We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very traditional environment and the musicians were really excellent!”
Review of Essential Flamenco

Essential Flamenco
Ranked #2 of 159 Concerts & Shows in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: From 6 artist on stage: Two dancers with a singer, a guitarrist, percussion and a violin or flute. Since its beginnings, Flamenco has evolved in hidden places. It is danced and sung in private, in the presence of a select group of friends, without any amplification. Often, a brick cellar would be chosen, due to its wonderful acoustics. This is the authentic, unvarnished performance that we seek to recreate: a man and a woman dancing, a singer, a guitarist, a violin and percussion, sounds and shadows on ancient brick-lined cellar walls, all in a show lasting one hour. Welcome to Essential Flamenco.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Very traditional environment and the musicians were really excellent. Thanks to them for sharing their art with us.

Thank Ben E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramiro F, Gerente at Essential Flamenco, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hello Ben: I will communicate your thanks to the artists. That's the real deal of this art, to share with the audience the joy of the party, as if it were a family, private celebration. Thank you for your kind commment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Fantastic! Very intimate environment with passionate performers who are committed to their craft. Environment and costumes are simple, but performers are very engaging. I highly recommend it!

Thank LaurelWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramiro F, Gerente at Essential Flamenco, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hello LaurelWild: Your are right, the lack of accessories things, put the spot in where it has to be: In artist´s passion. You said "passionate performers" and "very engaging". That's exactly what we want you to remember, more than the environment or costumes.
Thanks for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

I was a little bit sceptical but I have to admit it was a great experience. The whole show was great. Nice music and lovely dancing by the dancers an musicians. I recommend this

Thank Henrik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramiro F, Gerente at Essential Flamenco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Hello Henrik: You are right. Sometimes, been tourist, you have to be a little bit sceptical. But this time you founded real artist loving what they do, which is the key for emotion, the key of art. Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

I've been wracking my brain trying to figure out what was so good about this performance. I've been to world-renowned performances in NYC and London, and this was on par with (if not better than) those shows. I finally figured out what it was - the camaraderie and intimacy of the show. I honestly felt like I was watching a group of friends together for the evening, dancing, singing, and playing music. To me, that's what the performing arts are all about - seeing people do what they love with those they care about. I can't say enough about this show. Just go. You will absolutely love it.

As an aside, we ordered our tickets about 2 months ago online. They never made it to my inbox but the nice man at the box office saw the screen shot I'd taken of the transaction and asked no more questions. Also, the sangria can be wine or beer, but the sangria is delicious! Enjoy!

Thank TNsnowflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramiro F, Gerente at Essential Flamenco, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Hello TNsnowflakes: You get right to the point! Old flamenco,100 years ago (before the tourist "discover" Spain), used to be a semi clandestine performance, sung and danced in brick caves like ours. A small audience of "señoritos" (The sons of wealthy families, whom pays the artists), and selected guess. no more than 40 people, enjoying this beautiful art in privacy.
No Paellas along; no microphones, neither amplifiers, in a 300 seats place. That´s the "interpretation of flamenco" made up for tourist.
"I honestly felt like I was watching a group of friends together for the evening, dancing, singing, and playing music". You can´t imagine how happy made us, that some sensitive people understand what we are doing.
Thank you for your wise criticism.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Excellent show, a true taste of Oriental dance culture in Spain. All the performers are very passionate with their art and sitting up close to the show really gets you in a mood that you shall never forget. I strongly recommend visiting this show, small place but loads of fun.

Thank tripindoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramiro F, Gerente at Essential Flamenco, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Hello Tripindoc: Yes, flamenco has a lot of Arab Culture in it, but also Gypsy. The Gypsies leave from India and arrive to the south of Spain in year 1400 (the Arabs arrive 700 years before). Then, in that "melting pot" that was Andalusia, appears flamenco art, mixing five cultures: Gypsies, Arabs, Andalusian, Castillean (habitants from the midlle of Spain) and Jews. It was the New York of that time!
Thanks for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Essential Flamenco also viewed

 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Essential Flamenco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing