We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice cafe in a bookstore

During our short Madrid visit, we were looking for a place to have a coffee and have some rest. The... read more

Reviewed July 9, 2015
OfftheRoadontheTrack
,
Munich, Germany
El Bistro de la Central

This cafe was excellent for breakfast--the service was great. The breakfast and coffee delicious... read more

Reviewed April 23, 2015
meagantravel
,
Switzerland
Read all 109 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Madrid
from US$57.31
More Info
from US$86.00
More Info
from US$45.90
More Info
from US$25.20
More Info
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
5
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
4
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 10 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

We were hold standing on a waiting line for more than 10 minutes. Once we decided to just get in and get a place, we were there for about 20 minutes without being served. Lots of people working there but really busy to offer a good service. Just not recommended.

Thank Borja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2016

I went there to ask for a book, a rather hard book to find-by a Greek author. And in just 5 days I had my book! What can I say about that? Despite the fact that the book store is a gold- mine of books, the building very beautiful, the cafe very attractive, what I appreciated the most was the helpful stuff.
I hope next time I will go for pleasure, too, not just...business. :-)

Thank Roulika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2015

During our short Madrid visit, we were looking for a place to have a coffee and have some rest. The cafe fulfilled our needs in that sense. Some details:
Atmosphere: Quite nice, cosy
Menu: Simple foods (sandwich, tortilla, etc.) and drinks
Prices: Prices were average. We paid for a tortilla 2,5€ and for cappuccino something around 2€
Staff: They were kind but cannot speak English

All in all, nice cafe. If you are around, you can stop by.

Thank OfftheRoadontheTrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2015

This cafe was excellent for breakfast--the service was great. The breakfast and coffee delicious. And it was set in a bookshop, which made it quiet yet full of life.

Thank meagantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2015

After walking around downtown Madrid for several days and visiting many bookshops in the area, I can now confidently say that La Central de Callao is one of the very best (the first place would go, without a doubt, to Casa del Libro on Gran Vía though). La Central de Callao has a very nice selection of books, alongside with some stationary, toys, souvenirs, etc. The place is also located close to some touristic attractions and has a coffee shop (with free wifi but slow service) next to it. Compared to many other bookshops in the area, this place doesn´t only have a wide selection of books; it´s also quite big and clean but somewhat expensive.

1  Thank Odon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2014

Should you love books and everything around them, you have to go there. It is not just about books, it is also a wonderful experience. Outside it is a really magnificient building and inside you can let you lead through the different signs in there...you can even have lunch or dinner or just a kappa coffe. They organise various events too. Simply a visit worth, in the city centre. One of the most beautiful bookshops I've ever visited.

Thank César C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2014

La Central located in a busy shopping area of Madrid combines bookstore/café with success. The café offers a variety: sandwiches, pastries, wonderful coffee, lunch and dinner option. I found it an oasis from the bustle of Madrid. The service is relaxed, friendly, helpful. The wifi is free and reliable. And the food is very tasty, although a bit expensive. But the location, its decoration, relaxing environment, and bookstore are worth it. It became a definite choice for m.

1  Thank Pucela08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2014

What I like the most about this bookstore and bistro is its location in a pretty magnificent old building, the looks and rooms and stairs of which have been preserved to create a really nice space. It is a bookstore but one may as well be visiting a "house", what with the rooms looking like they must have back when the building was a actually a regal home. Very friendly staff, and the bistro is cute and well serviced. It's smack next to the Callao square so you don't have to get out of your way to visit.

1  Thank evilalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is the kind of place that reminds you why in person book shopping is so much fun. Great staff and a fun place to grab a bite to eat. Be sure to visit the artbook section.

1  Thank Fceexp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Been looking for a place with wifi which I can probably stay in for a couple of hours, to escape from the heat in the summer. Passed by this unique book shop + cafe and it looked very appealing to me! Wide genre of books available, and unique designer's products(notebooks, postcards etc) in sale too. But they're a little pricey. One thing I forgot to do was to check whether there was an electricity socket in there.

1  Thank zeeneee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews