We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day out”

Zoo Aquarium de Madrid
Ranked #155 of 871 things to do in Madrid
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Madrid Zoo Aquarium is a zoo is park of animales where you can find more than 4,000 animals of 500 different species along its 22 hectares spread over in five continents. You can visit our giant panda family, koalas, our big habitants Africasn or our great tropical marine aquarium of the Indo Pacific.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed October 24, 2017 via mobile

We had a fabulous day here with our grandchild. A fabulous dolphin show that was included in the price and had our picture taken feeding a giraffe! Lots of animals to see including some of the bigger ones along with a great aquarium. The train ride was great fun and showed the whole zoo.
The only negative was the lack of catering outlets open at this time of year.

Thank MrB1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoo Aquarium d, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Zoo Aquarium de Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Dear Sir,

We are glad to enjoy your visit.

We regret the inconvenient about restaurants. Throughout the park, there are different restaurants with a wide variety of options. When you start the tour, we recommend consulting all schedules in information point or main coffee shop.

Thanks for your visit and kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"dolphin show"
in 127 reviews
"giant pandas"
in 25 reviews
"casa de campo"
in 43 reviews
"sea lions"
in 15 reviews
"birds of prey"
in 10 reviews
"animal shows"
in 6 reviews
"large variety of animals"
in 6 reviews
"animals seem"
in 6 reviews
"metro station"
in 22 reviews
"cable car"
in 13 reviews
"visiting madrid"
in 6 reviews
"enclosures"
in 98 reviews
"tiger"
in 26 reviews
"seal"
in 9 reviews
"captivity"
in 9 reviews
"conservation"
in 11 reviews
"batan"
in 8 reviews
Filter

57 - 61 of 2,597 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile

We visited the Madrid zoo recently and we were quite disappointed by the experience.
The main problem is that people are smoking everywhere: around the animals, near kids and even under covered areas (e.g. in the crowded space to watch the pandas indoor habitat). I don't understand how smoking can be allowed in a zoo. This is so unrespectful of animals and visitors.
Also we observed many people throwing chips and other junk food to animals to get their attention and make nice pictures.
We were on site several hours and didn't see any staff doing any prevention on this.
On the zoo itself, they have a nice collection of animals, including panda bears, and it is easy to get close to them.

2  Thank Beartizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoo Aquarium d, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Zoo Aquarium de Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Dear traveler,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

All animals of the Zoo, have a balanced diet and exclusive control by species that caregivers. Therefore, any other type of food is not allowed. This rule is essential and so is made known to the visitor during the tour.
In all indoor exhibitions and pavilions smoking is strictly forbidden, but it is essential that the public collaborate to respect all the rules of the park, including not to feed the animals for their welfare.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely zoo and easy to find and see the animals including Pandas. The road train is over 20 minutes long so do have a go. The dolphin show is great!

Buy your ticket on line to avoid queuing.

Do not miss visiting as there is also a large aquarium.

1  Thank GPhillipsMBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoo Aquarium d, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Zoo Aquarium de Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for your visit.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2017

I do like a good zoo and this one is great. Big enclosures and animals up and about and very visible. Loved the baboons and the orangutans. All seemed happy and a good breding / conservation programme AND PANDAS.

Thank ghjmep13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoo Aquarium d, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Zoo Aquarium de Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

The zoo itself I found to be fairly small but the cram so much into it. You could spend hours looking at all the different animals. Easily one of the best zoos I've ever been too.

Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zoo Aquarium de Madrid also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Zoo Aquarium de Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing