about your last stay at our Jardin de Recoletos hotel.
We are glad you found our reception staff helpful and efficient and that you enjoyed the large size of our rooms, the kitchen and the soft drinks that we offer to all our clients.
We take note that you would have liked a kettle in the kitchen, although with the type of coffee pot that we offer in the kitchenettes of all our rooms it is also possible to make infusions.
We are also glad that you found out hotel a good value, and hope to see you very soon at our Jardin de Recoletos hotel.
Many thanks.
Sandra Serrano
Marketing manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    161
    24
    5
    0
See reviews for
134
209
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights with young child with us.
Rooms were very spacious for European or any standards, very good and helpful staff.
We requested for early check-in and we got it.
Decent breakfast spread with pastries, juices, cheeses, cold cuts and hot breakfast items.
All attractions of Madrid like Retiro Park, Prado Museo, Reine Sofia Museo, Plaza Mayor are all within walking distance and it's great fun to explore.
Hotel is located in shopping district with loads of nice little boutiques and fashion houses galore.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Guarangd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your time giving us you opinion about VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.
We are very happy you enjoyed the central location of our hotel and the attractions you can find around it.
It would be nice to see you again in VP Hoteles and we hardly recommend you to try our Restaurant.
Once again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We booked this trip last minute & had a fabulous time. The hotel is in a lovely area of Madrid, just far away enough from the city centre. Lovely shops and cafes within walking distance (recommend the Mallorca cafe for breakfast, just around the corner). The metro & main bus stops are a short walk away to get into the city or to ride the 'hop-on'hop-off' tour bus. The hotel staff (Samuel in particular!) were very friendly and incredibly helpful & the hotel was clean, room spacious and well equipped.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank rebecca7675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel at TripAdvisor.
It is great to read that you had a fabulous time in our hotel. We sent your comments to our staff, especially to Samuel, and they are really happy and motivated now!
If you decide to visit Madrid do not hesitate to come back to VP Jardín de Recoletos or any of the VP Hoteles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOSCOW
Level Contributor
248 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed there 3 nights in June 2011.
Location is very good - quiet, short walk to downtown and city's main attractions.
Our room was large, with balcony facing the small street.
We fit comfortably with 2 our children. It was fully equipped with modern amenities, also we got WiFi for free.
We complained about Air Conditioning, but it was fixed right away (needed to be cleaned)
Breakfast served in a charming inner yard, food was well varied and delicious.
The restaurant seems to be very famous one - we tried to reserve the table for dinner, but all 3 evenings it was fully booked.
Really reccomended, especially for families

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoscowPavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear guest,
Many thanks for the opinion you have shared at Tripadvisor about our VP Jardín de Recoletos.
We are happy to read that you were comfortable in our large rooms with your children. Hopefully, the next time you visit Madrid you would taste our Mediterranean food Restaurant.
Thanks again for sharing your opinion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed there in mid-January 2012. The hotel fully lived up to my expectations: efficient, clean and very well located.
In fact, couldn’t find anything to complain about. Breakfast was well varied, coffee delicious. Free wi-fi in the room was a nice and unexpected bonus (get login info from the reception). The bed was very firm (though this doesn’t have to be a disadvantage). Rooms were cleaned promptly every morning. Drinks (water and Schweps) in the minibar were replaced free of charge every day. The bathroom had all the amenities a traveler can possibly need.
The hotel is just a 5 minute walk (downhill) to the airport bus stop at Plaza de Cibeles. The Retiro metro station is 3 minutes away, and so is the Retiro park (a must on a sunny morning!)
Reception staff were courteous (although quite formal, which, again, is not a disadvantage in my view).
Some noise from the other rooms could be heard though I have yet to stay in a fully sound-proof hotel and the noise does not outweigh the positives.
Overall, if I were to stay in Madrid again, I would most likely book Jardin (with the same garden view)!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Tessa,
We just wanted to thank you for the excellent opinion you have stated at Tripadvisor about our VP Jardin de Recoletos hotel. It is such a pleasure to read opinions like yours which with no doubt, help all our staff to keep being motivated and happy to for giving their best to all our clientes.
You are always welcome at all our hotels, and hope to see you very soon again.
Best wishes,
Sandra Serrano
Sales Manager VP hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed in the Jardin de Recoletos mid December 2011 due to Tripadvisor contributions. Every single person is amazed by this hotel. Well, I am not amazed. I am happy with the hotel. Yes, it is a quiet hotel which is great. I am unimpressed with the staff. They did what they needed to do. check in and give keys. I work in the hospitality industry and I know what a smile can do. Anyway, nice hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden as there is a nightclub around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Traveljoost,
Many thanks for the time you spent writting your opinions at Trip Advisor.
We are very happy that our hotel itself covered your expectations, however, we are worried about the comment about our staff. We always try to give our best smile and best disposal to all our clientes, and if you had the impression that our staff did not cover your hospitality standars then we have a problem. In order to sort this out, we would really appreciate if you could please directly contact me at: comercial@vphoteles.com and give me more details about the period of your stay so that we can talk to the staff that were on duty at the reception on those days and will talk to them to try to avoid this actitude for future clientes. However, the reception manager already has this opinion in his hands and will do the besto to always guarantee a smile for all our VP hotels clients.
Many thanks for your time and we hope to see you soon at VP hotels
Sandra Serrano: comercial@vphoteles.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 446 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 446 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#19 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,391 reviews
Jardin Metropolitano
#48 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin de Recoletos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin de Recoletos

Property: Jardin de Recoletos
Address: Calle Gil de Santivanes 6, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#15 Business Hotel in Madrid
#17 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#17 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardin de Recoletos 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished during August 2013, the hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos is located just a few steps from Retiro Park, Puerta de Alcalá and the National Library. VP Jardín de Recoletos is the perfect choice for a stay in Madrid because of its 43 spacious rooms, its beautiful garden and its excellent location in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Jardin de Recoletos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin De Recoletos Hotel Madrid
Jardin De Recoletos Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing