We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a pleasent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Ranked #103 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed 17th – 20th May 2012 as previous reviews you can’t beat the location but that is the only positive. This hotel charges 4 star prices for a 2 star experience. Our room was tiny the beds were really uncomfortable and the design of the bathroom meant that there was no privacy what so ever when in use! Yes there was a high tech shower but freezing cold water. As for the staff at reception the seemed just disinterested.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAELIZABETH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

Despite there being 3 adults, we booked a family room as pricing and room descriptions indicated being more spacious than the a triple room. After booking through Expedia, I telephoned the hotel directly over a month in advance to explain our reasons for booking a family room rather than a triple and was assured by the head receptionist (Marta) that we will be allocated a larger of the family room and that she has made a note against our booking regarding this. When we arrived to check in, despite there being 3 of us at the reception desk, we found that we were given the keys to a twin room. After traipsing all our luggage up, and after a long day's travel, I must say this was highly irritating. I then had to have a long and detailed conversation at the duty receptionist to rectify this - who was highly rude and uttered not a single word of apology for their mistake. This particular receptionist continued his rude behaviour throughout our stay there. The room we were finally given was no bigger than the standard twin with bunk beds squeezed in. They seem to call themselves a high tech hotel, but the wifi was sketchy at best and the only thing high tech was the laptop provided and the shower (which was totally impractical if you wanted to avoid flooding the bathroom). I must stay they should focus on getting the basics right - such: as locks on the bathroom, proper bathroom door rather than a frosted on to avoid disturbing others in the middle of the night, providing enough hand soap, supplying irons, bath matts, sufficient pillows as standard rather than having to ask for this, also things like "do-not-disturb" tags, slighly softer mattresses, better storage for clothes, mirror in the room rather than just the one in the bathroom, repairing the water damage in the bathroom ceiling (see picture!) etc. I good go on. It definitely was not 4*!! more like 2-3*! Best bit was the location, a stone's throw to Plaza Mayor made up for it somewhat...

Room Tip: I don't know what I can recommend to enable the next visitor to choose a good room as everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickles99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

You couldn't find a better location for sightseeing: just a few yards from the Plaza Mayor down a quiet street. Nearly all the main sights are within walking distance.

The staff are friendly and helpful but not all reception staff spoke English. The room was OK but I have three minor quibbles. The shower worked fine, except that it was difficult not to flood the floor while using it - could have done with a proper door. The bed was rather hard. The free wi-fi was rather slow.

I can't comment on the value for money as we didn't pay for it!

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a very convenient central location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eri M, Departamento de ventas online at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

I was absolutely delighted to read your fantastic feedback regarding your stay hope you will join us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. I wanted near Plaza Major and this is about as close as it gets! Room a bit small bt made up by a fantastic bathroom and walk in shower. Suprisingly quiet given its central location. Recommnd Emma's bar and restaurant near the new market by Plaza Major - great Tapas.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eri M, Departamento de ventas online at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for your very complimentary review of Petit Palace Posada del Peine. Our team are delighted that you enjoyed their service and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This is far from being a 4 star hotel. Good location but that's it. Room was dirty and curious white stains on the curtain ( your guess is as good as mine). Carpet tiles dislodged and the shower was mouldy. In room computer did not work and wifi only allowed one user at a time ...in a family room. Very expensive for what it was and there are plenty of better hotels in Madrid for less money. Disappointed.

Room Tip: don't accept room 216 ( triple room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

average hotel, nothing special, but the location is great. you are right in the center

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neocy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eri M, Departamento de ventas online at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share you views with. As you rightly point out our hotel is superbly located near. we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Great hotel in the heart of Madrid. Near both the Plaza de Sol and the Plaza de Mayor. Very courteous staff who spoke multiple languages. Relatively large rooms (for a large European city) with accommodations for a family of 4. Very clean with a great shower. We had a room centrally located in the hotel so it was quiet at night. An important fact if you want to get some sleep. The streets of Madrid are active until the early morning hours.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eri M, Departamento de ventas online at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Thank you for your very complimentary review of High Tech. Our team are delighted that you enjoyed their service and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Mayor
Petit Palace Plaza Mayor
#95 of 437 in Madrid
960 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#64 of 437 in Madrid
1,740 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Alcala
Petit Palace Alcala
#107 of 437 in Madrid
777 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Opera
Petit Palace Opera
#149 of 437 in Madrid
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Posada del Peine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Posada del Peine

Address: Calle Postas 17, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $133 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Posada del Peine 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location right next to the famous “Plaza Mayor” and just 50 meters from the “Puerta del Sol”. This 4 star hotel offers elegant and contemporary accommodation in a beautiful historic building.The builing is known by its name alone, Posada del Peine, since it was opened in 1610. with almost 400 years of history, this is the oldest registered hotel in Madrid, in which many famous people have slept until 1970 when the hotel was finally shut. However, on the 15th of September 2004 the hotel reopened its doors. The original exterior design contrasts with an elegant and modern interior design, making it an attractive and comfortable accommodation with modern installations and the latest technology.Hotel Petit Palace Posada del Peine - historic charm from the 20th century, elegance, and all the best installations and services with a privileged location.In the comfortable rooms with modern design you will find the ultimate technological innovations like personal computers with free WIFI and hydro-massage showers.Our canine friends are welcome. This hotel is glad to open our doors to your faithful companion (up to 15 kg). Rooms are prepared with a doggy bed and feeding dishes. Let us know when you make your reservation.Our friendly staff will be more than happy to advise you on the best restaurants, shopping zones and local excursions.We also offer a unique free bicycle rent in order to get to know the city in an ecological way, and a free coffee and juice service in the reception.Don’t loose the opportunity to visit us!!If you have any special requests please don’t hesitate to contact us, we will be more than happy to make your stay as memorable as possible!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace Posada del Peine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Posada Del Peine Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing