We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A much better hotel than a 2 star rating would suggest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park
Ranked #51 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Party of four mates stayed late March early April, we thought it was a much better hotel than a 2 star rating suggests. All the staff we met were very helpful, the food good and the rooms clean with daily towel change, better quality beds and walk in showers would be welcome but that's a minor point. Value for money the Rio is hard to beat and we plan to return later in the year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the entrance side of the hotel benefit from sun during the afternoon and evening.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,993)
There are newer reviews for MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,340 - 2,346 of 2,993 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

Just returned 7th April from the Rio. Pleasant stay. Food was very good and plentiful. Room 821 a bit tatty could do with an upgrade. The balcony was dangerous all cracked and the supporting brick work was cracked and crumbling. If I had children with us no way would they be allowed on the balcony. Our biggest gripe was the entertainment- it was useless - very very basic - a lot of it done by the staff - it made you cringe. The duo that they have there or in the Rio connection each night were so dated and dull not professional at all. We went out most nights - go to the Tommys bar just at the back of the Rio - great professional shows and comedians every night-drinks as cheap as Rio or cheaper.Havent been to Benidorm for 5yrs the place has really gone down hill. Wont be going back there for a long time and if we do we will be staying in the Old town which is much better. The Rio is pleasant but mainly for the very elderly - the same people have been going there year after year - these oldies are terrified of going out at night in Benidorm (thier words) so just stay at the hotel. The weather was good and it was an OK break. Benidorm is being spoilt a lot by these gangs of Stags and Hens and this will deter families and couples for future. Wont be coming back in a hurry......

Room Tip: Go for a lower floor - we were on the 8th floor and the hassle in getting a lift a busy times was a...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedplayaBenidorm, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Thankyou for your comments,we always encourage our guests to bring any areas of dissasifaction to our attention during their holiday in order to resolve any issues you may have.

Many of our guests are valued repeat customers, and they do enjoy our Hotel facilities. We apologise that we were unable to fulfill your holiday expectations on this occasion.We are pleased that overall you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the food from our extensive buffet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

stayed at the rio park in march 2o12, as ususal had hotel safe put every thing in the safe except a mobile phone .second day my partner took off a necklace and put it in the drawer not telling me when she did i went to put it in the safe but it was gone so to was my phone. went and told the reps they said it was unusual and nothing like this has happend before later was told by 4 different people they also had things taken,challenged reps but they denided that it was going on.on the last day we noticed our camera was missing to late to report it. so advice is dont take any valuables to the riopark.

Room Tip: pool view pleasant
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed at rio park for 1 week late march early April found hotel staff friendly but other than that the hotel isn't suitable if your under 50 because it's full of nasty grumpy oldies that think they own the place and the entertainment is rubbish same 2 people singing the same thing every night. And to go out at night is very unsafe because the hotel is on the yellow brick road and it's very unsafe at night. Food is basic and very tasteless overall the hotel is clean and staff are nice but really needs better entertainment and some music and joy! And not recommend for the faint hearted because all the oldies disabled the lot like to get ther boobs out everyday rain or shine and it's really unpleasant espeaicly when ther facing the dining room and your trying tO eat. The old people here ruin the place to much I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families or young couples because the hotel should be renamed old people's home because that's what it is full of. And also the oldies tend to give daggers and grab other people's children aggressively.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pettle09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

RECEPTION checked in quick 3 on reception, area clean and spacious plenty of seating
ROOMS we had room 926 plenty of clothes space mounted tv on wall bathroom clean everthing you expect, towels changed every day room cleaned every day bed linen once or twice a week
RESTAURANT excellent food plenty of choice what ever meal time, very clean, as you go into resaurant they ask you to use a hand clenser as in hospitals show cooking as well
BARS 3 bars entertainment bar, rio bar big screen tvs, connect bar other side of pool entertainment on there as well all reasonably priced
good hotel reccommended ran out of space or would of wrote more enjoy

Room Tip: room overloking pool sun most of the day
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brucejones130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed in this hotel mid Feb to mid March 2012 having been in a appartment for a month the hotel is clean and friendly and the staff can't do enough for you. there is a bar in the far corner called the Rio Connection dinks and snacks at very good prices, All in All we had a great time

Room Tip: over looking pool
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peternshiela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

only complaint no assistance to the coach with our cases which I thought the distance we had to walk about 150 yards was a bit to far.both been wheel chair assisted maybe in future a porter service could be made available

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paraders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.9 km away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#35 of 192 in Benidorm
7,232 reviews
1.1 km away
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
#42 of 192 in Benidorm
1,956 reviews
0.3 km away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#37 of 192 in Benidorm
2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Servigroup Castilla
Servigroup Castilla
#15 of 192 in Benidorm
913 reviews
0.3 km away
Servigroup Orange Hotel
Servigroup Orange Hotel
#21 of 192 in Benidorm
998 reviews
1.1 km away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#54 of 192 in Benidorm
4,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park

Address: Av de Murcia 16, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#37 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $91 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park 2*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The many repeat customers could tell you why they come back to the Rio Park again and again- location, atmosphere, and friendly staff. The hotel is a short walk to the beach and resort centre, and offers you plenty of options inside the hotel too. With a fresh modern reception, a choice of bars to relax in, plenty of outdoor space and great food and entertainment, it's not hard to see why the Rio Park is such a popular hotel. The hotel is a lively place with plenty of atmosphere. It's a great hotel to make new friends, meet old ones, or just relax with your loved ones and enjoy all the fun. The staff at the Rio Park provide a friendly and welcoming service and everyone wants to make sure you have a good time. Free Wi-Fi available in all hotel bars. Benidorm offers a wonderful climate all year round, and with its sandy beaches, impressive promenade and lively resort facilities, it is a favourite destination with all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio Park
Rio Park Hotel Benidorm
Rio Park Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing