We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great rooms outside bar overpriced and the service is slow.”
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #39 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2012

lived up to the reviews on this site would recommend and stay again

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adillster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Gran Melia Fenix, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid, as well as for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

Your comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality for our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Gran Meliá Fénix.

Sandra Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

930 - 936 of 2,178 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

that was my second stay at mila fenix we got premier room with uprate to club or as they called it red level everyone very friendly from door guy till the level .on my birthday i asked the concierge office to book me table at hard rock cafe cause it was my birthday the problem was that weekend and national holiday but they did their best and got us a table when we got back at night at the lounge Senora Gemma knew it was my birthday i found in my room nice bottle of wine and Delicious cake . it is usually my choice in Madrid thanks for every one
but still prefer the room in 6 floor more in five

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bishay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Gran Meliá Fénix, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your last stay in Madrid.

Also thank you for your kind comments about the hotel, and staff; be assured that I will share them with the entire team.

Looking forward to welcoming you at The Gran Meliá Fénix.

Best regards,

Sandra Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Alot has already been written about the excellent service and hospitality of all the staff, we certainly echo these sentiments,from the doorman, room service, reception, concerige and all the housekeeping staff everyone was warm,welcoming and just could not do enough for us in our four day stay.

We joined the leading hotels of the world and booked through leading hotels website we received a complimentary upgrade from deluxe to supreme room. We also got free continental breakfast and amazingly a lovely gift in our room each day which ranged from tin sweets to chocolate. It was also our anniversary when we arrived and the management delivered a lovely hand written note (lost art) and bottle of moet champagne and tray of chocolate covered strawberrys to mark this occasion. Each night our turn down service even laid nightclothes out on the bed and lovely chocolates. The breakfast was ample and I had beautiful freshly squeezed juice and freshly made eggs of my choice each morning with a massive selection of pastries and breads all wonderful. Staff seating guests were wonderful and extremely accomodating to requests.

The location is fab its really one of the nicest areas in madrid with access to all attractions very safe and felt plush. Hard Rock cafe under hotel really handy and nice for lunch or cocktail although the cocktail bar area attached to hotel was wonderful also. We did have room service dinner one of the nights having walked and walked visiting museums and NASA exhibit and the food was nice. I wouldn't exactly rave about it but both my husbands chicken dish and my own pasta dish was nice and no complaints. They even provided a lovely candle and a bottle of cava on the house which was amazing...

The only one minor thing and its really a suggestion for the guest services/management, the mattress were very good however they were very firm. My husband had no problems at all with this and slept like log but I do not like this firm a mattress and did toss and turn to get comfortable on the first night. They were extremely accomodating and put an extra duvet on my side to act like a mattress topper for the remainder of the stay. However I have noted others have commented on firm mattress and would suggest the hotel invest in some memory foam mattress toppers which they could utilise for guests who request. The reception did note that some guests had used the extra duvet option so I am assuming I am not the first to note. However this is just a personal preference so I did not take anything away from the hotel for this. Everything else was just so perfect and actually sets the bar very high for future trips and hotels. The room itslef had view and was spacious and bed huge proper king size and not two joined together. The bathroom was not tiny as everyone has suggested but not huge either but very plush, lovely etro and clarins products.

They are updating spa/gym and my husband used the reebok club and said the services here were wonderful and only five minute walk away so not big deal.

enjoy your stay and yes we will definately return

Room Tip: Leaders club well worth joining and the hotel will upgrade members if room available we did not even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Madrid. We were honoured to be your choice to spend a so special time for you. Congratulations for your anniversary again!!

We really appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix Hotel, and we would like to thank you for your kind feedback. It is always a pleasure to know that we met your expectations. Many thanks also for your kind suggestions, we have highlighted them as any observations from our Guests allow us to improve our service.

We will share your comments among our team, as we will certainly be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future!!.

Sincerest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Having read the reviews on Tripadvisor we booked the red level at the Gran Melia Fenix and were very pleased with our stay there. The hotel room was really comfortable with lovely bed linen and duvet covers. The staff were really helpful and well informed about Madrid. The food etc in the red level area were great and it was good to have somewhere to relax. My only negative comment is that the hotel is located a little away from the main restaurants and bars in Madrid and we had to take a taxi at night - not particularly expensive so not a big problem. We had a meal in the restaurant, expensive and not particularly good.

Room Tip: Stay on the red level. Don't bother with the hotel restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NOS1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Dear Guest,

It is very nice to hear your kind comments about the Gran Melia Fenix! We are really proud that you had such a wonderfull experience and our Hospitality and Red Level Service met your expectations.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Kind regards,

Sandra Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Earlier in the year [ 2012 ] we had the opportunity to stay at the Gran Melia Fenix in Madrid, Spain and here are some of our impressions and memories collected.

The Gran Melia Fenix is the flagship hotel of the Spanish Melia hotel chain and is a member of The Leading Hotels of the World.

Location: Plaza de Colon on Calle Hermosilla 2 in the heart of the city, the same building houses on the opposite the Hard Rock Cafe Madrid. Access is easy to the attractions of the Spanish capital, the hotel is surrounded by famous art institutions, restaurants, cafes, the underground train and glorious shopping.

First Impressions: A grand and beautiful building with a wonderful entrance, doorman was inside, saw us coming in the hotel, took our luggage and we could check-in, the lady from downstairs brought us upstairs to the RED LEVEL Lounge in which we could check-in and had a nespresso in the meantime while waiting a few minutes until our room was ready.

Our room: Premium room with Jacuzzi and private terrace. A great room type, very elegant furnishings and great luxurious feel, ideal for our stay, this was something we looked forward too. From the fantastic bed with high quality linens, jacuzzi on the terrace, fully marbled bathroom, Clarins Paris bath amenities, large TV with international channels, fast internet access to a fully stocked mini bar, pillow menu and even a personal scent menu was on offer.

RED LEVEL: Our room type included RED LEVEL lounge access. We loved this lounge during our stay as much as the whole hotel. The services offered are fantastic as is the lounge itself a masterpiece of hospitality. We encountered friendly staff, free newspapers, complimentary champagne, gorgeous happy hour with a real dinner offering and breakfast with a la carte items, all included in our overnight rate paid. Even when we think right now about the RED LEVEL we melt away in our positive memories.

Eat || Drink: Beside the fantastic offerings in the RED LEVEL lounge, we enjoyed also room service incl. Spanish omlettes, fried rice specialities and hot chocolate. Overall, highly recommended.

Overall: A wonderful heritage hotel in the heart of the Spanish capital, a true luxury hotel which had many famous names seen over the years. We had a wonderful experience at this hotel, Gran Melia Fenix is beautiful, elegant but not overbearing. This is what luxury is all about, special for the guest and special for the hotel, employees have shown pride to work there. We felt just that as guests too.

Psssst.........As members of the MELIA MAS rewards program we received also a 40 Euro discount towards eating and drinking in the hotel, which reduced our final bill on check-out.

Would we recommend this hotel? YES!
Would we return to this hotel? YES!

Room Tip: Book a Premium room which included access to the Red Level lounge for complimentary breakfast, drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flyers007Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure to read your kind post.

I would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Gran Meliá Fénix and for publishing such inspiring and motivating words on Tripadvisor, which will help us with our continuing effort to improve the services quality for our guests.

We are proud to know that you had a good stay with us and I am delighted with your comments about the staff and the hotel, do not hesitate that I will share them with the entire team.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you had such a wonderfull experience and our RedLevel Service met your expectations.

Once again thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid and for your feedback, we really appreciate that.

Hoping to accommodate you in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Sandra Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Great Hotel. Location is perfect for all needs. Got free room upgrade from deluxe to premium with view to plaza de Colon. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrey1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you in the name of all the Gran Melia Fenix staff for your feedback.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel and we hope to see you back soon in Madrid.

Best regards,


Sandra Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The Gran Melia is an old historical hotel that is very luxurious. While the decor is not modern, the room was spacious and comfortable. The service from everyone we encountered was plesant, helpful and above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. The highlight of the hotel was the bar DRY - a fun atmosphere with great cocktails and staff. Location was nice - clean and in the more upscale part of town (near great shopping!)...a little bit away from the main sights and nightlife. Not a budget hotel, but for service alone well worth the price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fitzie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for having chosen the Gran Melia Fenix for your stay in Madrid. I also would like to thank you the kind comments you posted about our staff and our service, it is very important for us that we made your stay unforgettable.

I will share all your comments with all the Gran Melia Fenix team, in order to let them know that you felt like home.

Hope to see you soon back,

Regards from Madrid,

Sandra Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#11 of 437 in Madrid
639 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Barrio de Salamanca
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#52 of 437 in Madrid
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#36 of 437 in Madrid
1,889 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 437 in Madrid
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#32 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $255 - $1,068 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing