We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resonable Hotel”
Review of Hotel Cortezo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cortezo
Ranked #209 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Bit dark interior but very clean and comfortable.

Not the best entrance or street access but well located forcity exploring.

Felt that the price of a room was I bit expensive for the facilities.

Roof top terraceis well below average -felt as if I was in the external plant room

Room Tip: Better hotels in the centre at same or lower price
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2017

We travelled to Madrid for a weekend trip and this was the perfect hotel for such a trip. We did get upgraded which was great, the room was spacious and clean. Staff were very helpful and friendly especially on the front desk. There was not much of a view from the room, but the rooftop terrace was great. When we went in October, it was very quiet and we had teh entire terrace to ourselves for the beautiful sunsets.
A great location, easy to get to metro stations or to walk around the city which is what we chose to do. Perfect for a quick trip!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lvy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

we recently stayed in the hotel for a
Night and had taken a package with breakfast. The rooms are spacious and clean and with decent amenities. The location of the hotel is
Excellent just very close to the central plaza. The staff at the reception is nice but the staff in the cafe need to improve their behaviour

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Swatiib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We booked through Booking.com following an email stating prices were at a low. Four days before we travelled the same hotel, same dates and same Bed & Breakfast terms was advertised by Booking.com at €95 cheaper. This has put us off booking with this company again. As for the hotel: its in a great location for all the attractions. It was clean and the breakfast staff and food offered was the best part of this place for us. The 1st room we were given was totally unacceptable. The first door had TWO rooms listed. We swiped the key card to then be faced with two doors. We swiped our door to find a very dark and dingy room very little natural light and even with the lights on it was as if you were in the room at night. Yet this was about 1400hrs. The second room we were given was modern and clean. We know that space is a premium in the big cities but this was the smallest hotel room we have ever stayed in. The shower was a fully walk in but if you are on the large size, that's height and girth I think you would have a little problem. There was NO VIEW from either of the rooms offered. When you walked out of the front door you walked onto a dirty street with a building site opposite. Then you were faced with about 25 to 30 "Homeless" or "Refugees" and their sleeping bags etc. Would we return to this hotel. NEVER.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Had a recent stag trip out in madrid,and stayed in the Cortezo,plus points-excellent location,plenty of bars and restaurants close by,hotel was clean,beds were comfy,fresh towels each day,on the negative there was no iron or kettle in room,but I would return

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank mives1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

This was easy to get to from Atocha station Just 2 Metro stops to Tirso de Molina station. Then a short walk up to hotel. Nice room. I wouldn't say staff were friendly but they are professionally polite and helpful. Very well located with just a short and lovely walk to the tourist centre of Madrid. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Keri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Very central position, 24 hour reception, clean, cozy, big room. Comfortable bed, nice bathroom, not a great view from our window but the solarium on the roof is great, especially at night. Didn't try the breakfast buffet, but close to the hotel there are many good cafes and bars. Very safe. Recommended for anyone.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank benchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#48 of 440 in Madrid
639 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#38 of 440 in Madrid
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Persal
Hotel Persal
#122 of 440 in Madrid
822 reviews
Centro
Hotel Plaza Mayor
Hotel Plaza Mayor
#271 of 440 in Madrid
749 reviews
Huertas
Casual Madrid del Teatro
Casual Madrid del Teatro
#143 of 440 in Madrid
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortezo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortezo

Address: Calle Doctor Cortezo 3, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: $86 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cortezo 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cortezo Hotel is located in the heart of Madrid, just a few steps from Puerta del Sol. Its prime location is close to all the outstanding places in the city such as Plaza Mayor, the Prado Museum and Madrid de los Austrias (the old centre of Madrid). The hotel offers spacious, cosy rooms, solarium, gym, garage as well as a bar to relax in and regain your strength after a busy day site-seeing around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cortezo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medium Cortezo Hotel
Medium Cortezo Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing