We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
5
14
16
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
14
16
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 41 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were received in a friendly and efficient way, and the room cleaning was done regularly. (The reception was not always available, though, and more information about getting around in the city, as well as utilising the transport system would have been very useful, especially when contacting visitors after confirmation. One example is the diffference in transport cost between a taxi, about 42 euro, and the metro, about 2,5 euro per person, which is very close to the Hostal Playa, at the Puerta del Sol.
The room was pleasant, with private bathroom, and access by means of a elevator, which is essential, quite convenient.
What we liked most, was the convenient location, within walking distance of Plaza Mayor, Plaza Puerto del Sol, the Prado, etc. What we liked least, was the inconvenient mattress on the double bed, and late-night noise of revellers on Friday evening.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ernst K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Buget accomodation in an excellent location just a few steps from Puerto de sol. The rooms where cleaned daily, had aircon and an comfortable bed and their own bathroom. The hotel also offered free wifi. I guess that this place is a redone Spanish apartment and therefore a little noisy from the hallway since the doors are thin, if you are a light sleeper bring earplugs. I think that this is a really nice alternative if you are searching for a budget accommodation and do not want all the bells and whistles a hotel is offering. The hostel does not offer breakfast but this is not an issue since there are restaurants just steps away. Just note that the english skills of the staff are very limited!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pazzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Stayed for 3rd time in Hostal Player Calle De Victoria, Sol, Madrid. Its on 4th floor of an appartment block of typical spanish disign. Little balcony to look out onto the street and feel the hussle and bussle going on. Loads of places to eat and drink. Plaze Mayor just up the road and also Plaze Santa Ana round the back. Down the main road is all the museums and gardens. Ryal palace in other direction. 2 Euro per person on train from Airport to Sol. Cant beat it. Playa is a small place and dont expect room service. They clean your room and thats it. its just a place to crash of a night time and suits that perfectly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bigmarkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2010

I recently stayed in the Playa Hostal arriving late and lost one cold night. The best thing about the place was the price, and I negotiated a better price on a longer stay. I think it was excellent value for money. I liked the room; it was just so in every respect. (Slightly small mattress, but hey I'm tall :) The manager is definitely trying her best, and her straight forward communication attracted me. A previous reviewer mentioned a double-booking problem. Well, I got kicked out so that the Playa could honour a booking that may never have materialised, so they're working on it. One has to take these things philosophically--I never book online as the world is so contingent and I always like to see a room first. There are a dozen decent hostels within a few hundred metres of the Playa; If you don't like what you see, go take a look at some of the others in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank critterculleye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews