We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jardin de Recoletos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jardin de Recoletos
Ranked #23 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with 2 friends and we had a lovely time. Easy to find - we got the bus from airport to Plaza de Cibeles and it was no more than a 10 minute walk to the hotel. The guy on reception was very pleasant and helpful and check-in was quick and efficient. Rooms were lovely and the complimentary soft drinks and water a nice touch. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel but ate in the Mallorca patisserie round the corner in Calle Serrano. The only negative comment I could make is that the walls in the room are paper thin. I was awakened at 4am by the couple in the next room in the throes of passion!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shar0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guest.
Many thanks for sharing your opinion at Trip advisor about your last stay at our Jardin de Recoletos hotel.
Thank you for your opinion about our rooms and the free soft drinks that we offer to all our clients. We are glad you found our reception staff helpful since that is our main goal at VP hotels. We are also very happy that you enjoyed our location next to many points of interest of Madrid. Regarding the soundproofing, we are already making studies to identify the nosiest rooms to make the necessary works to solve this matter as soon as possible.
We hope to see you very soon at our hotel.
Many thanks for your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    167
    24
    5
    0
See reviews for
143
214
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

For every traveler, except those who need maximum luxury or maximum buzz right around the hotel, Jardin de Recoletos is an ideal choice.

Because we were going to be jet-lagged and in need of much rest, we opted for this hotel in the relatively quiet Retiro/Salamanca barrio, instead of being smack in the middle of Old Madrid. It was a great choice.

The rooms are very good-sized for a European capital city. All the room faciltiies (bathroom, kitchenette) were spotlessly clean. The decor is not "current", but the built-ins and fixtures were very good quality and in good shape. All rooms have a view of the street (super quiet) or the garden. No "light well" views to worry about. Beds are among th emost firm that I have slept on in Spain. Shower pressure was very good, and the shower head placement will please taller men.

The breakfasts were the best that we had on our trip, and the breakfast room was light-filled, with a garden view. Much more appealing than the typical basement breakfast room.

The neighborhood is quiet and upscale -- very safe feeling. There are a dozen restaurants within two blocks, and most of the attractions of Madrid (including the art museums) are within a 20 minute walk.

Room Tip: No bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaronVonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear guest,
We just wanted to thank you for sharing the excellent opinion you had in your last stay at our Jardin de Recoletos hotel. We have already sent your opinion to all our staff of Jardin de Recoletos hotel, and we are all very happy and motivated to see that we are doing a good job with our clients.
Please do not hesitate to make your next reservation directly through our website.
We hope to see you very soon at our Jardin de Recoletos hotel.
Many thanks.
Sandra Serrano
Marketing Manager at VP hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

My wife booked a surprise trip to Madrid for my birthday to watch Real Madrid and picked the Jardin de Recoletos because of it's location, halfway between the Santiago Bernabeu and the main city centre (Sol), the hotel was absolutely perfect and very reasonably priced.

Before going, we had no idea what to expect from Madrid as the whole trip was based around the football experience. Madrid does have plenty to offer though and so we'd happily return again. Anyone going should prepare themselves for the number of beggars on the streets, there's loads but that's my only slight negative! When travelling, buy yourself a metrobus ticket. It entitles you to ten trips on the underground and only costs around 11 euros.

The cable car ride at Arguelles is well worth a visit 5.50 euros each for an 11 minute ride, each way, across part of Madrid. At the top you can sit in the restaurant and look out over the Madrid skyline. The Hard Rock cafe is just around the corner from the hotel and has some very friendly staff. Be prepared for large portions though! :-)

Ullysses Irish Pub on Calle de Fellipe III is brilliant, shows Sky Sports and has some great staff too. The food there is excellent too and cheaper than some other nearby establishments.

Make sure you take a walk around one of the many parks in Madrid. On a warm summers day, there's no better way to enjoy the relaxed spanish attitude to life. The best park is Parque del Retiro with its boating lake. This is just a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel.

As for the football, well the Bernabeu stadium is very impressive and although the tickets were expensive, you do need to be quick when buying them online. We chose to buy them direct from the club but they only come on sale a week before the game so be vigilant! The stadium tour is also recommended. £16 each and you get to go everywhere. Dressing rooms, press conference room, pitch side and in the dugouts, trophy room, museum and more.

One last tip! If you're going for the football and fancy dressing for the occasion, buy a Madrid shirt in england before you leave. The shirts were on sale in Madrid for 75 euros (£62). You can buy the same shirt over here for £40-45 so don't get sucked in!

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel. There are a couple of restaurants near the hotel and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacebos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear guest,
Many thanks for the opinion you have shared at TripAdvisor about VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your football weekend in Madrid and tooke the most of the location of our hotel in the centre of Madrid.
Thank you for sharing with TripAdvisor travelers the surroundings and the places you can visit from VP Jardín de Recoletos.
We hope to see you again in our VP Hoteles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed here for weekend 23-25 March with 2 friends. Super hotel in good area (a very short walk to Retiro park) with spacious, clean rooms. Hotel reception staff very helpful and friendly. Had a triple room. There is a small kitchen area with a fridge stocked with small amount of complimentary soft drinks, very much appreciated! No kettle tho! Make sure you visit the Mallorca cafe/ patisserie on closeby Calle de Serrano for brunch! Delicious and worth every penny! Madrid is a fabulous city and Hotel Jardin de Recoletes is a very good base to use! Was €300 for 2 nights for the room (exc breakfast) which was good value for the standard of accomm and the hotel's location. Would def use again if revisiting Madrid.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJTGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear guest.
We just wanted to thank you for sharing your opinion at Trip advisor about your last stay at our Jardin de Recoletos hotel.
We are glad you found our reception staff helpful and efficient and that you enjoyed the large size of our rooms, the kitchen and the soft drinks that we offer to all our clients.
We take note that you would have liked a kettle in the kitchen, although with the type of coffee pot that we offer in the kitchenettes of all our rooms it is also possible to make infusions.
We are also glad that you found out hotel a good value, and hope to see you very soon at our Jardin de Recoletos hotel.
Many thanks.
Sandra Serrano
Marketing manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights with young child with us.
Rooms were very spacious for European or any standards, very good and helpful staff.
We requested for early check-in and we got it.
Decent breakfast spread with pastries, juices, cheeses, cold cuts and hot breakfast items.
All attractions of Madrid like Retiro Park, Prado Museo, Reine Sofia Museo, Plaza Mayor are all within walking distance and it's great fun to explore.
Hotel is located in shopping district with loads of nice little boutiques and fashion houses galore.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Guarangd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your time giving us you opinion about VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.
We are very happy you enjoyed the central location of our hotel and the attractions you can find around it.
It would be nice to see you again in VP Hoteles and we hardly recommend you to try our Restaurant.
Once again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We booked this trip last minute & had a fabulous time. The hotel is in a lovely area of Madrid, just far away enough from the city centre. Lovely shops and cafes within walking distance (recommend the Mallorca cafe for breakfast, just around the corner). The metro & main bus stops are a short walk away to get into the city or to ride the 'hop-on'hop-off' tour bus. The hotel staff (Samuel in particular!) were very friendly and incredibly helpful & the hotel was clean, room spacious and well equipped.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank rebecca7675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel at TripAdvisor.
It is great to read that you had a fabulous time in our hotel. We sent your comments to our staff, especially to Samuel, and they are really happy and motivated now!
If you decide to visit Madrid do not hesitate to come back to VP Jardín de Recoletos or any of the VP Hoteles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOSCOW
Level Contributor
248 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed there 3 nights in June 2011.
Location is very good - quiet, short walk to downtown and city's main attractions.
Our room was large, with balcony facing the small street.
We fit comfortably with 2 our children. It was fully equipped with modern amenities, also we got WiFi for free.
We complained about Air Conditioning, but it was fixed right away (needed to be cleaned)
Breakfast served in a charming inner yard, food was well varied and delicious.
The restaurant seems to be very famous one - we tried to reserve the table for dinner, but all 3 evenings it was fully booked.
Really reccomended, especially for families

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoscowPavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear guest,
Many thanks for the opinion you have shared at Tripadvisor about our VP Jardín de Recoletos.
We are happy to read that you were comfortable in our large rooms with your children. Hopefully, the next time you visit Madrid you would taste our Mediterranean food Restaurant.
Thanks again for sharing your opinion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Jardin Metropolitano
#48 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
El Madrono
El Madrono
#29 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Lealtad Plaza
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin de Recoletos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin de Recoletos

Property: Jardin de Recoletos
Address: Calle Gil de Santivanes 6, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#15 Business Hotel in Madrid
#17 Family Hotel in Madrid
#19 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardin de Recoletos 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished during August 2013, the hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos is located just a few steps from Retiro Park, Puerta de Alcalá and the National Library. VP Jardín de Recoletos is the perfect choice for a stay in Madrid because of its 43 spacious rooms, its beautiful garden and its excellent location in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Jardin de Recoletos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin De Recoletos Hotel Madrid
Jardin De Recoletos Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing