We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Appointed”
Review of Hotel Urban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Urban
Ranked #17 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well Appointed”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This hotel is an incredible piece of modern art. Superb appointments through out the hotel and rooms make this a unique experience. Luxurious and located in the heart of town. There is an amazing collection of African art throughout the structure. The roof top bar and pool give an excellent place to get away from the crowds. I have been here twice, because the first visit just wasn't enough.

Room Tip: The rooms are a bit small but so well designed and beautiful that it wasn't an issue for me. Tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear Sir.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,177
    502
    134
    47
    16
See reviews for
205
974
93
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Thursday to sunday last week with a group of 20 people + baby. The service was perfect. Meeting facility downstairs very good for my group. Very good tapas served on the terrace. Service perfect also here. The hotel staff was there all the time ready to help, serve og find locations for us. Have already told one of my neighbors too book this hotel for their stay in Madrid in March next year.

The Urban Hotel also have a perfect location for walking to all the places you want too see. Tree minutes walk to the Placa Ana, ten minutes walk to Placa Major and so on. This hotel is very good!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roldal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear Sir.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
301 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We really enjoyed our 4 nights stay at this beautifully designed hotel. The concierge was very friendly and gave us a lot of very helpful information about the city. Our tastefully decorated superior room with a good size bathroom made us feel very comfortable during our stay. The location is also perfect. We highly recommend this unique and charming hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RROesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear Sirs.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We decided to go for a suite at this hotel, not a junior suite, but a larger one. The suite was on the fifth floor and was promised to be sound proofed in the details. I liked the hotel and I liked the suite ,it seemed clean and nice, the decor was good and I was quite happy. Although we then noticed a nasty water mark on the wall and some leak/flood marks on the bathroom ceiling which should have been attended to considering the price of the room. Unfortunately our suite was directly below the bar and on the thursday and particularly on the friday night we were kept awake till 4 in the morning by loud noisy scraping and moving of furniture along the floor above our heads. It was so loud that it just seemed surreal. The bar closed at 3 in the morning but unbelievably the noise kept going after that. Eventually I decided to investigate and got dressed and went up to the bar which was on the roof terrace. I was met by shocked faces of some men clearing up as i tried to explain to them that we were trying to sleep underneath in the floor below. They looked suitably embarassed and i then returned to my room where we then managed to get some sleep. I later found out Sherlock Holmes style that there was a storage cupboard for the bar, directly above our room which must have been where the strange scraping and moving of furniture noises were coming from! As this had kept us awake on the thursday and especially on the friday we asked to be moved. To their credit the front desk did immediately move us to an identical suite on a quieter floor, but since we had lost sleep and then had to repack all our stuff I felt I had to ask for a discount and we were given 20 percent off those first two nights. The rest of our stay was fine but why put one of your supposedly best hotel suites below a very noisy part of the hotel?

Room Tip: Avoid fifth floor below bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marumba_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear Sirs.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Welcome was perfect. Rooms are amazing very modern and high spech. Food is excellent specially there ala carte restaurant. Only complaint is the matress on the bed! Location is great.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Dear Sirs.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This was my second stay in the Urban, the last time was 4 years ago. This time we were there for 5 nights so booked a duplex suite to get a bit more space.

On arrival the hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming. We chatted about the hotel and Madrid. We were also given vouchers for some champagne in the hotel. Check in was very quick and simple.

First impression of the room was that it was very dark. The downstairs bedroom was ok, but the window overlooked the building next door and the darkness made it feel small. Also downstairs was the bathroom and a walk in cupboard. The bathroom was a good size and was very clean. The cupboard was very big and there was plenty room to keep all our luggage.

The upstairs living room was a good size and was a comfortable, bright space to sit.

There were televisions in the upstairs and downstairs rooms but there were only a couple of English language channels and the picture quality was really bad. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, but when we were there we didn't really have the option of watching tv. Some of the booking websites state that the rooms have DVD and CD players, but our room didn't.

The room is looking a bit worn in places, but overall it was a good room.

There is a charge for wifi in this hotel which is surprising as most hotels offer it free. There are 2 computers beside reception for guests to use, but one of them seemed to be in constant use when we were there and the other didn't work very well, there were keyboard problems that the reception staff couldn't really help with.

We didn't eat at the hotel. We went to the rooftop bar for our free champagne on the day we arrived, it was still open due to the extended good weather. It was a lovely place to sit and have a quiet drink, I would recommend that for the bar. We didn't use the pool.

The glass bar on the ground floor was very busy on our first night. We decided to go there on our second night after we'd been out. It was quiet, there were only a few other people in the bar when we got there and one person when we left, it lacked atmosphere.

The hotel location is excellent, you can easily walk around the city from here.

I enjoyed my stay here and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Dear Madam.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommdating. You are walking distance away from major attractions in the city (i.e. Plaza Mayor, Del Sol, The Palace, several museums and the Parc Retiro) to name a few. We had a Superior Room, which was small (like most European hotels) but nice. The room we had looks exactly like the picture posted on their website. Very clean. It would receive a higher rating, but the bed was not comfortable (very hard, could feel the springs and the pillow very soft). They only provide 1 hour of free WiFi so be aware of that.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cjcks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Dear Sirs.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#35 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 436 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban

Property: Hotel Urban
Address: Carrera de San Jeronimo, 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Madrid
#12 Business Hotel in Madrid
#13 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Urban 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand luxury five-star hotel located in the very heart of Madrid, in the museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Queen Sofia Foundation and just a few minutes away from Paseo del Prado, Puerta del Sol and El Retiro park.Located in a newly constructed building in the heart of the financial, political, commercial and cultural centre of Madrid, the Hotel Urban won't fail to catch your interest.With a marked Art-Deco style and opting for avant-garde architecture, the Hotel Urban is a boutique hotel from the 21st century, urban, design and ideal for exacting lovers of luxury who shy from conventionality. A charming, modern design hotel that has already become a point of reference. It stands out not only in the hotel panorama but also among Madrid's dining establishments and nighttime entertainment venues thanks to Europa Decó and the Glass Bar.Services102 guest rooms: 78 superior rooms, 10 junior suite duplex, 5 junior suites, 8 suites, and 1 duplex loft suiteEuropa Decó gastronomic restaurantGlass Bar oyster barLa Terraza del Urban cocktail barEl Cielo del UrbanBreakfast buffetBreakfast until 1.00 pm24-hour room service and mini-barWi-Fi in all areasBusiness centreFunction rooms and spaces for events: Nagha room, Khemer room, Nefer room, Egyptian Museum, lobby/atrium, terrace-pool and suite 132Outdoor swimming pool and solariumGymEgyptian MuseumCollection of ancient artParkingLaundry and ironing serviceDisabled accessSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Derby Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Urban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Urban Hotel
Hotel Urban Madrid
Urban Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing