We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary Design in the industrial hub”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Madrid Este
Ranked #90 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Contemporary Design in the industrial hub”
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Great room, with all amenities. Well appointed.
Good options for breakfast, bed was comfortable and location to the office was excellent. Staff were freindly

Small annoyances:
- No tissues
- the heating was insanely hot so the room felt like a suana and
- the wireless internet was useless, in the end I gave up with trying to connect.
- the lift was incredibly slow
- options to eat locally were minimal, but this is increasing with the number of businesses popping up in the area.
- checkin and check out time was long

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    285
    53
    20
    11
See reviews for
72
252
36
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

I stayed couple of times during ITB days,This hotel is great because of the people. Great Staff, front desk always helpful nice , very warm F&B department , it make really the difference,
Compliments!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cesare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2011

The Barcelo is quit near to the Metro Station.
The Hotel itself is mordern, the personal is friendly and speaks spanish, english, german, ...
The Rooms are not to small, the Bed is in Queen Sice and you can sleep well.
The Internet has sometime Problems, then the Reception have to restart the router, but this problem exists since 3 Years so I guess will not fixed the next time -> but the Receptionist is very frindly and helps you asap.

When I stay in Madrid, then I stay in Barcelo!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Predictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi/ Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Found this hotel by chance and liked their contemporary design. The hotel is away from town centre and off most tourist maps (situated almost in an industrial looking area), but it can still be access by Metro, though the nearest station Ciudad Lineal is approximately 10min from the hotel by foot. Stayed there for 2 nights for 150 Euros, excluding breakfast but wifi was f.o.c; though that being said; for the whole duration I was there the internet service was down due to the service provider which was a huge inconvenient. I would note that the staff on duty that day when I left was helpful in assisting me to arrange for booking and transportation given that I was unable to access the wifi, so seems to be reasonable that they were able to remedy the situation for the services that was promised but not delivered. Did not manage to try to breakfast so can’t really comment on the spread. Would recommend this hotel not none budget traveler and if you are not too over concern on being centrally located as the rooms are rather nice and beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Just spent 4 days at this fantastic Hotel. Would recomed a taxi from the Airport which I paid 20 euro. Past review warned that it is a 10 min walk to the Metro which is true however you can stop at a nice Tapas bar on the way. The Metro runs till 1.30am but to be honest I was on my way out at this time as was most of Madrid. The taxt from the centre of town back to the Hotel was 15 euro.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billy_smith02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

The hotel building is modern, and the rooms are spacious and well fitted. The showare in the bathroom was great. The special rate I got made this hotel a very good deal, with an excellent quality/price ratio.
Barcelo Torre Arias is not centrally located, but it is ten minutes away by foot from the closest Metro station.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idsiatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2010

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights this weekend just passed. We found the Barcelo hotel to be a lovely place to stay. The staff were very friendly, despite our awful attempts at Spanish - they speak a little, just keep it simple!! The room was lovely, massive bed which was very comfortable, nice modern bathroom with good shower facilities. We were very appreciative of the window blind which totally covered the window, which together with the air con, made the unbearable 40 degrees outside comfortable! Breakfast buffet was excellent, especially the coffee! The location was only 10 mins from the Ciudad Lineal (not Torre Arias) metro and only takes 15 minutes to get into the city, which was fine for us. The pricing was extremely reasonable given the comfort and breakfast too. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColdplayLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
San Blas
ILUNION Alcala Norte
ILUNION Alcala Norte
#104 of 436 in Madrid
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Metropolitano
#55 of 436 in Madrid
531 reviews
ILUNION Atrium
#93 of 436 in Madrid
926 reviews
San Blas
Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Madrid Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Madrid Este

Property: Occidental Madrid Este
Address: Calle Julian Camarillo 19-21, 28037 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Torre Arias)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#67 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#72 Family Hotel in Madrid
#79 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#91 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Madrid Este 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Madrid Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Torre Arias Hotel Madrid
Barcelo Hotel Madrid
Barcelo Hotel Torre Arias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing