We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice small room at a great location”
Review of Hostal Cruz Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Cruz Sol
Ranked #289 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice small room at a great location”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hostel was located at the plaza Santa Cruz.Just next to the plaza Mayor. Couln't be a better location. Te room was very small but very clean. Also the bathroom was very small but clean and enough towels. There was no breakfast but there were enough possibility's in the area around. For the price we payed it was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    122
    50
    11
    4
See reviews for
16
141
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Magic place 20 metres from Plaza de Espanha. Warm rooms en suite, free internet all the hotel features, comfy beds. Pre book to get good prices. Across the Plaza id the Mercado de San Juan, a glass covered market full of tapas bars - wow !!!

Room Tip: Rooms are small but so what!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Great location, a few steps to Plaza Mayor, abundance of bars and restaurants in the area and safe location. If you were ever bored just go to Plaza del Sol or Plaza Mayor to check out buskers. Royal Palace was a 10 minute walk away.

Hostal located on 3rd floor of building. Room was very clean. The owners live in the complex and obviously take pride in their hostel. TV in room - heaps of channels, bathroom was large and shower powerful just how I like it. Smelt like a BBQ because of restaurant downstairs which always made me hungry. Room had a balcony and a nice view of passage way which is cool to people watch. Free wifi and PC in reception area. Room and building very secure, was provided with a swipe card. Airport 30 mins away via Metro station Sol. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuanKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

It is called a hostel, but you have private rooms with your own private bathroom for only 50 Euro a night. It is an amazing value for the price, it is clean and safe and in an amazing central location right next to the Placa Mayor. If you don't need all the amenities of a concierge and in hotel breakfast (there is an excellent pastry/coffee shop right below at street level) then this is a great option for an economical place to stay in Madrid. If you're driving there is reasonably priced public parking right next to here also.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silverinc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I stayed here a few years ago when we were in Madrid. At that time I was very satisfied with the hotel and the staff too. Now I am not dissapointed.

You can read on this forum, that the hotel has a great location, and it is very good. Yes, this is true. I couldn't say any bad word on it. Perhaps that was the problem that they didn't often change towers. It happened once during five days, but it wasn't a disaster.

The staff can speak English and of course Spanish:-) , too. It is possible booking at the Hostal directly in letter. You can just write an e-mail to them and they will answer soon (whitin a short time).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eramera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This hotel is rated at 2 stars, but should be at least a 3 star.

- Yes, there is an elevator - you just need to look for it.
- Located about 50 feet from the Plaza Major
- Short walk to the Plaza del Sol
- Use the Subway to get to the hotel from the airport
- Perfect location in the heart of old Madrid
- Tons of places to eat and drink
- Rremodeledremodled
- They had a PC with Internet access near the main desk
- The people at the reception desk were very helpful
- Lots of free tourist information
- Never ran out of hot water
- Great shower


- Room was a bit small ... but normal for Europe

Room Tip: Look for the elevator, or you will be climbing a lot of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Although this review may be for Cruz Sol, they actually took us to the floor below which was for Hostal Santa Cruz. I imagine that they either own that floor as well or they are in close partnership with the owners of that hostal.
Anyways ... Location was fantastic! Seconds walk from plaza Mayor, two minutes walk to puerta de Sol plaza and in general right in the middle of all the action. Although central it is in a location that majority of foot traffic is going to one of those attractions so noise is a bit of a factor but not as bad as one would imagine. My girlfriend is a light sleeper and had no issues. I was impressed with the quality of the windows and insulation because once they were closed you could barely hear outside noises. Great urban view.
A/C worked brilliantly for such a small room within minutes you could notice a change in temperature. Washroom was very well maintained and very good quality. Even though we locked our bags with our own locks, there was a safe provided and in general we felt safe leaving our stuff behind.
To gain access to the room we were given access cards that we had to use once in the main door then again to gain access to the floor and then once more for our room.
Hostess was quick and efficient, had the room ready for us on arrival right away and was able to accommodate us. Very brief and direct requested the Balance payment on departure or in our case the last night of our stay as we were departing very early in the morning

The only cons are: space, internet, bed comfort, dirty walls/thin walls.
Room only fits the bed and some walking space which to some may be good enough.
Internet was non existant for either hostals' networks, managed to steal signal from unknown source. Bed wasn't very comfortable and walls could use a paint job.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_junkieGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#215 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Centro
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
#235 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Centro
Hostal la Macarena
Hostal la Macarena
#249 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Hispalense
Hostal Hispalense
#302 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Centro
RC Miguel Angel
RC Miguel Angel
#328 of 438 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Centro
Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Cruz Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Cruz Sol

Property: Hostal Cruz Sol
Address: Plaza Santa Cruz 6 Pl, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Cruz Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Cruz Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Cruz Sol Madrid
Hostal Cruz Sol Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing