We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Ranked #60 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
North West
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Positives

Great location in the heart of the city...close to the shops, bars & restaurants
Fantastic shower
Spacious bathroom
Incredibly comfortable bed
Turn down service with chocolates on the pillows - yum!
Superior customer service from the hotel staff - nothing is too much trouble for them
Free wi-fi that was very reliable
Great lighting system in the room including 'sexy lights' which are very romantic
Good AC system

Negatives

Cramped room - no room to walk around the bed - wouldn't recommend if you were claustrophobic
Expensive breakfast at €25 - limited hot breakfast items
Ask for a room with a view as you could get one with a view of a wall like me
Avoid room 432

Room Tip: Avoid room 432 as the view is of another hotel wall, ask for a room with a view of the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lanternlighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEMadrid, Manager at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your ME experience with us.

Your comments are very helpful and take this oportunity to apologize for the inconveniences caused with the size of the room. On your next stay we have to make sure you will enjoy one of our Supreme Rooms.

Best regards,

Jose Arenas
Aura Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,574
    852
    248
    94
    90
See reviews for
289
1,386
153
555
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The bottom line: if you are young and hip, you might want to splurge on a room at the ME. For older folks, the ME is like a Marriot Courtyard hotel but with a hip ambiance that's useless to you.

Pluses:
Staff are pleasant and friendly.
The Supreme room is a nice size.
Street noise was not an issue (in February).
Noise from adjacent rooms and hallway was suitably muffled.
The room was kept spotless by staff.

Minuses:
The room curtains don't block out all the light.
The rooms have a complicated lighting system.
Supreme rooms may or may not have a view, as the ME counts rooms facing the little triangular strip on the side of the hotel (Plaza del Angel) as having a view.
I got a rug burn on my elbow from the sheets.
Everything is overpriced, e.g., a mini can of Pringles from the minibar is 6 euros; a drink at the hotel bar is 13 euros.
Key cards demagnetize frequently - we had get ours replaced twice.
We received our wake up call one hour early (ugh), but instead of acknowledging the mistake, staff hung up.
Wifi was either slow or non-working for the seven days we were there.

Regarding the key cards, when we went to get ours replaced the second time, the man at the desk asked us "Did you take any trains? Did you go to any museums?" He told us that going through security can demagnetize their cards. I thought it was pretty amusing that he thought we'd come all the way to Madrid and not go to any museums (e.g. they have this famous one there called The Prado) or take a train.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Really enjoyed the stay at this hotel. Excellent room amenities.Also in good walking distance of all the art galleries.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pritso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

On the good side, its a nicely decorated, modern hotel in a great location in the centre of Madrid, surrounded by loads of bars and restaurants. It also has a very nice bar on the roof (although you don't have to be staying at the hotel to enjoy that) and there's free wi-fi.

On the bad side, the standard rooms are tiny (we were told on check-in that we had been given one of the larger rooms, so I dread to think what the others are like) and, at close to €200 a night, its just too expensive for what you're getting.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bikiniamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I haven't stayed here, therefore I can't give my opinion about rooms or other in room services, but last night I was in the bar for few drinks with my friends.
We were in a get together weekend after not seeing each other for a long time and as anybody could imagine, we were cheerful and excited.
When we came in one of the bar tenders approached the other one and made an extremely bad comment about us being drunk and some other things I would prefer not to state in here. It was perfectly audible.
Firstly, it was not the case but I was really surprised specially when they did not know wether we were hotel guests or not.
I asked to speak with the manager as the two of them were making us feel very uncomfortable and all what I got from the manager was a poor apology.
Sincerely, I did notice during my weekend how the service in Madrid has gone down terribly...but I would never imagine that in a place where you pay €12 for a drink (please take into consideration Spain's salaries and level of life) you would get that type of service or attitude.
I'm sure they would not care about this review as they do not care about their potential customers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ellefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEMadrid, Manager at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear customer,

Many thanks for sharing your ME experience at Tripadvisor.

However I would like to sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences caused at our ME Lounge.
I would really like to follow up on your case a little bit deeply so if you could e-mail me at this adress, I would be very pleased to assist you. "jose.arenas@melia.com"

Yours sincerely,


José Arenas
Senior Aura Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mintchip21
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

For 200 euros a night, we had a room as big as a closet (literally). And we always felt that the hallways smelled of an after-party...if you know what I mean. The clientele were mostly slightly older people who were trying to be hip. We liked the area, very central and could walk to all the plazas, but I wouldn't strongly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mintchip21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed here with a group of friends in January. Rooms are good. Very complicated light and heat controls which kept shorting meant that we had to move room after midnight after a night out. Staff were helpful, friendly and well informed on all tourist needs.
Free wifi is a bonus.
Didn't eat at the hotel, but our friends that did really liked it. €25 breakfast is too much though. There are many nice eateries nearby.
Centrally located, you can walk everywhere from here.
Don't miss the flea market.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#35 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#17 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#7 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#29 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ME Madrid Reina Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ME Madrid Reina Victoria

Property: ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Address: Plaza de Santa Ana 14, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#9 Green Hotel in Madrid
#25 Business Hotel in Madrid
#27 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#46 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#47 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ME Madrid Reina Victoria 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ME Madrid Reina Victoria is strategically located in the heart of the city, with easy access to the major attractions such as the Prado Museum, Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and Reina Sofia Museum, Retiro Park, Congress building, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, the Royal Palace and the city’s shopping and business areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your ME Madrid Reina Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Me Madrid Reina Victoria Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing