We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
10
17
15
9
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
17
15
9
17
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 68 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

Spent 7 nights here and although the cafe and other facilities were not open due to it being the end of the holiday season we had a lovely holiday. Wi-Fi is free for 10 mins although connection was hit and miss. The pool and grounds were kept very clean and the reception staff were very helpful. The RCI apartment had everything that you would need and was of a high standard.
We were very worried and almost cancelled our trip due to the reviews that we read but I am glad that we went.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank DJJOHN32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2017

This was our second trip to Playa Romana (summer half term 2017 and August 2016). I'm glad we stayed there in the height of the summer season first as it was so busy in August. Our stay this year was pleasantly quiet with mostly older couples in residence.

Like a lot of reviewers state, the RCI apartments were sub-par compared to the privately owned ones. However, this has changed for 2017 as there has been some investment in maintaining the units.

At the time of writing this review, the bathrooms are all being ripped out and whole new suites installed (walk-in shower, modern loo, sink with storage drawers underneath and new lighting). The units are being painted too. The units facing the pool were getting new sliding doors too. We had the impression that we were the first to occupy our unit since it's upgrade, so it was spotless.

You also have to get used to the layout of the units; the hallway is also a bedroom (our had bunk beds), the living room has a sofa bed and the bedroom twin beds. Our safe was in the wardrobe. There will be an amenities pack in the bathroom and the kitchen will have a washing-up pack (mini liquid, sponge, cloth and two dishwasher tablets) - I took extras in my suitcase with a pack of anti-bac kitchen wipes.

Don't believe the RCI blurb of free AC; it doesn't exist and there is a weekly charge. All sliding doors have a bolt system where you can leave the door open enough to let the breeze through and closed enough to feel safe. I didn't bother paying for WiFi as my mobile service provider (Three) doesn't charge roaming fees.

Bar Xaloc has moved from roadside to poolside and still sells fresh bread in the morning. The sundries shop "Tsunami" has closed completely (but they had signs up last year stating this). As a previous review states, the laundry has closed. Restaurant El Timon re-opened on 2 June so we didn't get a chance to eat there.

Habitat Playa Romana isn't the most modern of resorts but what they have on offer, excellent pools, free children's club, life guards, aqua-aerobics, proximity to a beautiful beach, restaurants and local shop (that sells EVERYTHING), makes up for appearances.

Lastly, on Saturday's (check-in day), the office is open until midnight, useful as it's just over an hour's drive from Valencia airport.

Room Tip: Try and get a unit with a south or west facing balcony for optimal sun.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hotel_Habitue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2017

Upon arrival we discovered that the brochure's information via RCI was 180 degrees from the truth. The promised AC is provided only after paying an additional 40 Euro/week. The advertised free wifi was available for about 10 minutes each day...at random times during the day. One could fill out a form and submit a credit card and receive wifi at any time during the day or night.
The promised laundry facilities that are advertised to be on site...are no longer available. One would have to haul dirty clothes into the nearby village (about 1 1/4 miles away), drop them off somewhere and then pick them up a day or two later.
The promised safe to store valuables in the room was not to be found.
I would not return here if it were free.

Room Tip: If you MUST stay here, get a room facing the ocean.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madeline103119148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

As a previous reviewer stated, the RCI units are dismal compared to the privately owned units. However we found ours to be clean, the linens spotless and a very welcome necessities pack included (water, UHT milk, sugar, coffee, tea). The beds and sofa were comfortable. Amazingly, what is advertised by RCI as a one bed, sleeps four is set up to actually accommodate seven people!

The resort itself had a number of unexpected extras. There's a free children's club for 4-12 yr olds; 10:00-13:00 and 17:00-20:00 mon to fri (take your own water and snack). Aquagym in the pool every morning from 11:00-12:00 (weather permitting), the French restaurant has closed but there's a poolside bar that serves a decent menu del dia, a tapas bar that also sells fresh bread and a pizzeria. The pizzeria does take away pizza, paella and rotisserie chicken.

The RCI info still lists air conditioning as standard. The reality is different. There is a weekly fee €40-€75) charged. We kept our windows open for air to blow through and stayed cool even though it was 27-30C each day.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Hotel_Habitue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

If you are using RCI, NEVER STAY HERE!! We found out on arrival that none of the new apartments are owned by RCI they belong to and are only for people who buy apartments. We were promised a new apartment by RCI and only decided to stay here because of that as we had read the reviews of the bad conditions. Needless to say we were extremely p***ed when we arrived and were told that was not the case. The first room we arrived in had plugs falling out the wall, dirty switches, a dirty kitchen, broken sofa, dirty cuttlery and rusty appliances in the bathroom. We headed straight back to reception where we were told we could swap the room but it wouldn't be much different. She wasn't joking!! The second apartment had a dirty bath and pee stains on the toilet seat we didn't bother to venture any further. The receptionist was nice but told us with a shrug that there isn't anything she can do as all the RCI apartments are in the same condition. As she wasn't able to offer us a refund and it's after 4:30pm on a Saturday we have to stay here until Monday to contact RCI and go from there. What a great start to a much needed holiday!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Ebony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews