We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Cost Madrid” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cat's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cat's Hostel
Ranked #23 of 407 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Low Cost Madrid”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We were a party of 11, and if you are going to stay here you have to be open minded... very good value for money, the rooms are more than enough for rest a few hours, the only problem was that at the time we stayed there ( 18th to 21st January ) they were renovating the hostel, so during the day (from 8:00 to 18:00) you cant take a nap because of the noise... Clean bathrooms, hot water, breakfast included more than enough to start the day (1 orange juice, 1 donuts/ croissant and a coffee/ hot chocolate), free internet (3 computers) downstairs in the bar, and some animation till 1:00, but the space it´s open till 3:00 if you want to socialize with other guests... Very good location with a lot of bars/tapas 5 minutes away, specially in Plaza the santa ana, one cerveceria Cien Montaditos (1 montadito =1€ and 1 large beer=1€)... if you continue along Calle del Prado a lot of diferents bars you will find... If you choose cats you´re going to have more than you paied for...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroSheratonPorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    262
    106
    52
    45
See reviews for
12
54
266
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

You could do a lot worse than this cheap hostel that's in the middle of everything. It's a good 15 minute walk to Atocha Station, 10 minutes to the Plaza Mayor, and around the corner from a small supermarket (Dia). This place is built in airy Southern Spain style with screens on the door and a roofed courtyard in the middle. The basement is a tiny bar that, on Saturday nights, serves a tiny plate of average paella with the purchase of one beer. The bathrooms are dorm-style with shower stalls, but it can get steamy and crowded. The hot water comes and goes.
The breakfast is a small cup of coffee with cereal or the biggest croissant you've ever seen. It's not a lot, but it's included and gets you going until lunch (and is a rather typical Spanish breakfast).
There's one washing machine and one dryer on each floor, so you might have to time it right when you can use it.
The only real negative is a matter of taste. At 30 years old, I might be outgrowing the hostels but this place made me feel about 100. Lots of youngsters give it an excited, vibrant feel during the day and the noise can last all night. I didn't mind it, until I needed some sleep on my last night. Then it felt relentless. But hopefully, you've had so much fun in Madrid (the most manic city I've ever been in) you'll be too exhausted to care.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McCandlessBus63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I stayed in this hostel with 9 friends. We had a good experience, yes the dorms were cramped, the sheets were not the cleanest, and the toilets were basic- but to be honest its not bad for £14 /night! They put on a free disco one night with free paella for residents- which again was ok. The central seating area is really pretty and created a nice ambience for us. The staff were fairly friendly, and they allowed us to leave our bags there till night-time when our flight was. We were barely in the hostel anyway as we were out exploring the beautiful Madrid!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Radhika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Pros - its cheap. Came because it was listed in europe's famous hostels and had great luck with them.

Cons - worst staff I have experienced. My friend arrived at 8 am and they wouldn't let him wait inside until check in at noon and they wouldn't even hold his bags for him so he had to wander the city at 8 am with his backpac and his guitar. They provide no direction and they don't seem to listen when you as a question. Often not even looking at you to respond.

There is construction going on (dec 2011) which made it very noisy early in the am but I supposed that is why it is so cheap.

There were people around cleaning and the bathrooms are clean.

The inside is absoutly beautiful.

They monitor the breakfast like nothing I've seen where you get a coffe OR a tea OR a hot chocolate and you have to order from the lady behind the counter.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boyd85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Not clean. Staff unfrendly. Breackfast only 1 donuts. Room withuot window. Durty sheets.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

There were bed bugs. I came home covered in incredibly itchy bites. The room were either too hot or too cold. Wifi was awful, you had to sit on the stairs to get a signal which made it very hard for anyone to pass. staff seemed cold and unfriendly. Breakfast in the morning was definitely not worth getting up for. Definitely would not recommend it to anyone I liked.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
272 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Too noisy, staff didn't care if ppl in the common area could use the only 2 computers available all the time, wi-fi connection wasn't good, doors were hard to open and close and ppl turned the lights on over and over at night. Breakfast was just a croissant and a glass of tea or hot chocolate, and I didn't have it on the last day because I had to leave before 8am. There was no kitchen and some ppl screamed one night while the others were sleeping.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vairegulaessamixaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Way Hostel
Way Hostel
#8 of 407 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Lavapies
Mad Hostel
Mad Hostel
#40 of 407 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Centro
The Hat
The Hat
#4 of 407 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
U Hostels
U Hostels
#9 of 407 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Lavapies
OK Hostel Madrid
OK Hostel Madrid
#11 of 407 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Huertas
Mola Hostel
Mola Hostel
#12 of 407 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat's Hostel

Property: Cat's Hostel
Address: Calle Canizares 6, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 407 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ust outside the Puerta del Sol, the center point of Madrid, you can easily and quickly make it to the city’s most famous sites, like the lively Santa Ana plaza, world-famous Prado museum, and refreshing Retiro Park. But don’t worry – we make it easy to fit in that siesta in our Andalucían style common area, beautiful evidence that Cat’s was at one time a 17th century Spanish palace.As the sun goes down, the madrileños come out! When you start your night at Cat’s Cave Bar, it is sure to be a blast! Every night of the week we will take you on the best pub crawls, where you will meet your fellow travelers and truly experience the Madrid lifestyle. During the week we also offer you tapas and shopping tours, and free Flamenco and Salsa dance classes. And of course we’ve got the basics. Our newly renovated rooms range from 4 to 14 beds, each with clean sheets and secure lockers for each guest. Breakfast is included in the price and you can choose from a variety of cereals and pastries every morning. Free wifi is available in the common areas and there are also available computers for guest use. And on departure day, we have secure luggage storage where bags can be left while you get your last tastes of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Cat's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cat`s Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing