We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Place, Great Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Ranked #46 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Place, Great Time”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Lets deal with the elephant in the corner first of all. If you like a quiet time and want a view then perhaps this Hotel is not for you. I'm sure you have heard the saying New York the town that never sleeps, well Madrid is the town that never shuts up, and being on one of the main streets in the centre of the city there is a fair amount of noise even in the middle of the night so be warned. Having said that it's also exciting, colourful and also enjoyable and you get use to it (try and secure a high floor). The hotel itself was perfect, we had a Superior room on the corner of the building and the views from the two balconies were brilliant. The room was large and very well decorated, as was the bathroom. The main hotel was contemporary and very well maintained. The staff were very pleasant and answered all questions asked. Breakfast was included and was excellent, with a good variety to choose from. We didn't have any main meals during our stay as there are a plethora of restaurants, tapas bars etc to sample close by. we knew we had had a great stay as we were both very sad to leave at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    590
    102
    46
    29
See reviews for
188
739
98
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Despite the marketing and in-room materials referencing the gym and spa, these no longer exist, and any alternatives are not convenient. Also, breakfast service is from a very late 730am and there is no room service until that time. So with no tea or coffee facilities in room, and no gym, those awake early through jet lag will have to find other ways to keep themselves occupied!

However, hotel location is good, rooms are spacious and comfortable and the ambience is very pleasant!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mguyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed here on a recent trip to Madrid after visiting the same hotel several years ago when it first opened. The hotel has held up really well. Take one of the higher floor, upgraded rooms with the larger balconies. The views at night are really nice and the street noise is sort of pleasant. Their toiletries are nice too. The cocktail lounge (which doubles as the breakfast room) is less of a scene than it used to be but still a really nice place to meet friends or relax after a day of shopping. We travel a great deal and this is still one of my favorite hotels. Extremely pleasant. The people who work are a little formal and may appear stand-offish but everyone was always really nice. Free computers in the business center/library in the basement make it convenient if you aren't traveling with your phone or pc and need to check social media or email. The surrounding area is really cool to. There are some great vegetarian restaurants and Chueca is literally right at your doorstep.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael-and-Jose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The location on Gran Via can't be beat although most hotels on Gran Via would be just as convenient. Decent size rooms and bathroom. Bathroom door is a thin sliding one so sounds can easily be heard in the rest of the hotel room. Breakfast provided by the hotel is 12 euros and includes a good spread of fruits, sliced meats, cheese, yogurt and bread.

My main complain will have to be the Internet. It's spotty and will often disconnect after losing signal. Over the course of using it for a few hours during siesta time, I had to reconnect about 10 times. May not be as big of a nuisance for everyone. Also of note although it is of no fault of the hotel, there is a plaza about two blocks away Plaza de la Red de San Luis that has many night-time "working women." Be advised that hotels near Gran Via will be located near this plaza and may not be children-friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna171171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This was my second stay in this year; spent 2 nights. The location is perfect! It's on Grand Via which is the most famous street. Metro is 1 minute away on foot. Plaza De Sol is 5 minutes away on foot. All the pubs, restaurants, crowded streets are on walking distance. The hotel has a style. You'd love it! Rooms are big enough and clean. TV was small size. Ask a room which is on Grand Via side! You can watch the street from your balcony. Since my last visit they established a lobby and restaurant which has the best view that I have ever seen. Wi-fi is free of charge. The only problem is breakfast. It is really poor. And the price is high due to it's location I guess. Staff was ok. Check-in & out took short time. Next time I will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Senol84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buenos aires
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed for four nights. Nice reformed building, small lobby, modern rooms, (ask for a high floor room with balcony ( sunny) facing the lateral street (quieter rooms), good service and efficcient cleaning, we would go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hgoldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We loved staying at this hotel - it's just beautiful from start to finish. The rooms were well designed with high ceilings, wonderfully light, with perfect comfortable beds. The roof terrace is lovely too. Highly recommended. We would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Front of the building on Gran Via is a noisier, but it didn't bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattJGibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#18 of 436 in Madrid
512 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 436 in Madrid
3,717 reviews
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#21 of 436 in Madrid
3,362 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 436 in Madrid
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via

Property: Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Address: Calle Gran Via 11, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel de las Letras)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Madrid
#26 Family Hotel in Madrid
#36 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#40 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Literature can be found in every corner of the IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via and, just like your favourite book, it will whisk you away from the moment you arrive. Literary quotes adorn the walls of its rooms and famous writers have used its library to write and present their stories and novels. From A to Z, we’ll tell you the story of this hotel on Madrid’s Gran Via. A is for Anti-stress. That’s the essence of our hotel rooms. Take your pick from rooms with a whirlpool bath, with strawberries and cava for a romantic getaway, with views of the Gran Via,… and even rooms with two terraces! Room service is available for all rooms, and you can also choose the pillow that’s perfect for you. D is for Delicious. Quinoa croquettes, flame-grilled skate with salmorejo, grilled Iberian pork shoulder loin, steak tartare… Whether you enjoy our dishes in the loft, in our modern space with an open kitchen or at street level, the dishes from the restaurants at the IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via will leave you searching for words. G is for Glamour. Presentations from renowned brands, cultural events, awards and fashion galas… This hotel is one of the most centrally located in all of Madrid, and its versatile spaces are perfect for organising your events, including your wedding! Y is for You. If you’d like to clear your mind with a quick cardio session or by putting in a few miles on the exercise bike, our 24-hour fitness centre is waiting for you. We also have nutritionists and a personal trainer on hand to help you reach all of your fitness goals. P is for Pet Friendly. Holidays just aren’t the same without the furry members of your family. So bring them along! For a small supplement, you can book a room with a balcony or terrace, along with little extras including a special bed and water and food bowls. Just like we do for you, we’ll make sure your pet has everything it needs. M is for Madrileno. “Madrilenos” are those who are born and bred in this capital city. Feel like a local and weave in and out of the narrow streets that lead to the Plaza Mayor, grab a calamari sandwich for lunch, take a stroll through Retiro Park or spend a Sunday at the Rastro, the city’s largest street market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Las Letras Hotel
De Las Letras Madrid
Hotel De Las Letras Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing